IGNORED

My Swing (omelette)

omelette
Note: This thread is 2599 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I've been Playing Golf for: 2 years
My current handicap index or average score is: 26
My typical ball flight is: straight or fade
The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is: shank

I've been playing quite regularly for the last 2 years although played a little bit before that.  I've had a few lessons from my club pro.  I've started shanking my irons a lot recently and generally hitting towards the heel with all clubs.  I've struggled with this in the past as well and it keeps creeping back into my game.  I'd like to know what I'm doing wrong so I know what to work on - I've had a lesson with my pro on this recently but he gave me so many things to work on and nothing seems to work!   Below is a video of a shank, I only have a down the line view at the moment.

Videos: 

Welcome to swing threads! Hope you get a lot out of it. There's a wealth of info here in this thread on instruction: 

But mainly I wanted to point you toward the tips near the top of the first post in the thread on filming your swing.

Ideally, you'll want to align this "down the line" video with your toe line (not the ball). 

I know you realize this, but if you could also post a face on video, that'd be great! Lots of things there that experts can see from that angle: hip sway, head movement, etc 

Anyway, great to see the thread, and sorry to hear your instructor is throwing so many things at you at once.

In the thread above, you'll see some guidance on how to practice (5 S's). Definitely worth a read. The hard part is finding the specific thing to work on and your instructor did you no favors by giving you a litany of things.

Good luck, and hope you can get this sorted out with some good discussion here. 

My Swing