• Announcements

    • iacas

      Visit FlagstickRule.com   03/13/2017

      Visit the site flagstickrule.com to read about and sign a petition for the USGA/R&A regarding the one terrible rule in the proposed "modernized" rules for 2019.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
motsco

Bunker Relief? Or any Bad Lie?

10 posts in this topic

Not sure if my wording is Correct for this Question but I will try.

Tonight in my league play I pushed my Drive right, the ball landed on the top front edge of the buker in thick long grass with about 45* uphill lie,  My stance was way awkwards at any direction, I had no real punch out shot.

What I wanted to do is to take relif  maybe a drop  into the bunker further from the hole. (This would have been a better lie for me).

What I Did used a 7w to have the ball go streight up and backwards into the bunker, but the ball landed near the edge on a position with the ball well above my feet still in the bunker.

The next shot of course went hard left (even with open club face) it did land on the fairway. next shot hit the green.

I think I could of greened from the bunker with a better lie.

So could I have taken a 1 stroke drop to improve my chances to par?

Thanks,

Tom

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Yes, under Rule 28 you have 3 options and 2 of them would have allowed you to drop in the bunker.  You could have dropped within 2 clublengths not nearer the hole from where the ball was unplayable, or you could draw a line from the hole through your ball and drop back on that line as far as you wanted.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Yes, under Rule 28 you have 3 options and 2 of them would have allowed you to drop in the bunker.  You could have dropped within 2 clublengths not nearer the hole from where the ball was unplayable, or you could draw a line from the hole through your ball and drop back on that line as far as you wanted.

So I could have gone back out of the bunker into a rough area that gave me a shot at greening in 3? (line from the hole through ball  further back?)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As far as I know, since the ball wasn't actually in the bunker, it doesn't need to be dropped in the bunker. Since it was on the edge of the bunker in the grass, I think you could've dropped it behind the bunker, provided you kept the line between the the flag and ball. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rule 28:

If the player deems his ball to be unplayable, he must, under penalty of one stroke:

a. Proceed under the stroke and distance provision of Rule 27-1 by playing a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); or

b. Drop a ball behind the point where the ball lay, keeping that point directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind that point the ball may be dropped; or

c. Drop a ball within two club-lengths of the spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the hole.

If the unplayable ball is in a bunker, the player may proceed under Clause a, b or c. If he elects to proceed under Clause b or c, a ball must be dropped in the bunker.

When proceeding under this Rule, the player may lift and clean his ball orsubstitute a ball.

If your ball was in the bunker you could drop in the bunker keeping the point between you and the hole and no close, drop within two club lengths in the bunker, or you could go back to where you played your last shot.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Was your ball actually in the bunker?

The definition says "Grass-covered ground bordering or within a bunker, including a stacked turf face (whether grass-covered or earthen), is not part of the bunker "

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by motsco

So I could have gone back out of the bunker into a rough area that gave me a shot at greening in 3? (line from the hole through ball  further back?)

Unless your ball is in a water hazard, you can always deem your ball unplayable and take a 1 stroke penalty.  As stated there are 3 options for an unplayable drop.  It's just that if your ball was touching the bunker, two of your options require the drop to be in the bunker.  If your ball was not in the bunker you may use one of the three options without restriction......you can drop anywhere on the course.....in the bunker...not in the bunker....hazard...... green..... you just need to make sure you correctly comply with the option you chose and drop in a proper manner spelled out in Rule 20.  You could even drop on a cartpath or GUR.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

rulesman. my ball wasn't in the bunker. I wasn't smart enough to realize that. thanks for the answer guys, I'm a little smarter golfer today. thanks
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can apply the unplayable lie rule anytime your ball is in an unfavorable position, except in a hazard.  I've actually had a ball plug in the lip of a bunker and not sure I could have got it out with 3 tries let alone 1.  I called it unplayble, dropped back in the bunker where I would actually swing at it and probably saved myself a stroke if not 2.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by lumpuckeroo

You can apply the unplayable lie rule anytime your ball is in an unfavorable position, except in a hazard.  I've actually had a ball plug in the lip of a bunker and not sure I could have got it out with 3 tries let alone 1.  I called it unplayble, dropped back in the bunker where I would actually swing at it and probably saved myself a stroke if not 2.

A bunker is a Hazard.

I'm sure you meant to say Water Hazard though.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    Leupold Golf
    Snell Golf
    Talamore Golf Resort
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • I think a qualified fitter should be able to provide that info! Of course, I have to allow for the fact that, like a medical diagnosis, @Spring1 is simply looking for a second opinion, albeit from complete and total strangers who have never seen him swing a club. Look, @Spring1, I'm not trying to be rude here, nor is anyone else. It's just that your question confuses us a bit. And don't let this "grilling" scare you away. We're honestly curious and would like to help. FWIW, graphite shafts are lighter than steel. So, if you stick the same length graphite into a formerly steel shafted iron, it's going to monkey with the swingweight. It will make it lighter! To compensate, most manufacturers will make the graphite shafted clubs slightly longer to get the swingweight back up. The question is whether or not you can hit those longer irons as accurately as the originals. You should be allowed to hit both models and make a decision from that. And, I notice that you're a 39, and you mentioned the Ping brand in particular. So, I'm guessing this was a "golf store" fitting, and not a "custom clubmaker" fitting. Then another possibility presents itself. Maybe @Spring1 is wondering whether the store "fitter" is trying to upsell him into something more expensive, or something they need to move! All that matters is performance. Do the clubs work for you? And, of course, I could be entirely wrong about everything I've typed above and made a complete fool of myself! But then, I (and we) could use a bit more info.
    • Saw something intresting during my round the other day.my home club here in new zealand has a pretty relaxed dress code.and I was in my normal sort of outfit for a warm day.plain shorts,and a plain blue Nike t-shirt with no graphics or logos on it.no knee length white socks thou lol.and saw a visitor to our club dressed in golf pants and a polo. But his polo had a big skull and crossbones on it with the skull smoking.just playing devils advocate here,but it would be intresting to see what happened if he turned up at the only course in our area that stipulates a collar.ild argue that a plain t-shirt looks a lot better.(all thou as i said in the original post i always stick a polo on when i play at that club)
    • He's still young too thou,is it a case of just needing to mature a bit.and get a bit more experience.(how old is he exactly i know his early 20s?) I know he's not the same type of players but i seem to remember sergio garcia having a lot of blow up holes when he was younger,and losing his temper a lot more over it.and he seems to have matured into a much more composed player these days. That said ild take Jordan's game over mine in a heartbeat 
    • Could be the greens you play.  There is one course I play ocassionally that has greens that are not too fast but are hard.  It's hard to make a ball mark, it's hard to stop the ball.  You have to try to adjust to the roll.
    • According to equipment reviews, the Mojo is a distance ball with fairly good stopping power. For the D2 family, the newer D2+ Feel is supposed to deliver distance and greenside control. Being that you have a beginner's HDCP, I would suggest you get a short-game lesson. I get a short-game checkover every few years, and I always learn something new. A skilled instructor can take you further toward short-game control in an hour than you can take yourself with a whole season of hit and miss. Also, good contact on partial wedges and chip-and-run can build a foundation for a solid full swing.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bigtosh90
      bigtosh90
      (27 years old)
    2. dopplegvnger
      dopplegvnger
      (25 years old)
    3. Frank62
      Frank62
      (55 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon