IGNORED

Swing Advice for a Southpaw Playing Right Handed

Note: This thread is 1094 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey folks,

I'm new around here. I'm generally a lurker...but recent events have convinced me to post this question to see what you guys feel on the subject. I appologize in advance for a what I believe will be a long post....hopefully most of you guys wont mind the read.

I've been playing for about 10 years now. I'm left handed, but play right handed. I did this for the simple reason that the clubs I had at my disposal at the time, were righty clubs. Im also a guitar player that plays righty and the advantages for guitarists that play righty over lefty are vast (more instruments to chose from, etc). So I assumed, at the time, that similar advantages to right handed golfers existed.

Back in the winter I made a resolution...and over the past 6 months, I've been desperately trying to get my game out of the 90s and into the 80s. Ive gone through a series of lessons, a few minor equipment changes and even lost a whole bunch of weight. All aimed in some way, to getting my game out of the basement. The lessons came to a close about a month ago....The one improvement I seem to have made, is that I've increased my swing speed a good bit. I seem to be clearing my hips better...this increase in swing speed, has resulted in a few things...Off the tee, I'm alot longer. Unfortunately, my acuracy has gotten awful. simply awful...Any given tee shot will be a hard slice or hard hook. 30% of my shots are finding the fairway. The rest of them are so far to the left or right that I'm losing strokes just getting back to the short grass.