IGNORED

hi guys, beginner here looking for club advice

golfingnooob
Note: This thread is 3935 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

hi everyone

I'm going to start playing golf soon, and at first I will just be hitting the driving range and playing pitch and putt to get used to it. I played once before with someone else's clubs and enjoyed it. now I am going to go quite regularly with another friend, and on my own as well, but neither of us have clubs.

I was thinking about getting a 5-wood (also, is a 5-wood the same as a 5-iron?), an 8 or 9-iron (or both), a sand wedge and a putter. I could pick them up quite cheap brand new. I'm not too bothered about the brands right now.

will this be enough for a pitch and putt, and the 5-wood for the driving range? I tried a driver before and could hardly hit the ball straight

could I get by without a sandwedge and just use a 9-iron?

so it would be

5-wood (or 3-wood if you guys recommend it)

8-iron or 9-iron

sandwedge (if needed, could get an 8-iron and 9-iron instead)

putter

would you guys recommend getting anything else for a start?

thanks

Welcome.

A 5 wood is not the same as a 5 iron.  My 5 wood has a 19 degree loft and goes about 200 yards and my 5I has a 25 degree loft and goes about 175.

My suggestion is to get a full set of clubs from Dick's or another sporting goods store.  You can find decent beginner sets that are inexpensive and you don't have to do it all piece mail, probably for the same price.  This way you have all of the clubs when you decide to switch to playing on a championship course.

Thanks.

The used ones I've seen are all collection only and far away, but I could get the following for £30 ($45) new in total tomorrow

Dunlop Tour Graphite Iron (8)

Dunlop Tour Graphite Iron (SW) (do I need this?)

Dunlop Tour TP12 Graphite Iron (PW)