Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 5101 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

This happened last week. A player tees off and ball hits the very edge of the heel side of the club causing it to go almost straight left. It hits his opponents golf bag and drops down in front of it. Does this result in a penalty? The golf bag wasn't in the way and it was only because of the result of a freak shot that the ball hit it.

We decided that it was no penalty and play as it lies (it was just a friendly competition between friends) but wondered what would be the correct procedure in an actual competiton?


I believe that rule 19-1 would be applicable here and that you made the correct call.

Quote:
19-1. By Outside Agency
If a player's ball in motion is accidentally deflected or stopped by any outside agency, it is a rub of the green, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies.

Sasquatch Tour Bag | '09 Burner driver, 10.5* | Speedline F10 3W | Mashie 3H | Viper MS irons, 4-SW | CG15 60* | White Hot XG #7

 

 


While true that there is no penalty for hitting the equipment of a fellow competitor (stroke play) or opponent (match play), if you hit your opponent's equipment during a match, you have the option of immediately recalling the stroke and playing the shot again (Rule 19-3).  You cannot wait to see what he does, the decision and replay must be immediate.  If you do replay the stroke, then that is the one you score with.  You don't get to change your mind.

It is a one stroke penalty if your ball in motion strikes any of your own equipment (Rule 19-2).

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  Fourputt said:

It is a one stroke penalty if your ball in motion strikes any of your own equipment (Rule 19-2).

I would like to add that if you're in a fourball or foursomes match, and it hits your partner's bag, it's the same penalty as if it were your bag. I think. Can someone confirm for me? I've never actually played this format.

-- Michael | My swing! 

"You think you're Jim Furyk. That's why your phone is never charged." - message from my mother

Driver:  Titleist 915D2.  4-wood:  Titleist 917F2.  Titleist TS2 19 degree hybrid.  Another hybrid in here too.  Irons 5-U, Ping G400.  Wedges negotiable (currently 54 degree Cleveland, 58 degree Titleist) Edel putter. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades



  Shindig said:
Originally Posted by Shindig

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

It is a one stroke penalty if your ball in motion strikes any of your own equipment (Rule 19-2).

I would like to add that if you're in a fourball or foursomes match, and it hits your partner's bag, it's the same penalty as if it were your bag.

I think. Can someone confirm for me? I've never actually played this format.

Your partner(s), caddies, and equipment are all treated as if they are yours under Rule 19.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 5101 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    TourStriker
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 251 - 2025-06-08 Got some swings in when a lesson showed up with a back injury. Why they didn't text last night… I don't know. 😛 So I had some time before the next lesson. I'm doing something a bit different now. I'm folding and rolling a little more while keeping the left wrist cup, and then doing a bit less on the downswing.
    • Day 39 (8 Jun 25) - Threatening t-storms cut short the time in the backyard yard - managed some work with the 7i and hard foam balls, again focused on staying in the setup-swing process.  Only hit about 20 balls - taking time to walk thru each swing before making it.  Reminded me of the commercial TItleist has out about “trusting the process” as the results will follow…seeing a bit of that happening in my drills (results that is). 
    • The ball is LOST, so it's a pretty bad shot seeing as how the point of the game is to hit YOUR ball from the tee into the hole in as few strokes as possible. Replacing your ball because you can't find it is pretty bad. "We've always cheated and breached the rules, so why now that there is an official rule that supports and allows what we do should we adopt it" is certainly a stupid hill on which to choose death, but so be it. Push for them to adopt the local rule. After all, it's for a ball LOST or OB.
    • This question has probably been discussed previously but a search didn't reveal anything, so I'll pose it this way. Our league generally plays under the official Rules of Golf but there is a "relaxed" (I'll call it) adjustment made regarding balls that get lost in the rough. We obey all the official rules about balls in penalty areas and when hit Out of Bounds (the approved "Local Rule" - drop in the fairway with a two-stroke penalty). but when a ball is lost in the rough guys have historically just dropped a new ball in the general area of where the ball is thought to be with a one-stroke penalty. This, I know, isn't correct. It's either stroke & distance - (which we don't do because the group behind would throw a fit) or handled just like O.B., drop in the fairway with a two-stroke penalty.  When this was pointed out (by me) there was considerable push-back. Many said if a really lousy shot that happens to go into an area marked with red or yellow stakes or lines is one stroke and a ball in the water is one stroke, why should a bad but not so terrible shot in the rough, but just invisible because it's covered by grass clippings or embedded down in long grass, be two shots? When I pointed out, "Well...that's the rule" some other wag said, "Well the league has been doing it this way for 20 years, because we don't have forecaddies, marshals or TV cameras watching us." Other than this issue we're pretty much spot-on when it comes to the rules but I would really like to know about what other leagues do about this specific issue.    
    • Its going to be a busy few months for me.  In just a couple of weeks I'll be joining the SandTrap group near Pittsburgh for 2 rounds.  Then in August we'll be in Nova Scotia for a week, including both Cabot courses.  And now we've added another little holiday.  Following my niece's wedding west of Detroit, my wife and I will go up to Forest Dunes for 3 rounds.  I picked that spot because I'm intrigued by The Loop, a Doak design that is played in different directions on alternating days.  One day is the Red, playing counter-clockwise, the next days is the black, going clockwise.  And there's the original course, a Weiskopf design.  All told, 10 new courses to add to my list!
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...