Jump to content
IGNORED

How many strokes can one be penalized in a single incident?


Note: This thread is 5066 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Here's one to test you.  On the Golf Channel the other night they had videos of unusual happenings and this was one of them:

A guy has a short putt for what I took as being the win.  As the ball eases up to the hole, the guy flips his putter in the air in celebration.  The ball lips out.  The guy freaks out.  He drops the putter and the grip hits the ball.  I figure that was 1 stroke penalty.

In his attempt to grab the putter before it hits the ball, the guy gets the shaft between his feet and trips.  When he falls down, he falls on the ball.  I figure that would be a 2 stroke penalty if taken by itself.

Somewhere in the back of my mind I was thinking that, regardless of what happens, you can only be penalized 3 strokes.

Anyone know about this one?




Originally Posted by pound puppy

Here's one to test you.  On the Golf Channel the other night they had videos of unusual happenings and this was one of them:

A guy has a short putt for what I took as being the win.  As the ball eases up to the hole, the guy flips his putter in the air in celebration.  The ball lips out.  The guy freaks out.  He drops the putter and the grip hits the ball.  I figure that was 1 stroke penalty.

In his attempt to grab the putter before it hits the ball, the guy gets the shaft between his feet and trips.  When he falls down, he falls on the ball.  I figure that would be a 2 stroke penalty if taken by itself.

Somewhere in the back of my mind I was thinking that, regardless of what happens, you can only be penalized 3 strokes.

Anyone know about this one?



I only know the guy was  Mike Clayton




Originally Posted by johnthejoiner

I only know the guy was  Mike Clayton



I'm going to have an educated guess at a one stroke penalty and replacing the ball to its original position from the accidental hit


:tmade: SLDR X-Stiff 12.5°
:nike:VRS Covert 3 Wood Stiff
:nike:VRS Covert 3 Hybrid Stiff
:nike:VR Pro Combo CB 4 - PW Stiff 2° Flat
:cleveland:588RTX CB 50.10 GW
:cleveland:588RTX CB 54.10 SW
:nike:VR V-Rev 60.8 LW
:nike:Method 002 Putter


Regarding Mike Clayton: I'm guessing that he only got one stroke penalty for that, see here: http://www.barryrhodes.com/2010/12/hold-on-to-your-putter.html Regarding the original question: A paragraph from that article is relevant: [quote]Fortunately, Mike Clayton did not incur an additional penalty when the ball went on to hit his arm while he was lying prone on the ground. [b]Decision 1-4/12 confirms that when a single act results in one Rule being breached more than once the player only incurs a single penalty.[/b][/quote] (Emphasis mine.) Note that Decision 1-4/12 pertains to "Prior to making a stroke". So I'm not sure how it applies to a stroke already made. Assuming it applies, if you completely mess up a few rules, you're saved from accruing multiple penalties. Your question asks about "a single incident" which I take to mean the same thing that the rule calls "a single act". I read most of Decision 1-4/12, and it [i]seems[/i] to state, in it's multiple cases, that you just apply the first penalty ("with equity") and continue. So with that in mind, I think the most you can be penalized is two strokes plus distance, because I think that's the most severe single penalty that exists.

"Golf is an entire game built around making something that is naturally easy - putting a ball into a hole - as difficult as possible." - Scott Adams

Mid-priced ball reviews: Top Flight Gamer v2 | Bridgestone e5 ('10) | Titleist NXT Tour ('10) | Taylormade Burner TP LDP | Taylormade TP Black | Taylormade Burner Tour | Srixon Q-Star ('12)


I believe B-Con is right on: you can only be penalized once for a single action, and generally it will be the strongest applicable penalty.  In this case, the second possible penalty (deflecting the ball with his body) only occurred as a result of the first (contacting it with his equipment).  It wouldn't sit right with Equity to tack on additional strokes for purely academic rules violations.

There's a bit of complication here, though, because it's not well-defined (in my mind, at least) whether this event was one act or two acts.  He threw his putter and he then tried to catch it and stumbled.  In this case, since his putt had come to rest before it was moved by his putter, it needs to be replaced, so IMO Equity would essentially demand that he take that one-stroke penalty and replace his ball.  However, he could well have hit it before it came to rest, violating rule 19-2 instead of 18-2.  In that case, the ball would still remain "live" after his putter deflected it, since the rule requires it to be played as it lies.  Then we'd have to decide whether this was one or two acts.

I think it would be best if it were considered a single act in that case, at the least so we don't penalize him for making his best (if comical) effort to prevent the initial penalty, but I can't quite convince myself of the by-the-book explanation for that.

In any case, I hadn't seen this incident before, poor guy.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Thanks for the input.  I did find some more information on the incident and I think it was ruled that the ball was not in motion when his putter hit it.  The ball would be replaced next to the hole with a 1 stroke penalty.  Either way, better him than me...which it usually is.  :-(


Note: This thread is 5066 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • Having had the opportunity to live and work in a few different countries, I've encountered some golf traditions, whether they are well-established customs or unique experiences at local courses. While not all of these are widely practiced, they highlight the diversity and creativity in the golfing world. 1. Japan - The O-Bon Golf Festival In Japan, during the O-Bon (lantern) Festival, I've seen golf courses hosting night golf events with glowing balls and lantern-lit fairways. It's a serene and beautiful way to combine golf with culture.  2. Scotland - The Guising Golfers In Scotland, around Halloween, I've come across golfers participating in "guising," where they dress up in costumes and play a round of golf. It adds a festive twist and a lot of fun to the game. 3. South Korea - The New Year's Honbae In South Korea, golfers play a round of golf on New Year's Day, followed by a celebratory meal and drinks (9th hole and after the game). It's a time for camaraderie and positive intentions for the year ahead. Besides new year's, on higher end courses, they often break on the 9th hole for some light food and drinks like fancy ramen and makgeolli rice wine (ordered in advance). 4. Australia - The Outback Golf Challenge (I have not experienced this one myself) In Australia, there is apparently an Outback Golf Challenge, where golfers navigate rough terrain and face unconventional obstacles. It's considered a true test of skill and adaptability (but hasn't produced many PGA golfers 😉 ). 5. Finland - The Midnight Sun Golf Tournament (I have not experienced this one myself) In Finland, the Midnight Sun Golf Tournament is where golfers play late into the evening under the perpetual twilight of the summer months. The endless daylight makes it a truly unique event. While these traditions may not be universally established, they represent the variety of golfing experiences around the world. I'm curious if any of you have encountered or participated in unique or local golf traditions, whether internationally or closer to home.
    • It's from "Every Shot Has a Purpose" which was co-written by one of Annika's coaches. Decent read about reducing uncertainty and committing to the golf shot.
    • Ah, I didn't realize this was about standing over the ball versus time to play the shot. Definitely two different things there. Yea I would imagine being static over the ball/taking a long time over the ball does make things worse in the long run, hence all the waggles guys will do before pulling the trigger.
    • I'm not sure who said it first but I've seen it a lot. There's this "think box" vs "play box" theory. I've also seen it with a planning vs doing line on the ground. The idea is basically you stand away from the ball (a couple feet) and do your "think box". This is where you do your planning, your swing cues, your practice swings (if you believe in practice swings.) All of that is done in the "Think Box". Then you step into your "play box" address the ball and hit it. Sometimes it's done with a imaginary line on the ground. You do all of the think box stuff behind the line. Then once you cross the line you step up and hit it.  Here's Annika Sorenstam demonstrating the "Think box" and "Play box": So, Annika's time over the ball is really short. Because she did all of that other stuff not over the ball, but in her "Think box".  There are lots of variations on this theme. But I think you get the idea. 
    • I speak for myself. If I inventory my swing thoughts, swing tempo, optimum muscle tension and rehearse a swing before I take my address, then I pull the trigger reasonably quickly with usually acceptable results. Like a proper program download before deploying it. If I don't bother to by forgetting or just not caring, I am inclined to look for my cues while hovering over the ball after taking the address, while tension builds up and then I fire with a half ass program that is still buffering. I guess that's no better than rolling a dice. In other words, a good pre-shot routine does wonders. I am not advising folks to take 13 practice swings while the flowers wilt waiting for something to happen, but one or maybe two are reasonable and good for you. I am certain hitting half ass shitty shots and making double bogey takes longer than making a par.  My desire this year is to just that as I have not developed a habit taking a practice swing and as a result have tendency to freeze over the ball after address, that is counter productive for both time and result. I think that is what @saevel25 is talking about in the OP.      
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...