Jump to content
Note: This thread is 4492 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

This may be a really stupid question but me and a friend of mine (motown88) were wondering the other day (when I almost put my tee shot in the hole; on the wrong green!!) how you would play that shot.  So, what would you do if you made a hole in one with your tee shot but it just so happened to be on the wrong hole?  For example:  Teeing off on 18 and making the ball in the hole on the 17th green.  The snap hook I hit (the only one of the day) had to have been no more than a few feet from doing this exact thing a couple days ago.

Driver: CALLAWAY Diablo Octane 9.5*

Woods: CALLAWAY Diablo Octane 15*

Hybrid: CALLAWAY Diablo Edge 21*

Irons: CLEVELAND TA7 3-PW

Wedges: CLEVELAND 588 51*, 56*, and (60* on standby)

Putter: ODYSSEY DFX 1100 mallet

Bag: NIKE Performance Carry (Lime green/Grey)

Ball: NIKE One Tour D

 

 

 

 


Not a stupid question, but a very good one. You get a free drop when you ball lands on the wrong green, so that rule would apply here.

My Tools of Ignorance:

Driver: Ping I20 9.5*
Woods/Hybrids: Cobra AMP 3W and 3 HY

Irons: Cobra AMP 4-GW

Wedges: Callaway Forged Copper 56* and 60*

Putters: Scotty Cameron  35" (Several of the flow neck blade variety)

Ball: Bridgestone B330-RX and Srixon Z-Star

Bag: Nike Performance Carry


Well clearly you change your score on 17 to 1 and replay your drive on the 18th!!!!!!  At least that should be the rule


If i missed that bad I would probably just quit and go home.

I kid I kid. I did this a few weeks ago. free drop I beleive no closer to the hole.

Bag: Ogio Ozone XX

Driver: :titleist: 910 D2 (Project X 7A3)

3 Wood: :titleist: 910F ;(Mitsubishi Rayon Diamana 'ahina 82)

Hybrid: :titleist: 909H 19* (Diamana Blue)

Irons: :titleist: 755 3-P (Tri Spec Stiff Flex Steel)

Wedges: :titleist: (Vokey 52* 56* 60*)

Putter: Ping Karsten Anser 2

Balls: :titleist: Nxt tour/ Prov1x


Originally Posted by Jimdangles

If i missed that bad I would probably just quit and go home.

I kid I kid. I did this a few weeks ago. free drop I beleive no closer to the hole.

I kind of figured that would be the rule.  I just had never actually heard of anyone hitting it into the wrong hole .  I was actually playing a very good round all day and hitting my driver straighter than I had all year, then, all of a sudden on 18 it took the sharpest turn left than I have EVER seen.  I am known to hook one every now and then but DAMN!  I never knew a shot like that was possible off the tee!

Driver: CALLAWAY Diablo Octane 9.5*

Woods: CALLAWAY Diablo Octane 15*

Hybrid: CALLAWAY Diablo Edge 21*

Irons: CLEVELAND TA7 3-PW

Wedges: CLEVELAND 588 51*, 56*, and (60* on standby)

Putter: ODYSSEY DFX 1100 mallet

Bag: NIKE Performance Carry (Lime green/Grey)

Ball: NIKE One Tour D

 

 

 

 


Originally Posted by fireman1153

I kind of figured that would be the rule.  I just had never actually heard of anyone hitting it into the wrong hole .  I was actually playing a very good round all day and hitting my driver straighter than I had all year, then, all of a sudden on 18 it took the sharpest turn left than I have EVER seen.  I am known to hook one every now and then but DAMN!  I never knew a shot like that was possible off the tee!

mine was kind of a fade instead of a draw that went through the dogleg. that was actually my provisional after my first shot OB :(

I definitely wasnt one to talk haha.

Bag: Ogio Ozone XX

Driver: :titleist: 910 D2 (Project X 7A3)

3 Wood: :titleist: 910F ;(Mitsubishi Rayon Diamana 'ahina 82)

Hybrid: :titleist: 909H 19* (Diamana Blue)

Irons: :titleist: 755 3-P (Tri Spec Stiff Flex Steel)

Wedges: :titleist: (Vokey 52* 56* 60*)

Putter: Ping Karsten Anser 2

Balls: :titleist: Nxt tour/ Prov1x


LOL.  We all have that shot that comes from nowhere from time to time.

Driver: CALLAWAY Diablo Octane 9.5*

Woods: CALLAWAY Diablo Octane 15*

Hybrid: CALLAWAY Diablo Edge 21*

Irons: CLEVELAND TA7 3-PW

Wedges: CLEVELAND 588 51*, 56*, and (60* on standby)

Putter: ODYSSEY DFX 1100 mallet

Bag: NIKE Performance Carry (Lime green/Grey)

Ball: NIKE One Tour D

 

 

 

 


Originally Posted by fireman1153

This may be a really stupid question but me and a friend of mine (motown88) were wondering the other day (when I almost put my tee shot in the hole; on the wrong green!!) how you would play that shot.  So, what would you do if you made a hole in one with your tee shot but it just so happened to be on the wrong hole?  For example:  Teeing off on 18 and making the ball in the hole on the 17th green.  The snap hook I hit (the only one of the day) had to have been no more than a few feet from doing this exact thing a couple days ago.

It's a free drop, but because it's the wrong putting green you must take relief off the green, Rule 25-3.  The player must find the Nearest Point of Relief and drop within one club length.  The NPR can not be on the putting green or in a hazard.

If you happened to hole out in the wrong hole on a double green, you would treat the wrong hole as an Abnormal Ground Condition (Rule 25-1), find the NPR on the green and place the ball.  Exception: If the double green was marked so you could identify the margin identifying the boundary of both greens, then you would be on a wrong green and have to take relief under that rule. (R25-3)

Regards,

John

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4492 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • 70 today. The number looks good but, the course is a par 67 (5,110 yards, 64.3/115.). While the 70 took quite a few good shots to achieve, I am not counting that as shooting my age.
    • Played our town’s executive course this morning. Everything is closing but for now Huron Hills remains open. #13 is shaped like an upside down backwards L (dogleg left). Only 231 yard par 4. Dogleg has a tree guarding the corner and a sand bunker guards the green for those cutting the dogleg. Tiny green. About 10 years ago or more I would try to cut the dogleg. The hole is so short that even if one tangled with the tree or was bunkered, par was likely and birdie was still on the table. Now in my 70’s, I just hit it straight and try to wedge it close for birdie. Today I screwed up and pulled my drive. I wandered around a bit when my ball was not in the bunker. Finally located it on the approach to the green. Almost chipped in and tapped in the 2 inches for birdie. Best unintentional shot of the week. 😲
    • Wordle 1,255 6/6 ⬜⬜⬜⬜🟨 ⬜⬜🟩⬜⬜ ⬜⬜🟩🟨⬜ 🟨🟩🟩🟨⬜ ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩   Down to the wire, again.
    • Why wouldn't it have? It's not like you were playing it as a 145yd par 5 and made a 2 or something.  Or not like it was playing 50yds to a temporary green or something either. 
    • Wordle 1,255 6/6 ⬜⬜⬜⬜⬜ ⬜🟨⬜⬜🟨 ⬜🟨🟨🟨⬜ ⬜🟩🟩🟩🟩 🟩⬜⬜⬜⬜ 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...