• Announcements

    • iacas

      Introducing TST "Clubs!"   08/28/2017

      No, we're not getting into the equipment business, but we do have "clubs" here on TST now. Groups. Check them out here:
Sign in to follow this  
lyeager1981

OB within the course

Recommended Posts

Had an interesting situation over the weekend where I didn't know exactly what the correct play would be...

Hitting an approach to a blind 16th green, I pulled my approach shot left of the green and was unable to find my ball. There is a public road that runs to the left of the green and a cart path that runs parallel to the road and not too far off of the green on the hole that I was on. The road is marked on only the side that was nearest the green with white stakes, . When I couldnt find my ball I went back to the fairway and replayed my approach shot from where I had previously hit from like any other lost ball.

Not too far on the otherside of the public road is the 17th tee box. As I approached the tee, my orignal ball from #16 was sitting on the tee box in plain view in play. Obviously once I had put my 2nd ball in play that I couldn't have played my orignal anyways, but assuming I had found it earlier before I played the 2nd ball, could I have played it even though it technically did cross the OB line on #16 and ended up in play on #17? Neither myself nor my playing partner knew for sure. There is no known local rule for this situation as far as I can tell, probably because the odds of this actually happening were very remote...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

A ball on the course is on the course.

It may fly over OB, roll on it etc.

only if the ball is entirely out of the line is it OB.

Look in the club rules however if the OB is for a certain hole. This happens sometime for security reasons etc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Had an interesting situation over the weekend where I didn't know exactly what the correct play would be...

Hitting an approach to a blind 16th green, I pulled my approach shot left of the green and was unable to find my ball. There is a public road that runs to the left of the green and a cart path that runs parallel to the road and not too far off of the green on the hole that I was on. The road is marked on only the side that was nearest the green with white stakes, . When I couldnt find my ball I went back to the fairway and replayed my approach shot from where I had previously hit from like any other lost ball.

Not too far on the otherside of the public road is the 17th tee box. As I approached the tee, my orignal ball from #16 was sitting on the tee box in plain view in play. Obviously once I had put my 2nd ball in play that I couldn't have played my orignal anyways, but assuming I had found it earlier before I played the 2nd ball, could I have played it even though it technically did cross the OB line on #16 and ended up in play on #17? Neither myself nor my playing partner knew for sure. There is no known local rule for this situation as far as I can tell, probably because the odds of this actually happening were very remote...

Good question.  My brothers club has this possibility as well.  Look at the first picture on this thread: http://thesandtrap.com/t/74900/how-would-you-play-it-9th-at-belmont-cc-fresno-ca/0_30#post_997091

Near the top of the picture just below "E Sanders Ct" is the 9th green complex, and just above that street is the 6th tee then 7th green.  The road has OB stakes on both sides.  I am of the opinion that what @bubble said would be correct.  If the ball came to rest on the road, its out, but if you got across it, then you're in.  However, my brother tells me that there is a notation on the card that states that anything beyond the near side of the road (while playing either hole) should be considered OB.

I'm fine with that but I don't think it's correct.  Here's why:  There is no OB between the 9th tee and 8th green, 8th tee and 7th green and 7th tee and 6th green.  That means that, technically , it is possible to get to that same spot without ever crossing a series of OB stakes.  Nor is it against the rules for a ball to ever go OB, so long as it doesn't end up OB (if I yank one into the street and it bounces off the curb back into the fairway, lucky me!).

So there is a lack of continuity there.  That particular spot on the course is both OB and not OB from the same place while playing the same hole depending on how it arrived.  Doesn't make sense.

But, like I said, it's hard to do anyways, so it's not a big deal to me.  Just odd. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

My home course has on course OB, and it drives me nuts. The first hole is an uphill par 3 with the 9th green to the right, about even with the 1st green. To the right of the 1st hole is a house owned by the course, and it's property is correctly marked OB. However, the last 50-60 yards is well beyond the house and it's property, and is an area that can come into play on the 9th if you miss your approach way to the right. There are white OB stakes along the 1st hole, however. So this is an grassy, mowed area that is playable on 9, but OB on 1. That makes zero sense to me.  And since the stakes are only 10-15 yards form the green, people hit it over there fairly often, and, in my opinion, are unfairly penalized. It would be an very easy pitch from there to the green if it weren't OB.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good question.  My brothers club has this possibility as well.  Look at the first picture on this thread: http://thesandtrap.com/t/74900/how-would-you-play-it-9th-at-belmont-cc-fresno-ca/0_30#post_997091

Near the top of the picture just below "E Sanders Ct" is the 9th green complex, and just above that street is the 6th tee then 7th green.  The road has OB stakes on both sides.  I am of the opinion that what @bubble said would be correct.  If the ball came to rest on the road, its out, but if you got across it, then you're in.  However, my brother tells me that there is a notation on the card that states that anything beyond the near side of the road (while playing either hole) should be considered OB.

I'm fine with that but I don't think it's correct.  Here's why:  There is no OB between the 9th tee and 8th green, 8th tee and 7th green and 7th tee and 6th green.  That means that, technically, it is possible to get to that same spot without ever crossing a series of OB stakes.  Nor is it against the rules for a ball to ever go OB, so long as it doesn't end up OB (if I yank one into the street and it bounces off the curb back into the fairway, lucky me!).

So there is a lack of continuity there.  That particular spot on the course is both OB and not OB from the same place while playing the same hole depending on how it arrived.  Doesn't make sense.

But, like I said, it's hard to do anyways, so it's not a big deal to me.  Just odd. :)

It is similar to this situation, the only difference being that I can see is that the road is not marked on both sides in my situation and there is no way to get to the 17th tee (walking or riding) without crossing the road. It's probably not marked on the 17th side because you'd have to hit  straight backwards from the tee on 17 to get it back to the road, so that's why it was likely not marked with stakes or even mentioned on the scorecard. Not sure if that makes a difference or not. It was a crazy enough bounce that I never would have looked over there.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Without a local rule, that ball was in bounds.

However, when I wrote our local rules I added a statement that said if a ball crosses the road and ends up on the other side, it is out of bounds.

That's pretty typical.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I say that if Phil can play from the hospitality suite, then you can play from the next tee box; I can't find a specific rule or interpretation that makes this cross reference.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Without a local rule, that ball was in bounds.

However, when I wrote our local rules I added a statement that said if a ball crosses the road and ends up on the other side, it is out of bounds.

That's pretty typical.


And permitted by the Rules of golf, see Decision 27/20.  Note that the Decision clearly states that without such a local Rule, the ball is in bounds.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • I started playing 3-4 months ago, having never been on a course of touched a golf club. I am really loving the game, but frustrated with my progress. On my little 9-hole course (2100 yards) I have gone from 82 to 63, but on my proper 9-hole (3200 yds) I am stuck at 75-80. I play 3 times a week (except some breaks when I travel for work), and take lessons. I can’t practice much more as the range seems to be contributing to various injuries. My technique is definitely improving, having more control around the green and at double/triple bogey on par 3s. My main issue seems to be getting to the green on par 4 and 5 where I often spend 6-7 strokes just getting there. My tee shots are inconsistent and max 120 yds, and even though I rarely shoot OB I often just shoot 50 yds ahead.  Looking at this forum, most people seem to struggle with the 100 to 120, so it is really discouraging to be at 160 (I count everything!). Did anyone start so badly, and was there a point in which things started coming together? Please share! At this point I still enjoy myself, but it’s starting to be demotivating. 
    • Brilliant info, I hadn't thought of that... Ha ha I'm afraid it does get very windy and wet here in Winter and I found that the hybrids were launching a little high and just wanted an iron that would keep it down a bit. I figured that the 24* driving iron with the bit of extra cavity/help in the back would be a solid option and then go from 5-PW with my set.   I think the shims work well ( from what I googled ) once the prep work is done correctly on the adapter and all parts are sanded to help better contact for the epoxy so should be good to go. Thank you @WUTiger appreciate the info
    • Not for me. If i duff my last few balls its just a case of "well they didnt go as planned, not a problem". I didnt used to be like that. I'd bring old balls with me so i could finish on a good shot but i feel, for me, doing that doesnt benefit me. Its a personnal kind of thing. If i've had a really good session then a few bad shots isnt the end of the world. I generally finish with pitches so there is less chance of finishing with a duff but if i do then its no biggie. Best to make the mistakes  in dress rehersal than on the night. I do agree with not going to bed angry though, never good.
    • 20" and 80" measuring devices will be on the market shortly.
    • That is not evidence of a conspiracy.  You can suspect collusion if you want, but there is absolutely no proof that anyone conspired to anything.  What little evidence that suspicion provides is completely circumstantial, and you can't provide a motive for such a conspiracy.   You may be right that there is a tacit conspiracy, but that would be very hard to prove to the point of meting out any punishment.  Suspicion and supposition certainly wouldn't convict anyone in a court of law, and I feel that you have to hold it to at least that high a standard. 
  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Covert
      Covert
      (74 years old)
    2. opie
      opie
      (40 years old)
    3. Robert Diddings
      Robert Diddings
      (33 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon