Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Accidentally Hit Second Ball with Stroke at My Ball


Note: This thread is 3819 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

I had this situation yesterday on a par 5 after my second shot went off into the left rough.I was less than 60 yards from the hole when my 3W shot hit a bush and landed in some 6" rough.

I went to hit my ball noticing that it was in fact my Taylormade 3 ball. My kids saw me hit a ball out of the rough that piddled 40 yards or so and declared that was my ball. Now, I was sure I made solid contact on my ball. When I got to the ball, I noticed it was an old Titlist proV1-335 with funny marks on it and it looked like it hit a protective net. I later found my ball past the hole.

What's the penalty?

:ping:  :tmade:  :callaway:   :gamegolf:  :titleist:

TM White Smoke Big Fontana; Pro-V1
TM Rac 60 TT WS, MD2 56
Ping i20 irons U-4, CFS300
Callaway XR16 9 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S
Callaway XR16 3W 15 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S, X2Hot Pro 20 degrees S

"I'm hitting the woods just great, but I'm having a terrible time getting out of them." ~Harry Toscano

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I had this situation yesterday on a par 5 after my second shot went off into the left rough.I was less than 60 yards from the hole when my 3W shot hit a bush and landed in some 6" rough.

I went to hit my ball noticing that it was in fact my Taylormade 3 ball. My kids saw me hit a ball out of the rough that piddled 40 yards or so and declared that was my ball. Now, I was sure I made solid contact on my ball. When I got to the ball, I noticed it was an old Titlist proV1-335 with funny marks on it and it looked like it hit a protective net. I later found my ball past the hole.

What's the penalty?

Will this Decision work for you?

15/2,

Player's Stroke at Own Ball Dislodges Concealed Ball

Q. A player plays a stroke with his own ball in the rough and also hits an old abandoned ball which was hidden beneath his ball. Since he struck the hidden ball, did he play a wrong ball?

A. No. The player played a stroke with his own ball, not with the hidden ball. Since he did not play a stroke with the hidden ball, Rule 15-3 is not applicable. The player must play his ball as it lies.

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lihu

I had this situation yesterday on a par 5 after my second shot went off into the left rough.I was less than 60 yards from the hole when my 3W shot hit a bush and landed in some 6" rough.

I went to hit my ball noticing that it was in fact my Taylormade 3 ball. My kids saw me hit a ball out of the rough that piddled 40 yards or so and declared that was my ball. Now, I was sure I made solid contact on my ball. When I got to the ball, I noticed it was an old Titlist proV1-335 with funny marks on it and it looked like it hit a protective net. I later found my ball past the hole.

What's the penalty?

Will this Decision work for you?

15/2,

Player's Stroke at Own Ball Dislodges Concealed Ball

Q.A player plays a stroke with his own ball in the rough and also hits an old abandoned ball which was hidden beneath his ball. Since he struck the hidden ball, did he play a wrong ball?

A.No. The player played a stroke with his own ball, not with the hidden ball. Since he did not play a stroke with the hidden ball, Rule 15-3 is not applicable. The player must play his ball as it lies.

Yes, thanks.

:ping:  :tmade:  :callaway:   :gamegolf:  :titleist:

TM White Smoke Big Fontana; Pro-V1
TM Rac 60 TT WS, MD2 56
Ping i20 irons U-4, CFS300
Callaway XR16 9 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S
Callaway XR16 3W 15 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S, X2Hot Pro 20 degrees S

"I'm hitting the woods just great, but I'm having a terrible time getting out of them." ~Harry Toscano

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I've had the same situation happen a couple of times over the years.

Once, I was playing a shot out of a creek in front of the green and three balls went flying.

Mud went flying everywhere, saw my ball fly out and then heard a bunch of ka-plunks land on the green.

My buddies were laughing at me with a face full of mud, I just asked them which ball was mine?

Wiped my face off and drained the putt to save par.

Club Rat

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 3819 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.