• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
jimp59

Out of Bounds - Re teeing

Recommended Posts

jimp59    0
What is the ruling regarding this situation. My friend hit his ball out of bounds from the tee box. He re-tees and while addressing his ball, he accidentally knocks the ball of the tee with his club. Is the ball considered in play since he hit his first shot OB? Does it count as a stroke? Does he play it as it lies or does he get to re-tee with no penalty since he had no intent to hit it? What is the ruling? Thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Mordan    25
11-3 Ball Falling off Tee If a ball, when not in play, falls off a tee or is knocked off a tee by the player in addressing it, it may be re-teed, without penalty. However, if a stroke is made at the ball in these circumstances, whether the ball is moving or not, the stroke counts, but there is no penalty. The definition of in play is as follows: Ball In Play Definition A ball is"in play" as soon as the player has made a stroke on the teeing ground. It remains in play until it is holed, except when it is lost, out of bounds or lifted, or another ball has been substituted, whether or not the substitution is permitted; a ball so substituted becomes the ball in play. So the second ball is not in play until a stroke has been made at it and may be re-teed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Stretch    392
Originally Posted by Mordan

11-3 Ball Falling off Tee

If a ball, when not in play, falls off a tee or is knocked off a tee by the player in addressing it, it may be re-teed, without penalty. However, if a stroke is made at the ball in these circumstances, whether the ball is moving or not, the stroke counts, but there is no penalty.

The definition of in play is as follows:

Ball In Play

Definition

A ball is"in play" as soon as the player has made a stroke on the teeing ground. It remains in play until it is holed, except when it is lost, out of bounds or lifted, or another ball has been substituted, whether or not the substitution is permitted; a ball so substituted becomes the ball in play.

So the second ball is not in play until a stroke has been made at it and may be re-teed.

I can see where the OP's question arises, though. His friend has already "made a stroke" on the teeing ground, just at another ball. The wording of that definition could possibly be improved, i.e. "A ball is 'in play' as soon as the player has made a stroke at it on the teeing ground."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Mordan    25
Originally Posted by Stretch

I can see where the OP's question arises, though. His friend has already "made a stroke" on the teeing ground, just at another ball. The wording of that definition could possibly be improved, i.e. "A ball is 'in play' as soon as the player has made a stroke at it on the teeing ground."

Yeah I agree it could be read that way.

Although I guess some might get confused in the case of someone taking an air swing. Was it really a swing "at it" if it missed?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fourputt    922

When the ball is re-teed under a rule requiring a stroke and distance penalty, it is not in play until a stroke is made at it.  If it had been dropped rather than re-teed, then it would be in play as soon as it was dropped.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • As others have said, you''ll probably be hitting a lot of shots with short irons .  with awkward changes to grip,posture, that kind of thing.  I'll be surprised if he let's you swing your driver unless your iron game is really competent and you don't have swing flaws. A very good chance it'll make you a better player, but early lessons  might not be fun. At least that's been my experience and that of everybody I know who have taken lessons.
    • I responded initially to David's comment about hitting an approach shot with what I thought would require a fairway wood to a difficult green and being confident in the outcome. What you've quoted was a response and disagreement to Kevin's comment suggesting that hole would not be difficult for higher handicappers. I'll resist replying to @Vinsk's post directly below yours. My apologies for taking this thread off-topic.
    • I've been looking at my swing in caddie view, especially P8/A8 (the shaft is parallel to the ground in the follow-through) and I noticed that my neck and eyes are still pointing in the direction of where the ball was at address until after P9/A9. I think this is a really bad move for me as I am left handed and left eye dominant, meaning that my dominant eye isn't really seeing the ball after impact, and I am not extending or raising my head from P7/A7 to P9/A9. Annika Sorenstam (who is right handed and right eye dominant) does the opposite move, at P8/A8 her eyes and neck are in the direction of the clubhead from a head swivel move in the downswing. Jim Furyk and David Duval do the same thing that she does and all 3 players shot sub 60 rounds... Could this be a magic move?
    • Uhh, these guys you are destroying, what scores do they usually shoot? they had low handicaps, they were on the golf team with me or for another high school.   You have a 28 HDCP, yet you hit the sweet spot consistently on your irons? for the most part, yes.    thank you for the suggestion, but I hate the feel and look of game improvement irons. which ones do you suggest?
    • Funny guy this Groucho, think he is trolling you Erik.  My story as someone who scores in the seventies when playing a good round (low eighties are more common). I really need my long game to be on. Hitting it 220-230y from the tee, playing a course at 6700y. Next I mostly have a wood or a hybrid to the green. Because of that I became a really good woods/hybrid player (practice it a lot during my rounds). There are two 440y par4's that I can't reach in two, stopped trying to make gir there (no more 3 woods out of my shoes to the green). Not that I hit every green, I even miss greens from 100y in, allways very happy to be on the green in regulation. Ngir is king for me. If not on the green, but almost, I try my Texas wedge (putter) to make up and down. I am not an elite player at all, but am really into scoring. Thinking about buying a chipper, because my chipping is below average. I take my driver out on every hole except par3's. I learned to hit a short gripped driver with an easy 70% swing 180-190y, when there is danger at 200+y, it works for me all the time.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Bryan Kasper
      Bryan Kasper
      (25 years old)
    2. Greg Pickett Golf
      Greg Pickett Golf
      (62 years old)
    3. hobecorning
      hobecorning
      (75 years old)
    4. Lfm
      Lfm
      (73 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon