Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
NoPuttIsToShort

GUR/Ruling from partners

10 posts in this topic

Hi All

Here's the situation.

The ball is outside of the GUR but my stance would be inside. I thought I would have to take a drop but wasn't 100% on the rule so asked my three playing partners what the rule would be. They said I had to play it from where it was, so i played the shot on their ruling.

Now it turns out I was right and that I should have taken the drop meaning its a penalty shot and I have signed for a wrong scorecard.

The question is because I asked for a ruling and my playing partners gave me a incorrect ruling should I be penalised?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Originally Posted by NoPuttIsToShort

Hi All

Here's the situation.

The ball is outside of the GUR but my stance would be inside. I thought I would have to take a drop but wasn't 100% on the rule so asked my three playing partners what the rule would be. They said I had to play it from where it was, so i played the shot on their ruling.

Now it turns out I was right and that I should have taken the drop meaning its a penalty shot and I have signed for a wrong scorecard.

The question is because I asked for a ruling and my playing partners gave me a incorrect ruling should I be penalised?

You're not obligated to take a drop from GUR. Words like "would have to" and "should have" are not correct.

b . Relief

Except when the ball is in a water hazard or a lateral water hazard , a player may take relief from interference by an abnormal ground condition as follows:

May. Not "required to."
So you're not penalized, but not because your partners gave you the wrong ruling.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks for the reply. There still some discussion about this as it is a local rule you have to take a drop from GUR. But out of curiosity would I be penalised for playing the shot on the ruling of my playing partners?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by NoPuttIsToShort

Thanks for the reply. There still some discussion about this as it is a local rule you have to take a drop from GUR. But out of curiosity would I be penalised for playing the shot on the ruling of my playing partners?

The golf course or committee can prevent it, you're right. They'll often do so to protect young newly planted trees, etc.

At the end of the day it is your responsibility to know the rules, and to abide by them.

a. Ground Under Repair; Play Prohibited

If the Committee wishes to protect any area of the course , it should declare it to be ground under repair and prohibit play from within that area. The following Local Rule is recommended:

“The _____________(defined by ____) is ground under repair from which play is prohibited. If a player’s ball lies in the area, or if it interferes with the player’s stance or the area of his intended swing, the player must take relief under Rule 25-1

PENALTY FOR BREACH OF LOCAL RULE:

Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes.”

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

But out of curiosity would I be penalised for playing the shot on the ruling of my playing partners?

Your playing partners have no authority in the matter. What you choose to do is entirely your decision. If you are not sure, before taking any action, you should declare that you are going to play two balls under rule 3-3 and report the matter to the committee on completion of your round. Rules 3-3 procedure link http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-03/#3-3

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the replies guys.

Well that means I've signed for a wrong scorecard. Thanks for clearing the rule up about getting a wrong ruling from your playing partners as well.

Annoyed about it now though, the ball was in a divot and I thought I would get a drop because of standing in the GUR, ending up playing it thanks to a wrong "ruling" and put it on the green anyway.

Gutted best round I have ever played. Will know for next time

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Originally Posted by NoPuttIsToShort

Well that means I've signed for a wrong scorecard. Thanks for clearing the rule up about getting a wrong ruling from your playing partners as well.

Gutted best round I have ever played. Will know for next time

That's only true if your club REQUIRES drops from GUR. Most clubs do not have that local rule in place. Are you sure that local rule is in place at your club?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Originally Posted by iacas

That's only true if your club REQUIRES drops from GUR. Most clubs do not have that local rule in place. Are you sure that local rule is in place at your club?

I think the old rule making you take relief was the norm in the UK, but is slowly being replaced by the may take relief rule.

Certainly my club went over to the new rule earlier in the year.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think the old rule making you take relief was the norm in the UK, but is slowly being replaced by the may take relief rule.

Certainly my club went over to the new rule earlier in the year.

The R&A; Rules of golf have not "required" players to take relief from ground under repair since 1952.  Any such requirement at your club was by local Rule only.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Compulsory relief should only apply when the area itself needs some sort of protection (eg newly seeded or turfed ground) not because it may be temporarily damaged and difficult to play from.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • The progressive wing of the Dem party hates Kaine. He is pro TPP and favors deregulation to wall street. However he brings in VA and has a solid record on many issues for moderate Dems.
      I would not be surprised if you see Bernie speak at the DNC. He will tell his supporters that even though HRC is not their first choice he (Bernie) will have a better chance of working with  her for their issues, than DT! I hear they are countering Baio with prime time slot speech from Erin Moran!!!!!
    • Newtogolf's post is important.  I do not like hanging around people that are used to having a staff.  I just went on a raft trip with a friend of almost 50 years.  We do our own trips, and it is important for everyone to pitch in as it is a lot of work for guys in their 60s.  My friend just retired from being a doctor, and never really figured out how to help for the good of the group. He kept wanting to consider himself a "guest."   That is after we had some long discussions about being part of the team.  He will not be invited back. I would not want to play golf with people that are used to having a caddy either.   
    • Most double bogies, especially from the average golfer don't come from "taking risks", they come from a poor swing that results in OB, water hazard, lost in the woods, whatever.  A decent player can still break 80 with a double or two for exactly that reason, it's only a couple of bad swings.   The reason that most golfers never break 80 is that they make a lot of those bad swings, that add up.  But even good golfers, who break 80 (or better) consistently, will have the occasional bad swing that will result in a penalty and subsequently a double, or worse.   Which is "harder" is a matter of skill level. For me, someone who, as the OP asked, is as likely to break 80 as not, if I had to bet on the result of any given round before the first tee, I'd bet that I break 80 over a DB free round of any score.  Higher handicap players will find the opposite.  Scratch or better players will seldom fail to break 80, but will still have their share of individual blowup holes.  They'll just use their superior play on the remaining 16 or 17 holes to offset the couple of bad swings. 
    • I don't know enough about his situation.  Maybe not immediately -- he wouldn't qualify for the PGA Championship or the FedEx Cup playoffs (you can't earn points as a non-member, which he is for this event).  But probably by end of summer to start the 2016-17 PGA Tour season as a member.  Unless I'm forgetting someone, he'd be the third amateur to win a PGA Tour event in my lifetime (Verplank, Mickelson). 
    • Thanks.  I figured I would have heard by now if it made a difference, but I'm glad to hear it just the same. I tee off in just over three hours for my first round with the game golf.  
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries