IGNORED

Practicing when in high school

Golfing Dad
Note: This thread is 5001 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

My son and I start school next week (I am a teacher) and we have been practicing a lot during the summer. My question is, now that we have limited time how would you practice if you had three hours a day for 5 days a week?
I am figuring 45 minutes a day on putting, 45 on short game, 1 1/2 on the range using EVERY club (meaning more short game practice included). Three days a week practice and play two days.

3 hours of practice in one day, 5 days a week? Are you currently practicing that much? That would be burnout city for me. I'm a teacher as well, I usually practice 3-4 days a week and play once. My practice time is only 1-1 1/2 hours though.

That's kind of what I am asking, this is for my son. I am curious how high school students practice and see improvement yet still have time for all the other things that come with school. I would like to have a good plan on how to practice and still see results without burnout. My son is playing competetively and wants to improve.

3 hours of practice in one day, 5 days a week? Are you currently practicing that much? That would be burnout city for me. I'm a teacher as well, I usually practice 3-4 days a week and play once. My practice time is only 1-1 1/2 hours though.

not extreme by any means for any serious athlete in HS. Great golf players who aspire to get good enough to play in college don't goto the range once or twice a week and expect to get better.