Jump to content
IGNORED

When is a ball officially lost?


wedgehammer40k
Note: This thread is 3850 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Once again it depends on what the shot would have required from the correct spot.  I've see trees which were of minimal effect, and trees which could just as well have been a brick wall.  That is a case where I'd have to see the correct spot and the tree and make the ruling based on what I saw there.  It still isn't an automatic call.

Earlier you wrote:

I even asked about if a player moved his ball out of line with a tree and was told "No, that doesn't qualify unless he moved the ball closer to the hole as well."  I don't know why it is perceived that way, but that's how it is generally ruled.  The 2 stroke penalty covers just about any fault except a significant distance gain.  A significant distance gain is almost always treated as a serious breach.

How does that fit to Tufts' 2nd principle?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Sorry. I simply don't know anything about you.

Sure you do, you've read my earlier posts as I have yours. We both know the Rules to some extent.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

Once again it depends on what the shot would have required from the correct spot.  I've see trees which were of minimal effect, and trees which could just as well have been a brick wall.  That is a case where I'd have to see the correct spot and the tree and make the ruling based on what I saw there.  It still isn't an automatic call.

Earlier you wrote:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

I even asked about if a player moved his ball out of line with a tree and was told "No, that doesn't qualify unless he moved the ball closer to the hole as well."  I don't know why it is perceived that way, but that's how it is generally ruled.  The 2 stroke penalty covers just about any fault except a significant distance gain.  A significant distance gain is almost always treated as a serious breach.

How does that fit to Tufts' 2nd principle?

All I was doing is telling you what I was told by an experienced rules official and instructor.  I didn't try to analyse it.  Unlike you I don't question everything anyone says.  Sometimes  I take them at face value.  Cases which can be classified as a serious breaches tend to be so rare that there really aren't any set in stone guidelines.  I'm sorry that it can't be defined as finely as yo seem to require, but that's just how it is.

You keep trying to twist my words back on me, even after I tell you that there are no fixed rules on this topic, and all you are doing is starting to make me angry.  I don't have the principles in front of me right now, so I am unwilling to make any more statements that you will try and call me out on until I do.  I can't get the book shipped to me here, so I've ordered it and I will hopefully have in in hand again next month when my sister comes to visit.  It's been several years since I actually read the book, so my memory of it is fairly general, not specific.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3850 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • Last year I made an excel that can easily measure with my own SG data the average score for each club of the tee. Even the difference in score if you aim more left or right with the same club. I like it because it can be tweaked to account for different kind of rough, trees, hazards, greens etc.     As an example, On Par 5's that you have fescue on both sides were you can count them as a water hazard (penalty or punch out sideways), unless 3 wood or hybrid lands in a wider area between the fescue you should always hit driver. With a shorter club you are going to hit a couple less balls in the fescue than driver but you are not going to offset the fact that 100% of the shots are going to be played 30 or more yards longer. Here is a 560 par 5. Driver distance 280 yards total, 3 wood 250, hybrid 220. Distance between fescue is 30 yards (pretty tight). Dispersion for Driver is 62 yards. 56 for 3 wood and 49 for hybrid. Aiming of course at the middle of the fairway (20 yards wide) with driver you are going to hit 34% of balls on the fescue (17% left/17% right). 48% to the fairway and the rest to the rough.  The average score is going to be around 5.14. Looking at the result with 3 wood and hybrid you are going to hit less balls in the fescue but because of having longer 2nd shots you are going to score slightly worst. 5.17 and 5.25 respectively.    Things changes when the fescue is taller and you are probably going to loose the ball so changing the penalty of hitting there playing a 3 wood or hybrid gives a better score in the hole.  Off course 30 yards between penalty hazards is way to small. You normally have 60 or more, in that cases the score is going to be more close to 5 and been the Driver the weapon of choice.  The point is to see that no matter how tight the hole is, depending on the hole sometimes Driver is the play and sometimes 6 irons is the play. Is easy to see that on easy holes, but holes like this:  you need to crunch the numbers to find the best strategy.     
    • Very much so. I think the intimidation factor that a lot of people feel playing against someone who's actually very good is significant. I know that Winged Foot pride themselves on the strength of the club. I think they have something like 40-50 players who are plus something. Club championships there are pretty competitive. Can't imagine Oakmont isn't similar. The more I think about this, the more likely it seems that this club is legit. Winning also breeds confidence and I'm sure the other clubs when they play this one are expecting to lose - that can easily become a self-fulfilling prophecy.
    • Ah ok I misunderstood. But you did bring to light an oversight on my part.
    • I was agreeing with you/jumping off from there.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...