Jump to content
IGNORED

15 mins later, HIO!


Note: This thread is 2249 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

On the par 3 with very strong slopes on the green, Paul hits his shot well, it goes just over the flag and stops on the upslope about 6 feet from the hole.  Paul marks his ball and waits since no one else hit the green and they muck about till finally all balls on the green.  Putting begins, and finally Paul replaces his ball and removes the marker.  He then walks below the hole to inspect the line and as he stands there, far from the ball, the ball starts to roll and rolls into the cup.  Hole in one. Nice.

Thanks to Barry Rhodes for this.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Two things to check in a situation like this before the bottle of whisky is ordered:  was the ball at rest after being replaced and if so, did the player do anything to cause the ball to move.

As you say, nice one!

Link to post
Share on other sites

In case anyone is curious, the relevant decision is here: http://usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-20/#d20-3d-1

BALL FAILS TO COME TO REST ON SPOT

20-3d/1

Placed Ball Rolls into Hole

Q.A replaces his ball on the putting green three feet from the hole. As he is about to address the ball, it rolls into the hole. Should the ball be replaced or is A deemed to have holed out with his previous stroke?

A.The answer depends on whether the ball, when replaced, came to rest on the spot on which it was placed before it started rolling. If it did, A is deemed to have holed out with his previous stroke. If not, A is required to replace the ball (Rule 20-3d). However, if the ball had been overhanging the hole when it was lifted, the provisions of Rule 16-2 would override those of Rule 20-3d.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2249 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...