Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
lyeager1981

OB within the course

8 posts in this topic

Had an interesting situation over the weekend where I didn't know exactly what the correct play would be...

Hitting an approach to a blind 16th green, I pulled my approach shot left of the green and was unable to find my ball. There is a public road that runs to the left of the green and a cart path that runs parallel to the road and not too far off of the green on the hole that I was on. The road is marked on only the side that was nearest the green with white stakes, . When I couldnt find my ball I went back to the fairway and replayed my approach shot from where I had previously hit from like any other lost ball.

Not too far on the otherside of the public road is the 17th tee box. As I approached the tee, my orignal ball from #16 was sitting on the tee box in plain view in play. Obviously once I had put my 2nd ball in play that I couldn't have played my orignal anyways, but assuming I had found it earlier before I played the 2nd ball, could I have played it even though it technically did cross the OB line on #16 and ended up in play on #17? Neither myself nor my playing partner knew for sure. There is no known local rule for this situation as far as I can tell, probably because the odds of this actually happening were very remote...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

A ball on the course is on the course.

It may fly over OB, roll on it etc.

only if the ball is entirely out of the line is it OB.

Look in the club rules however if the OB is for a certain hole. This happens sometime for security reasons etc.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Had an interesting situation over the weekend where I didn't know exactly what the correct play would be...

Hitting an approach to a blind 16th green, I pulled my approach shot left of the green and was unable to find my ball. There is a public road that runs to the left of the green and a cart path that runs parallel to the road and not too far off of the green on the hole that I was on. The road is marked on only the side that was nearest the green with white stakes, . When I couldnt find my ball I went back to the fairway and replayed my approach shot from where I had previously hit from like any other lost ball.

Not too far on the otherside of the public road is the 17th tee box. As I approached the tee, my orignal ball from #16 was sitting on the tee box in plain view in play. Obviously once I had put my 2nd ball in play that I couldn't have played my orignal anyways, but assuming I had found it earlier before I played the 2nd ball, could I have played it even though it technically did cross the OB line on #16 and ended up in play on #17? Neither myself nor my playing partner knew for sure. There is no known local rule for this situation as far as I can tell, probably because the odds of this actually happening were very remote...

Good question.  My brothers club has this possibility as well.  Look at the first picture on this thread: http://thesandtrap.com/t/74900/how-would-you-play-it-9th-at-belmont-cc-fresno-ca/0_30#post_997091

Near the top of the picture just below "E Sanders Ct" is the 9th green complex, and just above that street is the 6th tee then 7th green.  The road has OB stakes on both sides.  I am of the opinion that what @bubble said would be correct.  If the ball came to rest on the road, its out, but if you got across it, then you're in.  However, my brother tells me that there is a notation on the card that states that anything beyond the near side of the road (while playing either hole) should be considered OB.

I'm fine with that but I don't think it's correct.  Here's why:  There is no OB between the 9th tee and 8th green, 8th tee and 7th green and 7th tee and 6th green.  That means that, technically , it is possible to get to that same spot without ever crossing a series of OB stakes.  Nor is it against the rules for a ball to ever go OB, so long as it doesn't end up OB (if I yank one into the street and it bounces off the curb back into the fairway, lucky me!).

So there is a lack of continuity there.  That particular spot on the course is both OB and not OB from the same place while playing the same hole depending on how it arrived.  Doesn't make sense.

But, like I said, it's hard to do anyways, so it's not a big deal to me.  Just odd. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

My home course has on course OB, and it drives me nuts. The first hole is an uphill par 3 with the 9th green to the right, about even with the 1st green. To the right of the 1st hole is a house owned by the course, and it's property is correctly marked OB. However, the last 50-60 yards is well beyond the house and it's property, and is an area that can come into play on the 9th if you miss your approach way to the right. There are white OB stakes along the 1st hole, however. So this is an grassy, mowed area that is playable on 9, but OB on 1. That makes zero sense to me.  And since the stakes are only 10-15 yards form the green, people hit it over there fairly often, and, in my opinion, are unfairly penalized. It would be an very easy pitch from there to the green if it weren't OB.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good question.  My brothers club has this possibility as well.  Look at the first picture on this thread: http://thesandtrap.com/t/74900/how-would-you-play-it-9th-at-belmont-cc-fresno-ca/0_30#post_997091

Near the top of the picture just below "E Sanders Ct" is the 9th green complex, and just above that street is the 6th tee then 7th green.  The road has OB stakes on both sides.  I am of the opinion that what @bubble said would be correct.  If the ball came to rest on the road, its out, but if you got across it, then you're in.  However, my brother tells me that there is a notation on the card that states that anything beyond the near side of the road (while playing either hole) should be considered OB.

I'm fine with that but I don't think it's correct.  Here's why:  There is no OB between the 9th tee and 8th green, 8th tee and 7th green and 7th tee and 6th green.  That means that, technically, it is possible to get to that same spot without ever crossing a series of OB stakes.  Nor is it against the rules for a ball to ever go OB, so long as it doesn't end up OB (if I yank one into the street and it bounces off the curb back into the fairway, lucky me!).

So there is a lack of continuity there.  That particular spot on the course is both OB and not OB from the same place while playing the same hole depending on how it arrived.  Doesn't make sense.

But, like I said, it's hard to do anyways, so it's not a big deal to me.  Just odd. :)

It is similar to this situation, the only difference being that I can see is that the road is not marked on both sides in my situation and there is no way to get to the 17th tee (walking or riding) without crossing the road. It's probably not marked on the 17th side because you'd have to hit  straight backwards from the tee on 17 to get it back to the road, so that's why it was likely not marked with stakes or even mentioned on the scorecard. Not sure if that makes a difference or not. It was a crazy enough bounce that I never would have looked over there.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Without a local rule, that ball was in bounds.

However, when I wrote our local rules I added a statement that said if a ball crosses the road and ends up on the other side, it is out of bounds.

That's pretty typical.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I say that if Phil can play from the hospitality suite, then you can play from the next tee box; I can't find a specific rule or interpretation that makes this cross reference.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Without a local rule, that ball was in bounds.

However, when I wrote our local rules I added a statement that said if a ball crosses the road and ends up on the other side, it is out of bounds.

That's pretty typical.


And permitted by the Rules of golf, see Decision 27/20.  Note that the Decision clearly states that without such a local Rule, the ball is in bounds.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • The course with my absolute favorite greens is Eaton Country Club which, despite the name, is far cheaper golf than most courses. A membership is something around $100 a month with no initiation fee or food requirement if I remember correctly. Play golf once a week and you're paying only $25 a round with cart for 18 holes, which is a far better deal than any other course in the area (the 9 hole course I work at is the cheapest in my city at $25 for 9 holes with cart). The greens at this course stimp between 11 and 12 on a daily basis and are the smoothest that I've ever set foot on. Their maintenance crew is fantastic about fixing every little imperfection in the greens. They go over them with a fine-toothed comb every evening to fix anything on the green.  I know there must be some kind of limit to how much play a green like this could sustain, but the course has looked this way every time I've played it (including weekends, weekdays, and such). It's not an enormously busy golf course though, and I don't think it would work on the courses that regularly see 200 or more golfers. I would be willing to bet good money though that, given equal traffic, good maintenance will definitely produce a much higher quality putting surface. The course I used to work for had two people assigned to fix ball marks on the course once a week, both of which had issues with their backs that made bending over for any extended period of time uncomfortable. The greens at that course clearly showed it, with unfixed or only partially fixed ball marks marring every putting surface. The course I currently work at has a maintenance crew that fixes marks whenever they're out to water as well as marshalls that are assigned a couple of holes to maintain during their shifts and I notice that the greens here have many fewer ball marks across the greens. The maintenance crew is also diligent when it comes to regularly verticutting, needle-tining, etc. all of the greens to ensure that they're in top shape. They water the greens up to four times a day depending on the weather conditions as compared to the old course only watering in the evenings and sometimes mornings to save money. As a result the greens at my current course are much more lush and smooth than those at the course I used to work and play at, and I know the difference is the care and attention to the maintenance of the greens (they have similar player traffic).
    • To clarify, I have a push cart. I don't have an umbrella, yet. That probably would have done loads of good keeping the sun from beating down on me. I've got one picked out, but just haven't pulled the trigger yet.  Shooting an 86 was a "decent" to "good" round for me. I felt like I played well. My ball striking was above average today. I had 7 GIR and 7 nGIR. I had 37 putts today, which was my score killer. Oddly enough, most of my 3 putts were on my GIRs! I say this because in the super heat I would think that ball striking would be the first to go, but it didn't for me. Putting was mainly because I'm still working on breaking old habits I had with my old putter and moving to my new putter. Lines were always spot on but I would go back to "popping" the ball like I did with my old putter and would lose it way past the hole.  Definitely need to pick up that umbrella. I imagine that would help a ton. I'm 28 years old and in pretty darn good health/shape and I would have probably died had I actually carried my bag today... lol. Even my lighter "carry" bag.
    • For irons, last year at a Titleist fitting they said I should get the AP1's with the XP 90 gram shaft with a +1/2.  This year I did another free open fitting and they said they wouldn't need to adjust the shaft but I don't remember what shaft they recommended.  Just got fit for a driver last Thursday but i don't think that helps. Scheduled a fitting for Saturday afternoon but who knows if the clubs will still be available then. 
    • I would say nicer golf courses tend to have better greens because of the money it takes to maintain them.  I would say that greens that can routinely hold up to being cut short probably have a healthier denser grass with stronger root systems that allow it to resist damage from pitch marks. I've played on course in Dayton where a pitch mark will just tear up the green versus another course where it just leaves a slight indentation. 
    • Give that man an icy cold beer, stat! I'm relatively young, and I'd take the cart for the breeze between shots and holes as well as the portable shade. What's the point in suffering unless you are practicing for competition in similar conditions? For anyone, I think the physical metabolic toll of moving all that water through to stay cool would tend to lower scores. But you do get longer drives than typical playing conditions, and you may feel extra limber. Older folks face potential heat stroke risk, because they aren't as efficient with heat regulation as a healthy adult. If you are healthy and that's your only day free to play, why not.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. chriswuk
      chriswuk
      (25 years old)
    2. Gero
      Gero
      (73 years old)
    3. SUPGolfer
      SUPGolfer
      (46 years old)
  • Blog Entries