IGNORED

Road to college golf

Note: This thread is 3887 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Ok to begin I am a freshman this year and have been on our highschool team since 8th grade. Played in the 9th spot with a 9 hdcp and hope this year to be like number 4 or 5 with a 1-3(we have a huge school with fairly rich kids so golf is pretty big. 4300 students) i really want to play college golf. Ive read alot about people starting too late so i just want to get my head around it early. I wont be very big 5'5" if lucky but get good distance (150 9 iron atleast). Ive played in about 5 local tournaments, won one and could have one 2 more but blew it on last holes(didnt know i had a chance). I was a 7 hdcp at the time but short game has improved DRAMATICALLY and i did a total rework of my swing(videos in other threads) so idk wht i am now but i suspect definantly below a 2.

anyway i was just wondering what biginning steps i should take and also what tournaments i should be playing in I think there is something like ajga maybe or should i build up to that.. I cant drive yet but in like 8 months i hope to get a membership at a local club.

also i expect to have like a 4.2 atleast gpa when i graduate so thats not a real issue and maybe a benefit. My family is fairly wealthy so  a scholarship is not a HUGE deal but i would certainly like some help.

Incase im missing something important please anwer that im a first child and things have changed since the 80s so my parents are learning as well.

I have no doubt i should be averaging par or better by the time i graduate.

any tips advice appresiated thanks in advance

4.2?  Are you taking AP classes or something?