Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 4950 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Playing a par 4 today I hit a tee shot that went well right of the fairway.  There is building and area where there are some grounds keepers tools and such.  At any rate my ball landed in this area which is separated from the fairway and rough by some low hedges, there are no markings, stakes, etc.  I knew my tee shot was questionable so I hit a provisional.  So I find my ball in the above mentioned area and have a descent shot out to the fairway.  I asked a couple of the workers if I could hit my ball and they said OK so I get positioned to swing and a 3rd worker comes out of the building making a fuss and tells me to place my ball on the other side of the hedge and hit from there.  What should be done and which rules would be applied?


Posted

Ask the pro at the course what you should have done. There may be a local rule that deals with the area in question. Unless this is the case, I guess it would have been ok to play it if not marked ob.


Posted

What he said. The course should address this. I've usually seen a comment on the scorecard with the various local rules that indicates that maintenance yards are OB, but really they ought to put up stakes.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Posted

If it's not staked or marked, and the scorecard provides no guidance, it's in play.

Your instinct to play it as you found it was correct.


Posted

Maybe the third guy has seen enough bad shots in his life that he didn't want to risk more damage from a shank that could hit a window, mower, worker, etc, at close range. It sounds like he knew you weren't playing the US Open and just wanted to avoid a potential catastrophe by having you drop in a "safer" location.

I agree that it should be marked if it is truly out of play and addressed under a local rule for any exceptions.

Callaway AI Smoke TD Max 10.5* | Cobra Big Tour 15.5* | Rad Tour 18.5* | Titleist U500 4i | T100 5-P | Vokey 50/8* F, 54/10* S,  58/10* S | Scotty Cameron Squareback 1


Posted

Thanks for the replies.  There is nothing on the scorecard.  So how do I handle the score/penalty?  I almost feel like it is an "outside agent," but I could not replace.


Posted

- What the worker told you probably had no bearing.

- If it was not OB or, not in an area defined as GUR, you needed to play the ball as it lied.

- If it was not OB you could not play your provisional, because once you find the original ball (not OB) the provisional is null and void.

- If you dropped on the other side of the hedges, you played from a wrong place.


Posted
Originally Posted by szaino

- What the worker told you probably had no bearing.

From a rules of golf perspective, you are correct. May not be great advice from a not-getting-thrown-off-the-course perspective, though.

In the bag:
FT-iQ 10° driver, FT 21° neutral 3H
T-Zoid Forged 15° 3W, MX-23 4-PW
Harmonized 52° GW, Tom Watson 56° SW, X-Forged Vintage 60° LW
White Hot XG #1 Putter, 33"


Posted

When you moved your ball to the other side of the hedge, was your path to the fairway more, or less, obstructed?

:ping:

  • G400 - 9° /Alta CB 55 Stiff / G410-SFT - 16° /Project X 6.0S 85G / G410 - 20.5° /Tensei Orange 75S
  • G710 - 4 iron/SteelFiber i110cw Stiff • / i210 - 5 iron - UW / AWT 2.0 Stiff
  • Glide SS - 54° / CFS Wedge / Glide 2.0 SS - 58°/10 / KBS 120S / Hoofer - Black

:scotty_cameron: - Select Squareback / 35"  -  :titleist: - Pro V1 / White  -  :clicgear: - 3.5+ / White

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Originally Posted by bwdial

When you moved your ball to the other side of the hedge, was your path to the fairway more, or less, obstructed?

It would have been less obstructive, but given the situation I thought playing the provisional and taking my penalty was more fair to the score, yet I still don't feel right about it.

Originally Posted by zeg

From a rules of golf perspective, you are correct. May not be great advice from a not-getting-thrown-off-the-course perspective, though.

exactly!

Originally Posted by szaino

- What the worker told you probably had no bearing.

- If it was not OB or, not in an area defined as GUR, you needed to play the ball as it lied.

- If it was not OB you could not play your provisional, because once you find the original ball (not OB) the provisional is null and void.

- If you dropped on the other side of the hedges, you played from a wrong place.


That is the dilemma. I was forced to play a shot that did not abide by the rules.  What I did way play my provisional and took my penalty, but I feel cheated out of my score as I believe I could have saved the penalty stroke and scored 2 less on the hole(maybe).


Posted

Was it a casual round? If so, just move your ball and hit it, no penalty.  No big deal and done. You already breaking the rules so trying to "fix" them by adding strokes won't work. In a tournament situation you need to follow the rules and make the argument, but for a casual round just respect the employee and don't worry about it.


Note: This thread is 4950 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Wordle 1,652 3/6* ⬛🟩⬛⬛⬛ ⬛🟩🟩🟩🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩 Today could be bloody.
    • Mike Mentzer Was Right: The Science, Logic, and Legacy of Heavy Duty Training - Mike Mentzer Modern science backs Mike Mentzer’s one-set-to-failure training. Discover why Heavy Duty works, and how logic, intensity, and recovery lead to real results. Is this what you mean? If so, I have known bodybuilders to do this and they were very strong.
    • Wordle 1,652 3/6* ⬛⬛🟦⬛🟦 ⬛🟧🟧⬛⬛ 🟧🟧🟧🟧🟧
    • Wordle 1,652 X/6* 🟨⬜⬜⬜⬜ ⬜⬜🟨⬜⬜ ⬜🟩⬜🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 Yup - one of those Wordle moments….
    • The term I hear most often is "double teeing" which means the course/club has starting times from both the #1 and #10 tee.  I have encountered this many times and we know if we are the first group off #10, we may well get to #1 and have to wait because there are groups still with tee times yet to tee of #1.  In most instances, where the course/club has a starter, he normally explains this situation.  In this case, the pro advised what you would could/would encounter making the turn to #1.  And, that is exactly what happened.  Probably would have been wise to talk to the pro after playing back 9 and ask when you could go off #1 since apparently that club does not double tee.   Regardless, the outburst towards the other group was uncalled for.  And, I don't blame the member for being upset.  As a member of a private club, you are responsible for the actions of your guest.  I have played many times as a guest in the UK and I am pretty damn sure my host was responsible for my actions while at the club.  I know at the clubs I have belonged to here in the US, that is the way it is.  As a matter of fact, the member may find himself being brought before management and facing possible suspension.  So, I don't blame him for being upset.  However, as the host, he really should have stepped up and put a stop to the OP's actions.  OP makes this statement "I now understand that standards are different on the "private course." But I'll take those lessons to the muni, too."  No, the standards are not different.  You, sir, seem to be just a bit hard headed and belligerent, even if you are college professor...which possibly explains a lot.   JMHO
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.