IGNORED

My journey to scratch

Note: This thread is 2505 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I thought I would start a topic to share my experience of going from a 10 handicap to scratch. I'm not quite there yet, 1.2 based on last revision but I think I have learned a few things that might help others. Background info: I've played since I was 7, (33 now) other sports growing up took up most of my time, but started playing "seriously" in college. I didn't keep an official handicap then but I would guess I was around 4-6 handicap. Took three full years off after I graduated, and then played occasionally until 30. At 30, joined a club, got a handicap (started at 10) and have played at least twice a week since. I do take August-November off as I am a high school football coach and don't have the time. I am now down to 1.2, and I wanted to share what I think has helped and what I experienced. 

Full Swing- The biggest difference is in my full swing shots. Statistically I have improved my GIR greatly and I now average 12 GIR per round (since January). I have read a lot of books, watched a ton of video, got my first lesson, and have tinkered a lot. Probably too much. But once you grasp the ball flight laws and have priorities for your full swing motion it makes it easier to diagnose errors and execute more consistently. 5SK is a great resource. I play a stock ball flight, and do not shape shots unless gun to my head. I have found on every course I play, I can score better and hit more greens playing a stock draw as opposed to working the ball the other way. Hitting different trajectory windows is the only "shaping" I practice.