• Announcements

    • iacas

      GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Contest   09/22/2016

      Join our GAME GOLF Ryder Cup Challenge to win an autographed GAME GOLF, a Pebble Steel watch, and many more great prizes!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Patch

DQ'd For Using Two Caddies.

20 posts in this topic

Some years back, a PGA player was DQ'd for using two caddies. The scenario went something (not sure) like this. The player and his caddy had a friend walking with them. I think the caddy was the golfer's son, and friend was the son's friend. At some point the golfer passed the club to the friend, who passed it to the caddy, hence the player used two caddies and was DQ'd. Not sure if a wrong score card attributed to the DQ.

Here's my question. Scenario; during a swing, the golfer loses his grip, and the club flies off the fairway into the gallery. If someone other than the golfer, or his caddy picks up the club, and hands it to the player, who then hands it to his caddy is that the same as using two caddies?

Just curios. :whistle:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Some years back, a PGA player was DQ'd for using two caddies. The scenario went something (not sure) like this. The player and his caddy had a friend walking with them. I think the caddy was the golfer's son, and friend was the son's friend. At some point the golfer passed the club to the friend, who passed it to the caddy, hence the player used two caddies and was DQ'd. Not sure if a wrong score card attributed to the DQ.

Here's my question. Scenario; during a swing, the golfer loses his grip, and the club flies off the fairway into the gallery. If someone other than the golfer, or his caddy picks up the club, and hands it to the player, who then hands it to his caddy is that the same as using two caddies?

Just curios.


No, not the same circumstances.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Probably like the rules about your club touching sand in a bunker or hitting part of a hazard. If it's accidental, no penalty. John Daly dropped his club in a bunker and wasn't penalized because he dropped it. Wasn't trying to test the sand. Having someone walking with you is a bit over the line to begin with
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Probably like the rules about your club touching sand in a bunker or hitting part of a hazard. If it's accidental, no penalty. John Daly dropped his club in a bunker and wasn't penalized because he dropped it. Wasn't trying to test the sand.

Having someone walking with you is a bit over the line to begin with

Think again! Dropping a club is not the same thing as, say, touching the ground of a hazard with your backswing which, accidental or not, is penalised.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Think again! Dropping a club is not the same thing as, say, touching the ground of a hazard with your backswing which, accidental or not, is penalised.

Correct. That's what I said. If you accidentally drop your club, it's fine. If you use your club to ground the club in a hazard, change anything on the ground or the sand, it's a penalty.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Correct. That's what I said. If you accidentally drop your club, it's fine. If you use your club to ground the club in a hazard, change anything on the ground or the sand, it's a penalty.

Accidentally grounding your club in the hazard is still a penalty.....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Correct. That's what I said. If you accidentally drop your club, it's fine. If you use your club to ground the club in a hazard, change anything on the ground or the sand, it's a penalty.

Touching the ground with a club while the club is in your hand is grounding.  If you toss it in the hazard, that's not grounding as long as it's not in your hand when it touches the ground.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Correct. That's what I said. If you accidentally drop your club, it's fine. If you use your club to ground the club in a hazard, change anything on the ground or the sand, it's a penalty.

Yes, thanks. I know I was correct. ;-)

But the sentence I highlighted in your posting did not say what you maybe thought it said and was incorrect.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well if the guy was walking with them and he took the club out off the bag, you could say he gave the advice to play that club.

If he loses his grip and the club flies in the crowd he basically made the club selection already.

think you should see it in this way

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Super, thanks all. My point was about intent. Dropping a club in a bunker accidentally is not intending to test the sand, and brushing growing grass in a hazard is not intent on a backswing to cheat. For the penalty assessed in the first post, a friend is with the player and the caddy. I think that is wrong to begin with, but there is deliberate intent by handing your club to someone else and perform a caddy's duties. Flinging a club and someone else picks it up has no such intent.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

. Dropping a club in a bunker accidentally is not intending to test the sand, and brushing growing grass in a hazard is not intent on a backswing to cheat........

.........and is not a breach of a Rule.

I think your focusing on intent is misleading you a bit.  Touching the ground of a hazard with hand or club when your ball is in the same hazard is a breach of Rule 13-4 whether accidental or deliberate.  Intent doesn't come into it.

Whether  touched accidentally or deliberately there is no penalty for touching growing grass in a hazard.  See the Note to the Exceptions to Rule 13-4.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just wondering where this 2 caddie rule stops.

Last week at the barclay's, a player (sorry can't remember his name) hit a shot out of a greenside bunker. After his shot, he went on the green to mark his ball and since his ball was dirty he looked at his caddie to clean it, but his caddie was busy raking the bunker. The other player's caddie made him a sign and the player threw his ball to the other caddie, that cleaned it and threw it back to the player.

Would that be a breach of the rule of using a single caddie, or since it was simply for cleaning a ball and no club/putting line questions were discussed, everything was fine?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:
Originally Posted by Draftstone View Post

Just wondering where this 2 caddie rule stops.

Last week at the barclay's, a player (sorry can't remember his name) hit a shot out of a greenside bunker. After his shot, he went on the green to mark his ball and since his ball was dirty he looked at his caddie to clean it, but his caddie was busy raking the bunker. The other player's caddie made him a sign and the player threw his ball to the other caddie, that cleaned it and threw it back to the player.

Would that be a breach of the rule of using a single caddie, or since it was simply for cleaning a ball and no club/putting line questions were discussed, everything was fine?


That's commonly done and perfectly acceptable. Just as another caddie can tend the flag for you.

Quote:

A “ caddie ” is one who assists the player in accordance with the Rules , which may include carrying or handling the player’s clubs during play.

When one caddie is employed by more than one player, he is always deemed to be the caddie of the player sharing the caddie whose ball (or whose partner’s ball) is involved, and equipment carried by him is deemed to be that player’s equipment , except when the caddie acts upon specific directions of another player (or the partner of another player) sharing the caddie , in which case he is considered to be that other player’s caddie .

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Slightly OT, but if my ball in greenside bunker A, and i'm nearby to bunker B, can i take practice swings including, into the sand, in bunker B without penalty?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Slightly OT, but if my ball in greenside bunker A, and i'm nearby to bunker B, can i take practice swings including, into the sand, in bunker B without penalty?

No.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • It was fun to watch, Rory slowly moving up the leaderboard and with Chappell becoming a bit nervy on the final holes, Rory made it into a playoff. Rory didn't take full advantage of his shots on the par 5, and on the 15th I thought he had lost it. But great putts on the 15th and 16th to win in. What a fantastic golfer to watch, and he can smash the ball out there, almost hit his drive it in the lake on 18.
    • The length of the driving range is limited by houses and a road. So the ball flight is way shorter as with normal balls. So what reads 200 yards on the driving range in reality is much shorter. But I think this does not really matter for now. What I found out is the following. When doing my grip I twist my left wrist extremly to the right. At impact this delofts my clubs a big time. The head is very closed. The iron 7 I was talking about at least becomes an iron 4 loftwise ( i am judging this by eye on comparing to my other clubs). So now numbers maybe begin to make sense. Loftwise we are talking about an iron 4. What happens to the driver is that it even gets a negative loft which explains why balls just go up in the air with a very long tee. The 3 wood on the other hand gets the loft the driver should have. So this makes the longest shots. This is also explains why I had a very hard time hitting my hybrid. This hybrid (4 iron) becomes something like a club with loft 0.  So probably I am twisting my wrist to much ( there is a special term for this hand position which I don't remember). But this gives me 2 advantages. 1) I don't slice the ball with the driver 2) It is easier to hit down on the ball with the iron for me. Before this I had the wrist turned to the left (I think this is called neutral grip) which did not work at all for me. So I think in general this hand position helps a lot when not overdoing it. The V of the left hand index and middle finder should point to the right shoulder as far as I know. My V pointed right of my shoulder. I will tweak this position a bit. I think I am just overdoing it at the moment. I am pretty sure the iron 7 distance will get down when doing this and the driver distance will get up. We will see.
    • How many softball questions get lobbed at each candidate? How many times will Trump say "Believe me!" and "It's like incredible" the word "tremendous" and "Crooked Hillary" How many times Hillary will dance around the e-mail scandal? Will Hillary blow up? Will Hillary challenge Trump to do arithmetic? Or will that be out of bounds? It will be interesting to hear how lowering taxes on the rich and lowering corporate taxes will balance the budget - I've heard that whopper before. Will Trump challenge Hillary on the 2nd amendment? Will Hillary challenge Trump on his pandering to the religious right with the "freedom of speech and religion" proposal to allow discrimination against GLBT people.  Will either of them persuade me to not vote for Gary Johnson?
    • Haha, I've done that while walking.  The thing that made it embarrassing for me is I did it 2 or 3 times in the same round before I finally started catching myself.
    • I think there's a large old thread exactly like this already actually, just need to dig it up. Anyway, weirdest I've encountered was people rolling a cart.  I've also hit 2 geese myself (both with drives).
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. CoachB25
      CoachB25
      (59 years old)
    2. Fsgolfer
      Fsgolfer
      (60 years old)
  • Blog Entries