Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 5697 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
please help clarify:

1. I'm in the greenside rough and setup to play a chip shot. I take my backswing and proceed to hit into the ground 6 inches behind the ball where the club plugs in the mud and fails to move forward. Now, the ball did not move at all, nor was the lie of the ball affected in any way. Do i call a stroke?

2. I know there was a rule where asking a partner what club they're hitting off the tee was a 2-stroke penalty. Does that rule still exist?

3. I hit a ball into the next fairway off the tee. As I'm moving towards my ball, I see someone coming the other direction hit MY ball. Whats the ruling?

4. My ball falls into an unraked sandtrap. I know I can rake and replace. Do I drop or place the ball?

Thanks all!!!

...


Posted
please help clarify:

You intended to take a stroke. It's a stroke.

2. I know there was a rule where asking a partner what club they're hitting off the tee was a 2-stroke penalty. Does that rule still exist?

Yes, it's still a penalty. (someone else please confirm whether it's 1 or 2 strokes though)

3. I hit a ball into the next fairway off the tee. As I'm moving towards my ball, I see someone coming the other direction hit MY ball. Whats the ruling?

If you are certain it was moved, you may move it back without penalty.

4. My ball falls into an unraked sandtrap. I know I can rake and replace. Do I drop or place the ball?

You cannot modify the lie. Play it even if it's in a footprint.

In the bag:
Driver: Rapture V2, 9 degree, stiff shaft
Fairway Woods: X-Hot 3 wood
Hybrid: 3H
Irons: J36 PC 4-PW Project X 6.0 Shafts, FlightedWedges: CG14, 50 54 and 58 degree Putter: Guerin Rife 2 Bar with Winn grip B330S Pro V1x


Posted
thanks...

but if someone can point me in the direction of the exact rulings.



some of these i need proof, and some i need to prove.

...


Posted
1. I'm in the greenside rough and setup to play a chip shot. I take my backswing and proceed to hit into the ground 6 inches behind the ball where the club plugs in the mud and fails to move forward. Now, the ball did not move at all, nor was the lie of the ball affected in any way. Do i call a stroke?

Yes. See the definition of "stroke" in the definitions section of the rule book.

2. I know there was a rule where asking a partner what club they're hitting off the tee was a 2-stroke penalty. Does that rule still exist?

Not a penalty if the other player is actually your partner (meaning that you and he are playing as a team). If he is your fellow competitor (stroke play) or your opponent (match play), then it is a breach of Rule 8-1. Penalty is loss of hole in match play or 2 strokes in stroke play.

3. I hit a ball into the next fairway off the tee. As I'm moving towards my ball, I see someone coming the other direction hit MY ball. Whats the ruling?

If your ball is recoverable then you drop it as close as possible to where the other player hit from. If you can't get the ball back then you may substitute another ball, drop it as close as possible to where the original ball lay and play from there.... no penalty. However, it must be known or virtually certain that it was your ball which he played. See Rule 18-1

4. My ball falls into an unraked sandtrap. I know I can rake and replace. Do I drop or place the ball?

No you can't rake and replace. You play the ball as it lies. Rule 13-4.

All rules and decisions can be found in the rules section at usga.org

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
All rules and decisions can be found in the rules section at usga.org

It's definitely worth your while to read them all (except perhaps the last few that deal with alternate forms of play if you only play ordinary match/stroke, and some of the appendices about the details of competition which are probably not applicable to you). It only takes half an hour or so, and going through once or twice will give you a good feel for how to find the rules quickly when issues arise. Also, you can probably pick up a paper copy sized to fit in your golf bag for a couple bucks at a golf shop --- it's $2 plus shipping direct from the USGA web site, but my shop had it for $3.50 which is cheaper than the shipped cost.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Note: This thread is 5697 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.