Jump to content
IGNORED

Playoff concession: legal?


Note: This thread is 2300 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Is a stroke play, sudden death playoff a new, shortened stipulated round?  And can one player, in a two man game, concede a hole, thus accepting defeat immediately?

Point was made by generally knowledgable European TV commentator in recent 2 man playoff, on first hole, one chap went wild into bush, flopped 3rd shot, and was 3 behind other man on green in 2, and TV guy said 'that if match play hole would be conceded', implying that such concession not possible, even in stroke play sudden death. U agree?

Link to post
Share on other sites

There are no concessions in stroke play.  The other player (who going to win) still has to hole out to finalize the playoff.


The above was posted based on observation of a playoff between Jim Furyk and Brian Davis (when his backswing  touched a loose impediment in a lateral water hazard beside the green).  The head Rules official still had Furyk complete the hole.

However, I've just been reminded of Decision 33-6/3 (below) which suggests a player can withdraw or concede defeat - not quite the same as conceding strokes.

33-6/3

Determining Winner and Positions in Stroke-Play Play-Off

If there is a stroke-play play-off between two competitors and one of them is disqualified or concedes defeat, it is not necessary for the other to complete the play-off hole or holes to be declared the winner.

If there is a play-off involving more than two competitors and not all of them complete the play-off hole or holes, the order in which the competitors are disqualified or decide to withdraw determines the result of the play-off. (Revised)

  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

The above was posted based on observation of a playoff between Jim Furyk and Brian Davis (when his backswing  touched a loose impediment in a lateral water hazard beside the green).  The head Rules official still had Furyk complete the hole. However, I've just been reminded of Decision 33-6/3 (below) which suggests a player can withdraw or concede defeat - not quite the same as conceding strokes. 33-6/3 Determining Winner and Positions in Stroke-Play Play-Off If there is a stroke-play play-off between two competitors and one of them is disqualified or concedes defeat, it is not necessary for the other to complete the play-off hole or holes to be declared the winner. If there is a play-off involving more than two competitors and not all of them complete the play-off hole or holes, the order in which the competitors are disqualified or decide to withdraw determines the result of the play-off. (Revised)

Yes, so he is 'withdrawing,' which means he does not finish second and take home the winnings. He is now withdrawn and at the bottom of the table. Is this correct?

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

No, his withdrawing from the playoff does not affect the results for the event, other than he won't be the winner.  In a two person playoff, the person who withdraws from the playoff would finish second in the event itself.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Note: This thread is 2300 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...