IGNORED

Shaft Flex Question

mdr817
Note: This thread is 5955 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Since I started playing back in September, I have gained confidence as well as swing speed. I'm hitting my 7 iron about 150 yards straight. I also have been using Regular Flex shafts and thinking of moving to Stiff Flex shafts. What would you advice? Thanks!

Golf =

905R 10.5*
15* 19* & 23*
R7 Draw 5-SW
Vokey 60.04
Ignite

general guide line:
if your 6i is averaging 170y, you could use a stiff flex.
if not, regular is fine.

from my experience:
if you switch to stiff, you are gonna lose some distance probably 1 club or so.
it might force you to swing faster to get the same distance you are hitting now.
whether that's a good thing or not, it's up to you i guess.

Launcher 460 10.5° <BB Solution 130 R>
Wishon 949MC 16.5° <SK Fiber Tour Trac 80 R>
3DX DC Ironwood 20°, 23° <UST SR2 R>
MX-23 5-PW <KBS Tour R>
Vokey 250.08, SM54.10, SM58.08 <DG Wedge> Callie 33.75"TLT Series 4MOI matched

general guide line:

Wait, what's this about stiff flex costing you distance when you get to it? How does that work?

I understand why it would cost me distance (6i = 135 yards) if I were to switch to it now. But why if someone swings that fast would it cost them then?

-- Michael | My swing! 

"You think you're Jim Furyk. That's why your phone is never charged." - message from my mother

Driver:  Titleist 915D2.  4-wood:  Titleist 917F2.  Titleist TS2 19 degree hybrid.  Another hybrid in here too.  Irons 5-U, Ping G400.  Wedges negotiable (currently 54 degree Cleveland, 58 degree Titleist) Edel putter. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Wait, what's this about stiff flex costing you distance when you get to it? How does that work?

sorry