• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
GHIN0011458

Marked Ball Falls in Hole after Replacing

5 posts in this topic

I have another one- If you mark your ball a centimeter from the cup, replace it and it falls in the hole, what happens there? I remember in college reading the rule book and coming up with that. I asked my coach about it and he said "that would be a d*ck move" lol but never said it couldn't happen.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

I have another one- If you mark your ball a centimeter from the cup, replace it and it falls in the hole, what happens there? I remember in college reading the rule book and coming up with that. I asked my coach about it and he said "that would be a d*ck move" lol but never said it couldn't happen.


If you addressed it, it's replaced and you receive a penalty stroke.

If you had successfully replaced it, it was at rest with your mark removed, and it moves due to gravity on the slope, or a gust of wind, it's in.....just as if it had fallen with the previous stroke.

Doesn't have to be that close either......it could be from 30 feet away on top of a slope.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

16-2/0.5 Ball Overhanging Hole Is Lifted, Cleaned and Replaced; Ball Then Falls into Hole

Q. After an approach shot, a player's ball is overhanging the hole. The player walks up to the hole without unreasonable delay and notices that there is mud on the ball. The player marks the position of the ball and lifts it. He then cleans the ball and replaces it. The ball remains on the lip of the hole for about five seconds and then, as the player is preparing to tap it into the hole, the ball falls into the hole. What is the ruling?

A. Under Rule 16-2, if a ball falls into the hole after it is deemed to be at rest, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke and he shall add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole. In this case, when the player marked the position of the ball it must have been at rest. The ball must be considered to have been at rest when it was replaced; otherwise, it would have to be replaced again (Rule 20-3d). Accordingly, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke and must add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole.

20-3d/1 Placed Ball Rolls into Hole

Q. A replaces his ball on the putting green three feet from the hole. As he is about to address the ball, it rolls into the hole. Should the ball be replaced or is A deemed to have holed out with his previous stroke?

A. The answer depends on whether the ball, when replaced, came to rest on the spot on which it was placed before it started rolling. If it did, A is deemed to have holed out with his previous stroke. If not, A is required to replace the ball (Rule 20-3d). However, if the ball had been overhanging the hole when it was lifted, the provisions of Rule 16-2 would override those of Rule 20-3d.

If the ball is not considered to be overhanging the hole, then it looks like one is home free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If you addressed it, it's replaced and you receive a penalty stroke.

If you had successfully replaced it, it was at rest with your mark removed, and it moves due to gravity on the slope, or a gust of wind, it's in.....just as if it had fallen with the previous stroke.

Doesn't have to be that close either......it could be from 30 feet away on top of a slope.

You don't need to remove the mark.  Once you replace the ball, if it's at rest-it's in play.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:

Originally Posted by David in FL

If you addressed it, it's replaced and you receive a penalty stroke.

If you had successfully replaced it, it was at rest with your mark removed, and it moves due to gravity on the slope, or a gust of wind, it's in.....just as if it had fallen with the previous stroke.

Doesn't have to be that close either......it could be from 30 feet away on top of a slope.

You don't need to remove the mark.  Once you replace the ball, if it's at rest-it's in play.

Yes.

If the ball was truly lying just a centimeter from the hole then it had to be overhanging.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0