Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 4111 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

Since not everyone has the rules of golf bookmarked, here's 13-4a (edited to only include the relevant parts):

13-4. Ball In Hazard; Prohibited Actions

..., before making a stroke at a ball that is in a hazard ...the player must not:

a. Test the condition of the hazard or any similar hazard;


the testing condition of hazard is an interesting thing.

If you stand back from the ball and take a practice swing (without grounding the club) and then move closer to the ball and play your shot then would the practice swing have been testing the condition?

How do you walk into a water hazard without testing the condition?

:powerblt: Air force one complete set

:powerblt: TPS Putter

:oakley: Shirts

:footjoy: shoes


Posted

If you stand back from the ball and take a practice swing (without grounding the club) and then move closer to the ball and play your shot then would the practice swing have been testing the condition?

How do you walk into a water hazard without testing the condition?

3-4/0.5

Meaning of "Test the Condition of the Hazard" in Rule 13-4a

Q. What is meant by "test the condition of the hazard" in Rule 13-4a ?

A. The term covers all actions by which the player could gain more informa­tion about the hazard than could be gained from taking his stance for the stroke to be made, bearing in mind that a certain amount of digging in with the feet in the sand or soil is permitted when taking the stance for a stroke.

Examples of actions that would not constitute testing the condition of the hazard include the following:

  • digging in with the feet for a stance, including for a practice swing, anywhere in the hazard or in a similar hazard;
  • placing an object, such as clubs or a rake, in the hazard;
  • leaning on an object (other than a club) such as a rake while it is touching the ground in the hazard or water in a water hazard;
  • touching the hazard with an object (other than a club) such as a towel (touching with a club would be a breach of Rule 13-4b ); or
  • marking the position of the ball with a tee or otherwise when proceeding under a Rule.

Examples of actions that would constitute testing the condition of the hazard in breach of Rule 13-4a include the following:

  • digging in with the feet in excess of what would be done for a stance for a stroke or a practice swing;
  • filling in footprints from a previous stance (e.g., when changing stance to make a different type of stroke);
  • intentionally sticking an object, such as a rake, into sand or soil in the hazard or water in a water hazard (but see Rule 12-1 );
  • smoothing a bunker with a rake, a club or otherwise (but see Exception 2 to Rule 13-4 );
  • kicking the ground in the hazard or water in a water hazard; or
  • touching the sand with a club when making a practice swing in the hazard or in a similar hazard (but see Exception 3 to Rule 13-4 ).
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 4111 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.