Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 4140 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Had an interesting situation over the weekend where I didn't know exactly what the correct play would be...

Hitting an approach to a blind 16th green, I pulled my approach shot left of the green and was unable to find my ball. There is a public road that runs to the left of the green and a cart path that runs parallel to the road and not too far off of the green on the hole that I was on. The road is marked on only the side that was nearest the green with white stakes, . When I couldnt find my ball I went back to the fairway and replayed my approach shot from where I had previously hit from like any other lost ball.

Not too far on the otherside of the public road is the 17th tee box. As I approached the tee, my orignal ball from #16 was sitting on the tee box in plain view in play. Obviously once I had put my 2nd ball in play that I couldn't have played my orignal anyways, but assuming I had found it earlier before I played the 2nd ball, could I have played it even though it technically did cross the OB line on #16 and ended up in play on #17? Neither myself nor my playing partner knew for sure. There is no known local rule for this situation as far as I can tell, probably because the odds of this actually happening were very remote...


Posted

A ball on the course is on the course.

It may fly over OB, roll on it etc.

only if the ball is entirely out of the line is it OB.

Look in the club rules however if the OB is for a certain hole. This happens sometime for security reasons etc.


Posted

Had an interesting situation over the weekend where I didn't know exactly what the correct play would be...

Hitting an approach to a blind 16th green, I pulled my approach shot left of the green and was unable to find my ball. There is a public road that runs to the left of the green and a cart path that runs parallel to the road and not too far off of the green on the hole that I was on. The road is marked on only the side that was nearest the green with white stakes, . When I couldnt find my ball I went back to the fairway and replayed my approach shot from where I had previously hit from like any other lost ball.

Not too far on the otherside of the public road is the 17th tee box. As I approached the tee, my orignal ball from #16 was sitting on the tee box in plain view in play. Obviously once I had put my 2nd ball in play that I couldn't have played my orignal anyways, but assuming I had found it earlier before I played the 2nd ball, could I have played it even though it technically did cross the OB line on #16 and ended up in play on #17? Neither myself nor my playing partner knew for sure. There is no known local rule for this situation as far as I can tell, probably because the odds of this actually happening were very remote...

Good question.  My brothers club has this possibility as well.  Look at the first picture on this thread: http://thesandtrap.com/t/74900/how-would-you-play-it-9th-at-belmont-cc-fresno-ca/0_30#post_997091

Near the top of the picture just below "E Sanders Ct" is the 9th green complex, and just above that street is the 6th tee then 7th green.  The road has OB stakes on both sides.  I am of the opinion that what @bubble said would be correct.  If the ball came to rest on the road, its out, but if you got across it, then you're in.  However, my brother tells me that there is a notation on the card that states that anything beyond the near side of the road (while playing either hole) should be considered OB.

I'm fine with that but I don't think it's correct.  Here's why:  There is no OB between the 9th tee and 8th green, 8th tee and 7th green and 7th tee and 6th green.  That means that, technically , it is possible to get to that same spot without ever crossing a series of OB stakes.  Nor is it against the rules for a ball to ever go OB, so long as it doesn't end up OB (if I yank one into the street and it bounces off the curb back into the fairway, lucky me!).

So there is a lack of continuity there.  That particular spot on the course is both OB and not OB from the same place while playing the same hole depending on how it arrived.  Doesn't make sense.

But, like I said, it's hard to do anyways, so it's not a big deal to me.  Just odd. :)

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

My home course has on course OB, and it drives me nuts. The first hole is an uphill par 3 with the 9th green to the right, about even with the 1st green. To the right of the 1st hole is a house owned by the course, and it's property is correctly marked OB. However, the last 50-60 yards is well beyond the house and it's property, and is an area that can come into play on the 9th if you miss your approach way to the right. There are white OB stakes along the 1st hole, however. So this is an grassy, mowed area that is playable on 9, but OB on 1. That makes zero sense to me.  And since the stakes are only 10-15 yards form the green, people hit it over there fairly often, and, in my opinion, are unfairly penalized. It would be an very easy pitch from there to the green if it weren't OB.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Good question.  My brothers club has this possibility as well.  Look at the first picture on this thread: http://thesandtrap.com/t/74900/how-would-you-play-it-9th-at-belmont-cc-fresno-ca/0_30#post_997091

Near the top of the picture just below "E Sanders Ct" is the 9th green complex, and just above that street is the 6th tee then 7th green.  The road has OB stakes on both sides.  I am of the opinion that what @bubble said would be correct.  If the ball came to rest on the road, its out, but if you got across it, then you're in.  However, my brother tells me that there is a notation on the card that states that anything beyond the near side of the road (while playing either hole) should be considered OB.

I'm fine with that but I don't think it's correct.  Here's why:  There is no OB between the 9th tee and 8th green, 8th tee and 7th green and 7th tee and 6th green.  That means that, technically, it is possible to get to that same spot without ever crossing a series of OB stakes.  Nor is it against the rules for a ball to ever go OB, so long as it doesn't end up OB (if I yank one into the street and it bounces off the curb back into the fairway, lucky me!).

So there is a lack of continuity there.  That particular spot on the course is both OB and not OB from the same place while playing the same hole depending on how it arrived.  Doesn't make sense.

But, like I said, it's hard to do anyways, so it's not a big deal to me.  Just odd. :)

It is similar to this situation, the only difference being that I can see is that the road is not marked on both sides in my situation and there is no way to get to the 17th tee (walking or riding) without crossing the road. It's probably not marked on the 17th side because you'd have to hit  straight backwards from the tee on 17 to get it back to the road, so that's why it was likely not marked with stakes or even mentioned on the scorecard. Not sure if that makes a difference or not. It was a crazy enough bounce that I never would have looked over there.


Posted

Without a local rule, that ball was in bounds.

However, when I wrote our local rules I added a statement that said if a ball crosses the road and ends up on the other side, it is out of bounds.

That's pretty typical.


Posted

I say that if Phil can play from the hospitality suite, then you can play from the next tee box; I can't find a specific rule or interpretation that makes this cross reference.

Players play, tough players win!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Without a local rule, that ball was in bounds.

However, when I wrote our local rules I added a statement that said if a ball crosses the road and ends up on the other side, it is out of bounds.

That's pretty typical.


And permitted by the Rules of golf, see Decision 27/20.  Note that the Decision clearly states that without such a local Rule, the ball is in bounds.


Note: This thread is 4140 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Posts

    • Day 1: 2025.12.26 Worked on LH position on grip, trying to keep fingers closer to perpendicular to the club. Feels awkward but change is meant to.
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • Please see this topic for updated information:
    • When you've been teaching golf as long as I have, you're going to find that you can teach some things better than you previously had, and you're probably going to find some things that you taught incorrectly. I don't see that as a bad thing — what would be worse is refusing to adapt and grow given new information. I've always said that my goal with my instruction isn't to be right, but it's to get things right. To that end, I'm about five years late in issuing a public proclamation on something… When I first got my GEARS system, I immediately looked at the golf swings of the dozens and dozens of Tour players for which I suddenly had full 3D data. I created a huge spreadsheet showing how their bodies moved, how the club moved, at various points in the swing. I mapped knee and elbow angles, hand speeds, shoulder turns and pelvis turns… etc. I re-considered what I thought I knew about the golf swing as performed by the best players. One of those things dated back to the earliest days: that you extend (I never taught "straighten" and would avoid using that word unless in the context of saying "don't fully straighten") the trail knee/leg in the backswing. I was mislead by 2D photos from less-than-ideal camera angles — the trail leg rotates a bit during the backswing, and so when observing trail knee flex should also use a camera that moves to stay perpendicular to the plane of the ankle/knee/hip joint. We have at least two topics here on this (here and here; both of which I'll be updating after publishing this) where @mvmac and I advise golfers to extend the trail knee. Learning that this was not right is one of the reasons I'm glad to have a 3D system, as most golfers generally preserve the trail knee flex throughout the backswing. Data Here's a video showing an iron and a driver of someone who has won the career slam: Here's what the graph of his right knee flex looks like. The solid lines I've positioned at the top of the backswing (GEARS aligns both swings at impact, the dashed line). Address is to the right, of course, and the graph shows knee flex from the two swings above. The data (17.56° and 23.20°) shows where this player is in both swings (orange being the yellow iron swing, pink the blue driver swing). You can see that this golfer extends his trail knee 2-3°… before bending it even more than that through the late backswing and early downswing. Months ago I created a quick Instagram video showing the trail knee flex in the backswing of several players (see the top for the larger number): Erik J. Barzeski (@iacas) • Instagram reel GEARS shares expert advice on golf swing technique, focusing on the critical backswing phase. Tour winners and major champions reveal the key to a precise and powerful swing, highlighting the importance of... Here are a few more graphs. Two LIV players and major champions: Two PGA Tour winners: Two women's #1 ranked players: Two more PGA Tour winners (one a major champ): Two former #1s, the left one being a woman, the right a man, with a driver: Two more PGA Tour players: You'll notice a trend: they almost all maintain roughly the same flex throughout their backswing and downswing. The Issues with Extending the Trail Knee You can play good golf extending (again, not "straightening") the trail knee. Some Tour players do. But, as with many things, if 95 out of 100 Tour players do it, you're most likely better off doing similarly to what they do. So, what are the issues with extending the trail knee in the backswing? To list a few: Pelvic Depth and Rotation Quality Suffers When the trail knee extends, the trail leg often acts like an axle on the backswing, with the pelvis rotating around the leg and the trail hip joint. This prevents the trail side from gaining depth, as is needed to keep the pelvis center from thrusting toward the ball. Most of the "early extension" (thrust) that I see occurs during the backswing. Encourages Early Extension (Thrust) Patterns When you've thrust and turned around the trail hip joint in the backswing, you often thrust a bit more in the downswing as the direction your pelvis is oriented is forward and "out" (to the right for a righty). Your trail leg can abduct to push you forward, but "forward" when your pelvis is turned like that is in the "thrust" direction. Additionally, the trail knee "breaking" again at the start of the downswing often jumps the trail hip out toward the ball a bit too much or too quickly. While the trail hip does move in that direction, if it's too fast or too much, it can prevent the lead side hip from getting "back" at the right rate, or at a rate commensurate with the trail hip to keep the pelvis center from thrusting. Disrupts the Pressure Shift/Transition When the trail leg extends too much, it often can't "push" forward normally. The forward push begins much earlier than forward motion begins — pushing forward begins as early as about P1.5 to P2 in the swings of most good golfers. It can push forward by abducting, again, but that's a weaker movement that shoves the pelvis forward (toward the target) and turns it more than it generally should (see the next point). Limits Internal Rotation of the Trail Hip Internal rotation of the trail hip is a sort of "limiter" on the backswing. I have seen many golfers on GEARS whose trail knee extends, whose pelvis shifts forward (toward the target), and who turn over 50°, 60°, and rarely but not never, over 70° in the backswing. If you turn 60° in the backswing, it's going to be almost impossible to get "open enough" in the downswing to arrive at a good impact position. Swaying/Lateral Motion Occasionally a golfer who extends the trail knee too much will shift back too far, but more often the issue is that the golfer will shift forward too early in the backswing (sometimes even immediately to begin the backswing), leaving them "stuck forward" to begin the downswing. They'll push forward, stop, and have to restart around P4, disrupting the smooth sequence often seen in the game's best players. Other Bits… Reduces ground reaction force potential, compromises spine inclination and posture, makes transition sequencing harder, increases stress on the trail knee and lower back… In short… It's not athletic. We don't do many athletic things with "straight" or very extended legs (unless it's the end of the action, like a jump or a big push off like a step in a running motion).
    • Day 135 12-25 Wide backswing to wide downswing drill. Recorder and used mirror. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.