• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Jew2920

help with shaft.

7 posts in this topic

I am looking into putting graphite shafts into a set of adams cmb that I got at a good buy my question is what shafts? I want a low trajectory ball flight. The shafts I am looking at are the aldila rip tour 115, ust prototype 110, or the fujikura pro i95 shafts. I swing my 6 iron around 88-91 and my driver hovers around 100 sometimes more or less. Currently playino c taper shaft s+ I really like these just thinking of tinkering with a second set and trying graphite. Looking for something very similar to c taper.would soft stepping be recommended I have read this a lot.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Welcome to the site @Jew2920 .  Your swing speed is pretty fast for graphite.  I swing my 6 iron about 80 and my fitter thought graphite was too light for me.

That being said, I have tried the Aldila RIP in a driver and it is a nice shaft.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The Aerotech SteelFibers would be worth checking out.  It's technically not a graphite shaft (they are carbon fiber), but it has some of the same benefits and will handle any swing speed.  They tend to play a little stiffer than they are rated, so be aware of that.  In terms of feel and performance they are definitely a good option.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Aldila make a line called the Proto "By You". They are sold as hybrid shafts at 42" blank and are .370. They are mid bend with 1.4 degrees torque in the 90g series. I want to hit them because thats basically the specs on kbs tour.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Aldila make a line called the Proto "By You". They are sold as hybrid shafts at 42" blank and are .370. They are mid bend with 1.4 degrees torque in the 90g series. I want to hit them because thats basically the specs on kbs tour.

I play that shaft in my hybrids, and it's a great shaft, but one thing to keep in mind is that they recommend trimming those shafts from the butt only.  Typically parallel tip iron shafts are tipped in 1/2" increments.

http://www.aldila.com/custom-fitting/trimming/

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know the descending iron weights would change things a lot. I would need a little figuring before I wasted money finding out things that wont work like a tip section that grows in O.D. and wont fit an iron head as a result. Its just easier to buy metal for irons as I really dont have a need for extra lenth or lighter shafts. I am just curious.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I play my c tapers soft stepped, I tried them straight in and they required a lot more loading to feel right. Though I can handle most x flexes in all my clubs, the c tapers play about half a flex stiff compared to dynamic gold. The X100 is about the same for me as the soft stepped C taper. My swing speed is higher than yours though, so there's a half to full flex difference I would imagine.

If you go with the aldila RIP, I play it in 2 of my low lofted hybrids but the iron shaft itself I haven't tried. The X in the Rip alpha hybrid plays similar to my soft stepped X stiff C tapers which are the same as the S+ straight in. Launch and spin were both similar, and control was solid. So I would recommend you soft step your irons and maybe play a tipped S flex if you try the RIP alpha to match that.

Other than that, it might be worth considering adding like 2 hybrids. If graphite would benefit you, then it's likely it will help the long irons the most. I haven't tried any of the graphite iron shafts, but honestly it won't cost nearly as much to try soft stepping first since you will probably only need to buy one shaft. It's not a difficult job to do yourself if you've done any clubmaking and don't want to spend the money. Hope that helps.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • 27/6   Player Unable to Find His Ball Because Another Player Played It Q.A and B hit their tee shots into the same general area. A found a ball and played it. B went forward to look for his ball and could not find it. After a few minutes, B started back to the tee to put another ball into play. On the way, he found A's ball and knew then that A had played his (B's) ball in error. What is the ruling? A.In match play, A lost the hole (Rule 15-3a). In stroke play, A incurred a penalty of two strokes for playing a wrong ball and must then play his own ball (Rule 15-3b). A's ball was not lost even if A and B had been searching for more than five minutes because A had not "begun to search for it (his ball)"; the searching had been for B's ball - see Definition of "Lost Ball." On the other hand, B began to search for his ball as soon as he went forward to look for it. If less than five minutes had elapsed before B found A's ball, B should have placed a ball on the spot from which A had wrongly played his (B's) ball and continued play, without penalty - see last paragraph of Rule 15-3b. However, if five minutes had expired, B's original ball was lost and he was obliged to put another ball into play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1).
    • No offense, but in my opinion this makes you unprepared to discuss it.
    • Every year, something is changed in a club design.  The real differences are minimal, assuming your current clubs are from within the last 10 or so years (just throwing out a random number).

      However, I just got upgraded to the Ping G driver from the Ping G30, and the big change I noticed is the face of the driver has a bit more friction on the G (at least as I understand it).  What it seems to do is reduce side spin, while retaining normal-ish back spin (I use the low-spin tec version).  When I miss-hit a drive with my old driver vs the newer one, I see noticeably less slice or hook with the newer version.
        When I go through those articles, I mostly read through the reviews of them.  It gives a better idea of what might be better.
    • Right, but then you're just getting into however different people value different things (including money, the performance of their golf clubs, the looks of the golf clubs, the value of a name brand, etc.). People have different values. For something like this, there's rarely any agreement on those, nor is there any "right" or "wrong" answers. I use a set of muscle backs that could just as easily be from the 1950s as now. The tech on those isn't really improving much (though the shafts are undoubtedly much better).
    • We went round and round a bit on this last year, but I don't remember seeing decision 15-3b/1 mentioned.  The difference between this decision and 27/6 seems to be that B's ball is found in a timely manner.  The finding of the "other" ball makes it virtually certain that A's ball was moved by an outside agency (Player B).  In the other thread, B's ball is never found.  27/6 allows the same kind of relief as long as the "other" ball is found within the 5-minute search limit.  As I read the rules and decisions, this is a timing issue,  the rules require a decision to be made within 5 minutes of beginning the search for A's ball.  If the "other ball" isn't found, its presumed lost.   In a way this is somewhat similar to another discussion we had, where a player's ball apparently hit a cart path and went much further than anticipated.  He searched and didn't find it at the expected distance, went back and played another tee shot for the lost ball, and eventually found the original much closer to the green.  He couldn't then put the original into play and "negate" the second tee ball, as he'd already searched for 5 minutes. I don't know if the difference in the timing of the discovery is adequate justification for the different outcomes, but that seems to me to be the defining factor.  It would be interesting to get the take of some of the USGA rules experts on this, not on what the rules say, but on why they draw the distinction.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bandstan
      bandstan
      (46 years old)
    2. boobiemiles
      boobiemiles
      (25 years old)
    3. ElsieOlson
      ElsieOlson
      (77 years old)
    4. Matt66
      Matt66
      (26 years old)
  • Blog Entries