• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
darkhunter139

Rule question, tire tracks.

8 posts in this topic

I was playing a round the other day and I hit my ball into a huge tire rut to the left of the green (Looked like a car got stuck there and it was a huge crater, that would be impossible to hit out of)

Would I get a free drop in this situation or would I have to take a penalty stroke?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

If the committee has declared it ground under repair (or does so when you request a ruling), then you'd get relief.  Otherwise, no.  If it's a deep rut such that the ball is truly unplayable, they should declare it so.

If I were playing, I don't bother with the committee business, and I wouldn't hesitate to make the determination of whether it "should" be GUR or not.  This isn't quite compliant, though, but is certainly more expedient.  In a tournament situation, of course, you need to go the committee route.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by zeg

If the committee has declared it ground under repair (or does so when you request a ruling), then you'd get relief.  Otherwise, no.  If it's a deep rut such that the ball is truly unplayable, they should declare it so.

If I were playing, I don't bother with the committee business, and I wouldn't hesitate to make the determination of whether it "should" be GUR or not.  This isn't quite compliant, though, but is certainly more expedient.  In a tournament situation, of course, you need to go the committee route.


In a stroke play competition, you also have the option of invoking Rule 3-3 and playing a second ball, then reporting it to the committee before returning your card.  I would do this if it is impractical to get a committeeman or rules official to make a timely ruling.

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades



Originally Posted by Fourputt

In a stroke play competition, you also have the option of invoking Rule 3-3 and playing a second ball, then reporting it to the committee before returning your card.  I would do this if it is impractical to get a committeeman or rules official to make a timely ruling.


Yep.  You can also take a drop that's compliant with both the ground-under-repair rule and the unplayable lie rule, then play out with the single ball and have the issue resolved with a ruling at the end.  (Decision 3-3/11, http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-03/#3-3/11)  Not necessarily a good idea, but if you're all out of golf balls... :-)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Got another rules question but rather then make a new thread ill just post it here.

I was playing today and I hit it into a ditch with a water drain in it right off the fairway, if I took a drop outside of the ditch would I be correct in assuming I would have to take a stroke?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by darkhunter139

Got another rules question but rather then make a new thread ill just post it here.

I was playing today and I hit it into a ditch with a water drain in it right off the fairway, if I took a drop outside of the ditch would I be correct in assuming I would have to take a stroke?


Was it marked as a hazard? If not than you would get relief as the drain(I'm assuming like a steel drain) would be man made and you would get 2 club lengths. If it's a hazard it's point of entry and a penalty.

Also just out of curiosity what course were you playing I lived in west chester for about 3 years so I know quite a few courses in that area.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A ditch, whether or not it contains water at the moment, is a water hazard by definition.  Thus, your only options will be those from the water hazard rules, which don't include relief from an immovable obstruction (even if, e.g., if the drain were interfering) or an unplayable lie.  You'll incur a penalty for anything except playing it as it lies.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites



Originally Posted by clubchamp

Was it marked as a hazard? If not than you would get relief as the drain(I'm assuming like a steel drain) would be man made and you would get 2 club lengths. If it's a hazard it's point of entry and a penalty.

Also just out of curiosity what course were you playing I lived in west chester for about 3 years so I know quite a few courses in that area.


Kimberton golf course. Nice little course for the price and only about 10 minutes from my house.

And yeah it was like a steel pipe going into a little ditch.  I played it because I was not sure and did not want to take a penalty stroke.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0