Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Laying a club down to indicate line before a shot


Note: This thread is 2769 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted

I played with someone the other day who would laydown his club in the direction he wanted to hit before taking the shot. Most times I recall he would pick up the club before approaching to address the ball. Other times I think he addressed the ball with the club on the ground picked it up and then played and played the ahot. My senses told me that this was wrong. Was it?


  • Moderator
Posted

Perfectly legal.

http://www.usga.org/rules/rules-and-decisions.html#!rule-08,8-2

Quote

8-2. Indicating Line of Play

a. Other Than on Putting Green

Except on the putting green, a player may have the line of playindicated to him by anyone, but no one may be positioned by the player for that purpose on or close to the line or an extension of the line beyond the hole while the stroke is being made. Any mark placed by the player or with his knowledge, for the purpose of indicating the line of play, must be removed before the stroke is made.

https://www.usga.org/RulesFAQ/rules_answer.asp?FAQidx=30&Rule=8

Quote

Rule 8-2

Club Placed on Ground to Align Feet

Q.A player places a club on the ground parallel to the line of play to assist him in aligning his feet properly. Is this permissible?

A.Yes, provided the player removes the club before playing his stroke. Otherwise a breach of Rule 8-2a would occur.

 

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

I think the only way it would be illegal is if he laid a club other than the one he wished to play along the line, and left it there while lining up and executing the shot.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 2769 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.