• Announcements

• iacas

GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mchichioco

Spin on Approach Shots

19 posts in this topic

Hey guys, I'm 15 and a freshman in highschool. My handicap is 14.7 and I have been playing for 2 years and I love the game. Usually from 150 yards to the green I feel confident I can hit the green, however I always aim for the "fattest" part of the green, which leaves me with monster putts. When im not on my "A" game with putting I set my self up for disaster. How can I get more spin so I can aim for the pin without worrying about rolling off or missing short, or long and into trouble. From about 110 yards or less I can get a good amount of spin that I can attack the pin. But what are some ways I can get more spin on my longer irons so I can lower my score? Thanks :)

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

I'm not even going to try to answer your question....

.....because I want you to continue aiming for the fat of the green and not for silly pins.  You'll beat a lot of people if you just keep doing that!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by David in FL

I'm not even going to try to answer your question....

.....because I want you to continue aiming for the fat of the green and not for silly pins.  You'll beat a lot of people if you just keep doing that!

He's right!

Without seeing your swing, I imagine that you don't take divots or your divots are very small... A great divot hits it's low point about 3-4 inches in front of the ball, because of a good downward strike.

I would continue to work on hitting the middle/fat of the green though. 14 gir with long putts will beat 7-8 gir with sometimes short putts. (just get it on the green and get good at lag putting! :) )