• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
wadesworld

Potential penalty (stepping on divot) in women's amateur

Recommended Posts

wadesworld    15

Just curious about a situation that occurred in the USGA women's amateur (match play quaterfinals).

A player played a pitch from in front of an elevated green.  She left the shot well short, and as it started to roll back down the hill towards her, she clearly stepped on the divot she had made.  It looked like the ball rolled right across the spot, so I don't think there was any question it was a 1-2 violation.  The ball continued to roll and ended behind where she hit the original shot.

It ended up not mattering because she lost the hole anyhow.  The rules official consulted by the broadcasters indicated that a referee would have to talk to her.  I don't think he was indicating that there would be any additional penalty since as said, she had already lost the hole.  He was just indicating now that the official was aware, they were required to discuss it.

But anyhow, onto the question.  Let's say her ball had rolled backwards 10-feet to the right of the divot.

1)  Is she still subject to the penalty?

2)  If she plays her next shot with a wedge, it should obviously come nowhere near the affected area of ground.  If she claims her sole purpose was to care for the course, would she be subject to a penalty for altering her line of play, even though it's 10-feet to the right and a wedge is being used?

3)  Lastly, would the penalty be assessed for altering the course on her first pitch where it could roll through it, or her second pitch where it could be in her line of play if she completely duffs the wedge?

My guesses:  1- yes, 2- no, only because the penalty would be assessed after the first shot, 3 - first pitch

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

jamo    703
I seem to remember this happening a few years ago. I want to say it was Camilo Villegas. I'll see if I can find it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

wadesworld    15

I seem to remember this happening a few years ago. I want to say it was Camilo Villegas. I'll see if I can find it.

It was.  They discussed it on their broadcast.  He tamped down the divot with his club, but same effect.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

jamo    703
It was.  They discussed it on their broadcast.  He tamped down the divot with his club, but same effect.

I'd be lying if I said I wasn't mildly impressed by my own memory. :-D I did find a thread we had about it, but it was more about the fact that someone called in point out the violation, not about the violating itself: http://thesandtrap.com/t/43116/should-viewers-be-able-to-call-in-rules-violations/0_30 I'll let the smarter Rules guys answer your questions.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Dormie1360    63

Didn't see it so it's hard to say anything definitive but remember R1-2 is intent based.  There must be an action with the intent (to purposely) influence the movement of the ball in play.

The fact that the ball returned to the repaired spot, in of itself, is not a penalty.  If she saw that the ball might return to that spot, and repaired the divot because of this, then a penalty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

ColinL    32

Decision 1-2/8 should help with this.

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-01/#d1-2-8

As you see the sequence of events is important.   If the player repairs the divot or whatever before knowing that  the ball is going to roll back down the hill there won't be a breach.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • Because when an athlete describes what went wrong in a post round interview, it's always 100% accurate. 1. I do play w/ schmucks (myself included).
      2. One of us chokes pretty consistently (one of the schmuckier schmucks we have), and for 10 years he does fine in our $2 nassaus and but only loses $$ in all our "big" games. Even when he's been playing well that year (index down), we play net, so he still loses, and even he admits he just gets the nerves. I'm glad he can be comforted knowing that mental games is a tiny portion of his overall performance.  Gump says "life is like a box of chocolates". I'm allergic to chocolate so this is just wrong, literally, figuratively and in every way. (That was a whole lot of sarcasm.  My mom would kill me if she saw me posting like this.  I do mean it in the most fun way possible)
    • Dustin Johnson has different physical abilities than Jordan Spieth does, none more evident than the playoff at the Northern Trust. That week, Dustin Johnson, the person with the better physical ability, won, and the reason why he won was because he was physically superior to Spieth with his drive on the playoff hole. No, top pros dont have similar physical abilities.  There is over a 40 yard difference between the shortest driving average (271) and the longest driving average (317) on the PGA tour this year. Pros dont have similar physical abilities.
    • Welcome. I know it seems like summer now, and for a bit more, but it's officially fall, lol. Unfortunately, the munis are gonna be a huge letdown compared to the courses you've mentioned , but if you need any info, just holler. 
    • Welcome! Depending on whether or not you drive and where you live in the city, there are plenty of passable courses in the boroughs. Dyker Beach and Marine Park in Brooklyn ok. Short and fun. Clearview in Queens is alright. Staten Island has a bunch of decent courses, but if you dont drive its hard to get out there. Theres always Bethpage Park in Long Island, but it can be a haul from the city too if you dont drive. 
    • Yeah, like what dzclarkcpa was saying, alot depends on the grass and the setup of the course. So many different variables come into play and it really just takes experience to learn how to play out of the rough. If you know a grass range that has some thicker grass on it, practice some there and see what it does to your ball flight and distances.  But generally, the more of the back of the ball you can see, the better you'll be able to control it. That doesn't always mean you'd able to hit your normal full swing shot, but it could mean you can play it differently with reasonable control. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. CoachB25
      CoachB25
      (60 years old)
    2. Fsgolfer
      Fsgolfer
      (61 years old)
    3. Zach
      Zach
      (27 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon