Jump to content
Kloeshuman

Provisional Shots

7 posts / 1118 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Ok, if someone hits a ball that could possibly be lost, then chooses to hit a provisional , after not finding either ball and has to drop again.......what is the penalty? And after the drop what would they be hitting?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

10 minutes ago, Kloeshuman said:

Ok, if someone hits a ball that could possibly be lost, then chooses to hit a provisional , after not finding either ball and has to drop again.......what is the penalty? And after the drop what would they be hitting?

Assuming the first ball was a tee shot, and the second (was provisional) ball was also lost, he'd be hitting five:

  1. Initial tee shot.
  2. Stroke and distance.
  3. Provisional ball.
  4. Stroke and distance.
  5. New ball (for the two lost balls).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

20 minutes ago, Kloeshuman said:

Thanks, my buddy today did this same thing and thought he was only hitting 4 ...I disagreed......

Lol oh the looks on people’s faces when the rules get explained to them in real time....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Beau Hossler did this recently. 5 off the tee. Ended up with a 7 on the first hole on the final round.

https://www.golfdigest.com/story/watch-beau-hossler-hit-two-drives-ob-on-his-first-hole-to-get-off-to-brutal-sunday-start-at-the-northern-trust

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...