Jump to content
IGNORED

Rules Question


DJYoshi
 Share

Note: This thread is 4773 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

conditions...WET. RAINING. HUMID... balls were plugging like CRAZY!
We said lift, clean place...that's all fine...then we get to the green on a downhill hole.... my opp's ball plugged deep into the green. we got it out and fixed the ball mark as best as we could...but clearly the mark was so bad that if he had put it behind the "attempted to fix" ball mark, it would've made the putt that much more difficult....so I allowed him to put the ball in front of the mark... was I wrong?
DJ Yoshi
Official DJ: Rutgers Football
Boost Mobile Tour
In My Bag
HiBoreXL 9.5 White Board D63 Stiff Exotics CB2 5 Wood, Exotics CB3 3 Wood MP-60 5.5 Flighted Shafts 54 & Cleveland CG-10 60 Newport 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Probably. The RoG pretty uniformly insist that any dropping/placing be no nearer to the hole. If you're treating the plugged spot as abnormal ground conditions on the putting green, I believe you get relief to the nearest spot that's no nearer the hole.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"

Link to comment
Share on other sites


well if it was a tournament then they would not have let that happen.. however, in the grand scheme of things you are not wrong because we really are talking about a matter of maybe an inch here. plus im sure there were green impurities anyways that could have easily knocked the ball around on its way to the hole . the integrity of your match imo still was intact whether he made the putt or not.. but just curious.. did he make or miss?

Putter first 
:titleist: newport 2 oil can
:titleist: 58* SM4
:titleist: 54* SM4
:titleist: 50* SM4
:titleist: 4-pw AP2 project X 6.0
:ping: i20 9.5 TFC Stiff

Link to comment
Share on other sites


well if it was a tournament then they would not have let that happen.. however, in the grand scheme of things you are not wrong because we really are talking about a matter of maybe an inch here. plus im sure there were green impurities anyways that could have easily knocked the ball around on its way to the hole . the integrity of your match imo still was intact whether he made the putt or not.. but just curious.. did he make or miss?

he missed. it was around a 15 foot putt.. it was only an inch.... tournament play...no doubt I would've asked for a ruling on it...but it was friendly cash game. $1 skin. $5 birdie. $10 eagles. $5+ junk

DJ Yoshi
Official DJ: Rutgers Football
Boost Mobile Tour
In My Bag
HiBoreXL 9.5 White Board D63 Stiff Exotics CB2 5 Wood, Exotics CB3 3 Wood MP-60 5.5 Flighted Shafts 54 & Cleveland CG-10 60 Newport 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites


conditions...WET. RAINING. HUMID... balls were plugging like CRAZY!

Rules are quite explicit in this, the ball should have been replaced on the spot it was lifted from (20-1). A player is not allowed to take relief from a pitch-mark on the green but must replace the ball after having repaired the mark. Had this happened through the green the ball should have been dropped as close as possible to the original place but not in the pitch-mark. On the green situation is propably a bit more tricky in described conditions.

I can understand the sportsmanship but why didn't you let him place the ball on the side instead of in front of the mark? That would have been 'less' wrong.
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Yes. You were wrong.

I sure wouldn't lose sleep about it though.

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I saw this exact scenerio on the golf channel a couple days ago. If the ball mark cannot be repaired where the golfer feels it will not impede on the putt, ask for an official ruling. You'll be granted a grounds under repair ruling and placed to the side, never closer. Same thing if there was a ball mark in your line to the hole.

In my Nike SasQuatch Staff Bag:
Driver: Callaway FT-IQ 9.5 Stiff
Irons: Ping G5 4-P
Wedges: Vokey Spin Milled 56*, Cleveland bent to 49*
Putter: Scotty Cameron California Monterey
Ball: Srizon Z-Star Yellow
Range: SkyCaddie 2.5

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 4773 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Posts

    • Wordle 465 4/6* ⬛⬛⬛⬛⬛ ⬛⬛🟦⬛⬛ ⬛🟧⬛🟧⬛ 🟧🟧🟧🟧🟧
    • Obviously this would be different if she was on the putting surface...Not the shank situation (I hope) but the fact of your ball striking your equipment! You would then incur a penalty?
    • Day 201.  Wind-down for a little over ten minutes today after work was hitting quarter shots with a UW, focus on setup and grip. 
    • It’s been a while since I’ve been on here, life has really been a whirlwind. I’m working on a certain drill where I put an alignment stick angled in the ground on the follow-through side for the club to rise above in the P7-P8 phase, but I’m not sure which angle is best. I’m using TGM terms here, so I don’t know if it should be set on the elbow plane or the turned shoulder plane. This alignment stick is going to be on the inside, by the way, can’t have it on the outside as it’s more likely for the ball to hit it!   I feel as if the elbow plane might be too low for P7-P8 and that I should set it higher. What are your opinions if you have experience with this drill?
    • Day 16: Continued working on the same stuff. Still need to record swings to check if grip thing is making it into full swings all the time. Had a nice cathartic ball hitting session midday taking a break from work, had a nice rhythm going and was hitting the ball crisply. Later in the evening tried to get that same groove back but couldn't quite get there, and then I started chasing stuff and ended up not really practicing very effectively, but I hit a bunch of balls.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bandstan
      bandstan
      (52 years old)
    2. boobiemiles
      boobiemiles
      (31 years old)
    3. ButterCuts1372
      ButterCuts1372
      (37 years old)
    4. Dombaker
      Dombaker
      (26 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...