IGNORED

Taylor Made Complete Set for Beginner

Note: This thread is 6897 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I'm a beginner looking to purchase all Taylor Made clubs. I need a set of irons,
3wood, 5wood, and driver. I'm leaning towards the Rac OS2 irons, rescue fairway woods, and either the r5 or r7 driver.

Couple questions from a beginners view:

1.) Do I go steel or graphite?
2.) Do I go flex, stiff, or reg?
3.) On the driver...I was told I should get the R5 (N) driver. But which loft? (8.5, 9.5, 10.5) no clue on this one!

Any suggestions, help, links, would be of much help!
Thanks

I'm a beginner looking to purchase all Taylor Made clubs. I need a set of irons,

That's a "high-end" start if you're a beginner.. but I guess if you can afford it - why not taking advantage of the technology

Since I'm an avid fan here's what I think (it will be bias, no doubt!): 1. RAC OS2 is way to go 2. get steel. You'll find out soon the difference is not worth the extra bucks 3. R S or X ? Can't tell w/o seeing your swing... If you're athletic and in shape - S. More than likely your swingspeed will either be there or get there very soon. 4. I myself would advise to get the r7. Set it neutral at first and see what'll come out. I found it more forgiving than r5. Graphite shaft, 10.5 deg. 5. Fairway woods - I'm not a big fan of rescue's. If you're really so rich, that you don't care how much it costs - get the r5 fwy woods. If you do care - V-Steel is a good alternative. Graphite. Bottom line - difference between graphite and steel , R and S flex - is your swingspeed. Steel is less flexible (less distance) and heavier (slower swing). If you can "upgrade" in the near feature - go graphite and R flex to get the ball flying w/o much effort - will keep you more interested in the game Good luck!