IGNORED

R&A Rules Question & Concern

Golfer6760
Note: This thread is 4273 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am new to this forum so, "Hello" everyone.

I've been playing golf for 50+ years and seen many forms of descrimination on the golf course. I applaud Augusta National for coming up to par & allowing women in to their private club. I would think they are the last cub in the USA to get in to the 21st century.

After watching the news media publisize the gender barrier break through, I learned the R&A; @ St Andrews abides by the same gender rules that Augusta National did and does not reconize the female gender? I read through the R&A; rules and they mention the USGA many times, but differ from our gender rules in the USA.

If golf is becoming a global sport, I would think the R&A; and the USGA would get together and make one set of rules for all golfers. Even the PGA has allowed female players compete on tour.

I would assume female golfers wouldn't want to support the R&A;

Thank You

• Administrator
Originally Posted by Golfer6760

I've been playing golf for 50+ years and seen many forms of descrimination on the golf course. I applaud Augusta National for coming up to par & allowing women in to their private club. I would think they are the last cub in the USA to get in to the 21st century.

Augusta National is not the last club to admit women. We have a few threads on this topic, too.

Originally Posted by Golfer6760

After watching the news media publisize the gender barrier break through, I learned the R&A; @ St Andrews abides by the same gender rules that Augusta National did and does not reconize the female gender? I read through the R&A; rules and they mention the USGA many times, but differ from our gender rules in the USA.