Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Unplayable Lie/Drop/Loose impediment Questions

4 posts in this topic

3 Questions-

1.  Watching Snedeker and Lingmerth today on #12, I was wondering what would happen if their ball moved while they were removing loose impediments and they then opted to take an unplayable- Am I correct to assume that they would still have to count the penalty stroke for causing the ball to move even if they then decided to pick it up and take a penalty stroke for an unplayable lie?

While trying to figure out the above, I noticed that under the unplayable lie rule you are entitled to take up to 2 club lengths, drop, watch your ball roll back to its original position before you picked it up and NOT be able to re-drop in some circumstances (without taking a 2nd penalty stroke for the 2nd unplayable lie drop)

2.  Is there a way to protect yourself from having the ball roll back to its original position (and thus taking a one stroke penalty without receiving any benefit)?  i.e. The drop rule says there is no penalty for hitting equipment with the ball during the drop- can you lay your bag down to prevent the ball from rolling back to the original position from which you are seeking relief?

3.  Suppose you feel that your best option from an unplayable situation is to drop 3-4 club lengths laterally from where your ball lies under penalty of two strokes.  Do you have to take 2 separate drops and hope the ball does not roll back towards the unplayable lie or are you allowed to take 4 club lengths (2 shot penalty) and only a single drop?


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

1) Yes

2) No

3) 2 Drops

There is always option 28a (replay the stroke from the previous spot) and 28b (drop on an extended "flag line")


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just started a new thread.  BALL MOVED! Seriously Snedekers's ball move.  Check the tapes.  See new post under rules.  If you thought it moved you are right.  Someone hit that big log and the ball rotated about 1/64th of an inch. Replay verifies.  Now what is the rule?


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

It depends on a) who caused it to move and b) if it was the player, could he have been aware it moved.


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • It's a gauge or a standard used to measure where me game is with a large sampling of rounds. It's not the only method I use and it's not legit because I play so few rounds with others. The one advantage of it is that I don't get worked up about a bad round. So it helps in some small way to keep the game and efforts to improve enjoyable.
    • It has been quite a long time since I opened this thread. Back then I said "my swings seems correct" Well as many people already mentioned it was NOT. I am not topping or hitting the ball fat anymore (or very seldom) now. I changed many things in my swing. But I think here are the 2 important ones 1) Hit DOWN on the ball. I heard this many times before but could not really do it. Once I could do it my problem was solved. Try to work with a lot of lag and place your wirst way before your club during impact. Really overdo it now to get a feel for this. Try a half swing in really hit down on your ball as if you want to smash it into the ground. You won't believe it but the ball really flies this way ;) My swing plane was also way to steep. This maybe something you also could change. 2) Try to keep your posture and don't shift up your body when I you swing way back. I had this problem especially with my driver where the swing is really quite huge. Once your posture is stable your head does not really matter any more. Its automatically fixed as well. Still 1) is the most important point. 
    • had one yesterday, and whilst it hurt, it wasn't as bad as I thought. I will let you know if it works
    • Now, I know how something can work for one day and the next it all goes tits up, however I have now played two rounds and am hitting arrow straight drives. Driving has been the most inconsistent part of the game, as it is for many, so I am going to list what I now do to get the ball going straight. I feel confident that if any high handicapper follows these tips, they will be hitting straight drives MOST of the time. 1) A slow back swing    2) Don't try and hit the ball to hard 3) Hold the club at the base of the grip, unless you are very tall, then make sure you grip the club lower than you ever have done before. 4) Close the face of the club by about half an inch 5) Place the right foot half a foots length behind the left foot (right handed people) 6) Ensure your grip is correct I have watched many videos in frustration, because my slicing has been a big problem, and managed to acquire a combination of tips that are now working. So many pros make the science over complicated, and some make it to easy. The above 5 tips will work, I promise.
    • It's the B all and end all of golf. It's how my improvement and level of golf can be measured. I think people who don't hand their cards in so they can keep a high handicap, and thus win comps are kidding themselves. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. 17hoffmanc
      (18 years old)
    2. jamo
      (24 years old)
  • Blog Entries