IGNORED

taking advice from your golfing buddies, and it seems bad advice

Note: This thread is 4075 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi, newbie here, started playing last year, had a break due to several factors.. Anyway, back into it again, had my first round with some friends, and they were offering advice, that I thought goes against everything (or as little) that I have learnt from a coach I took a few lessons with (am learning the right sided swing technique, on account of what my coach showed me,I personally like the philosophy behind it as well).. The advice was ranging from move this foot back, or bring your legs almost together, to forget about practise swings.. ????? I wasn't hitting the ball well in truth, but have an understanding of what I need to do, just can't put it into place at present.. Time to time I get it right though.

Anyway, I politely thanked them for it, and tried to explain what I was trying to do, and that it doesn't keep with what I have been taught.. I think they thought I was being a little snotty, but that couldn't be further from the truth, as I do appreciate help and suggestions, I just thought this advice was not in keeping with the technique that I was being taught..

My buddies all range from 14-23 handicaps by the way..

Any ideas on how to handle this, or has anyone experienced this themselves. Love to read any thoughts on the subject.

Cheers guys.

I don't have any advice regarding the techniques, but this is how I practice and it works for me... Hope it help you put together what you know you need to do into you swings.

Seperate your swing into small parts, takeaway, backswing, shift weight and bring the grip to your right thigh, release to impact, impact to finish releasing, continue follow through... like that... with or without the club doesn't matter.