Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Is this a video of Tiger doing something against the rules?


Note: This thread is 5457 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Didn't Julie Inkster get in trouble for doing something similar?

HiBore XLS Tour 9.5*
Adams Fast10 15* 3W
A2OS 3H-7iron 60* LW
8iron Precept Tour Premium cb
9iron and 45* PW 50* GW 56* SW m565 and 455 VfoilPutter Anser Belly Putter Ball in order of preference TPblack e5 V2  AD333


Posted

Julie Inkster was using weights on her club (those "donut weights") during the round.  What Tiger is doing is completely different.  I don't know how you would confuse the two entirely different scenarios.

Don

:titleist: 910 D2, 8.5˚, Adila RIP 60 S-Flex
:titleist: 980F 15˚
:yonex: EZone Blades (3-PW) Dynamic Gold S-200
:vokey:   Vokey wedges, 52˚; 56˚; and 60˚
:scotty_cameron:  2014 Scotty Cameron Select Newport 2

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
Posted

Originally Posted by Yukari

Julie Inkster was using weights on her club (those "donut weights") during the round.  What Tiger is doing is completely different.  I don't know how you would confuse the two entirely different scenarios.


I second this. Two completely different scenarios.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

If Tiger was DQ'd for putting glove under his arm, I'd probably have to not watch golf for a while.

Having said that, I don't think Inkster should have been DQ'd or necessarily even penalized either. It's okay to practice putting and chipping between holes, but not to stay loose? Garbage rules.

Originally Posted by uttexas

Didn't Julie Inkster get in trouble for doing something similar?

Mizuno MP600 driver, Cleveland '09 Launcher 3-wood, Callaway FTiz 18 degree hybrid, Cleveland TA1 3-9, Scratch SS8620 47, 53, 58, Cleveland Classic 2 mid-mallet, Bridgestone B330S, Sun Mountain four5.


Posted

The specific reason that Tiger's action is ok while Inkster's wasn't is that Tiger is using an ordinary piece of equipment, whereas she was using "unusual" equipment.  You are allowed to use your ordinary golf equipment in unusual ways (e.g., plumb bobbing with your golf club is ok) but not unusual equipment (plumb bobbing with a weight on a string is not ok), even if you achieve the same ends.  In Inkster's case, it's in some sense unfortunate because it was such a minor violation, but the rule is pretty clear about this.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Posted


Originally Posted by sean_miller

If Tiger was DQ'd for putting glove under his arm, I'd probably have to not watch golf for a while.

Having said that, I don't think Inkster should have been DQ'd or necessarily even penalized either. It's okay to practice putting and chipping between holes, but not to stay loose? Garbage rules.

Quote:

Originally Posted by uttexas

Didn't Julie Inkster get in trouble for doing something similar?



It's ok to stay loose... just not to use training aids... she could have easily swung two clubs to the same effect and not have been DQ'd....

Tiger was using a glove, not a training aid, so he shouldn't be DQ'd... Inkster was and so she should have been.

Tristan Hilton

My Equipment: 
Titleist TSR2 Driver (Fujikura Pro 2.0 TS; 10.5°) · PXG 0211 FWs (Diamana S+ 60; 15° and 21°) · PXG 0211 Hybrid (MMT 80; 22°) · Edel SMS Irons (SteelFiber i95; 5-GW) · Edel SMS Pro Wedges (SteelFiber i110; 56°, 60°) · Edel Classic Blade Putter (32") · Maxfli Tour Ball · Pinned Prism Rangefinder · SuperStroke Grips · Flightscope Mevo · TRUE Linkswear Shoes · Vessel Player V Pro 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Originally Posted by tristanhilton85

Quote:

Originally Posted by sean_miller

If Tiger was DQ'd for putting glove under his arm, I'd probably have to not watch golf for a while.

Having said that, I don't think Inkster should have been DQ'd or necessarily even penalized either. It's okay to practice putting and chipping between holes, but not to stay loose? Garbage rules.

It's ok to stay loose... just not to use training aids... she could have easily swung two clubs to the same effect and not have been DQ'd....

Tiger was using a glove, not a training aid, so he shouldn't be DQ'd... Inkster was and so she should have been.


I understand the concept of the rule. I also respectfully disagree with it. That is all.

Mizuno MP600 driver, Cleveland '09 Launcher 3-wood, Callaway FTiz 18 degree hybrid, Cleveland TA1 3-9, Scratch SS8620 47, 53, 58, Cleveland Classic 2 mid-mallet, Bridgestone B330S, Sun Mountain four5.


Posted
Originally Posted by sean_miller

I understand the concept of the rule. I also respectfully disagree with it. That is all.


I think it's one of the cases where a concrete rule is better in the long run, even if someone occasionally gets an "unfair" penalty.  As the rules stand, you are allowed to carry and use any normal equipment in any manner without risk of a penalty (notwithstanding rules against testing bunkers or putting greens, etc), and you are not allowed to use any training or unusual equipment in any manner.  If you start allowing some training equipment in some cases, you open up a big can of worms.  Given that the rule is dead simple, I don't think DQ is all that unfair...

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Posted

Originally Posted by sean_miller

"It's okay to practice putting and chipping between holes..."


Not in tournament stroke play.


Posted
Originally Posted by Bigtank

Not in tournament stroke play.


Only if there's a special rule in force for the tournament.  On their own, the Rules of Golf allow you to practice putting or chipping on or near a green after holing out, a practice green, or a tee box.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Note: This thread is 5457 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.