-
Posts
629 -
Joined
-
Last visited
Everything posted by luu5
-
Wind is not supposed to change for rest of the day. edit. perhaps it will change... forecasting the future is vague.
-
Perhaps using VPN service and "relocate" you into UK... ps. BBC broadcast in UK (and rest of the world) starts at 13:45, which is in about 1h15min from now.
-
Rule 1-2.
-
Until this comment I thought you were honestly asking question, but it looks like you have an agenda.
-
I would rule the OB to end at the last stake and your ball to be in bounds. Players should not have to suffer from lazy marking.
-
So they played preferred lies. The procedure is the other way around, you first mark the ball and then either place or replace the ball (first one is more common). The tee is used to mark, not to tee up. Here is the specimen rule from Rules Book: Quote: c. “Preferred Lies” and “Winter Rules” Ground under repair is provided for in Rule 25 and occasional local abnormal conditions that might interfere with fair play and are not widespread should be defined as ground under repair. However, adverse conditions, such as heavy snows, spring thaws, prolonged rains or extreme heat can make fairways unsatisfactory and sometimes prevent use of heavy mowing equipment. When such conditions are so general throughout a course that the Committee believes “preferred lies” or “winter rules” would promote fair play or help protect the course, the following Local Rule is recommended: “A ball lying on a closely-mown area through the green (or specify a more restricted area, e.g. at the 6th hole) may be lifted, without penalty, and cleaned. Before lifting the ball, the player must mark its position. Having lifted the ball, he must place it on a spot within (specify area, e.g. six inches, one club-length, etc.) of and not nearer the hole than where it originally lay, that is not in a hazard and not on a putting green. A player may place his ball only once, and it is in play when it has been placed (Rule 20-4). If the ball fails to come to rest on the spot on which it is placed, Rule 20-3d applies. If the ball when placed comes to rest on the spot on which it is placed and it subsequently moves, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies, unless the provisions of any other Rule apply. If the player fails to mark the position of the ball before lifting it or moves the ball in any other manner, such as rolling it with a club, he incurs a penalty of one stroke.
-
She said to Karen that she did not know about NYC making eagle, but she said she heard people talking that she needs to eagle the 18th. So she sort of knew where she stood.
-
In Finland the National Golf Union has implemented four local rules which are in effect on all (couple of exceptions) golf courses in Finland. One of them is that "All distance measurement markings are immovable obstructions, relief according to rule 24-2." So even if you could remove them, better leave in place.
-
Unless there is a local rule which states that these distance poles are immovable obstructions. Some (many?) courses have that in effect.
-
And you were correct as the pitch mark was off green.
-
We have few framed cards from Challenge Tour on our club house wall, one from Peter Uihlein for example. So perhaps on ET (or CT) they are not that security minded.
-
Your fun is different than mine then, but that is ok too.
-
Another Pro Who Hasn't Read the Rules (Improper Dropping Technique)
luu5 replied to Rulesman's topic in Rules of Golf
I wonder if hitting yourself while dropping was a penalty then? It is not now. You are just required to re-drop. Aaron could have also re-dropped correctly without a penalty had his caddie reminded him. -
I am not so sure about this. Internal OB does not "look good", but other than that it is like normal OB, "you are not supposed to go there". Of course it may make course much tighter, but then play safer...
-
True, why did I not remember that when this came up last year. Next time I meet him I will question him...
-
Friend of mine actually got a tee time to play there last summer. But unfortunately the week he was in Atlanta in July was extremely wet. Their plan was to play Atlanta Athletic Club on Saturday and Augusta on Sunday. Both courses were closed due to flooding. He was slightly annoyed, no rain check was given... He does not suggest playing there in July.
-
Tom Kite was not that old in '97, only 3 years older than Phil at the moment. Other than that, I do not comment.
-
One (or three) examples of bad knowledge by head pro(s):
-
This is a good catch (as is 2-4/5). I missed that.
-
Quote: Originally Posted by JodieMudd Many years ago i was playing in the national final of an amateur matchplay event. i was 2 or 3 up at the time and we were on a par 3 where i received a stroke. I hit it short of the green, chipped up to about 10 feet and marked my ball. My opponent had hit the green and then holed his birdie put from about 20 feet. He then proceeded to pick up my ball marker (out of courtesy i believe) thinking he had won the hole. I pointed out that i still had a put for a par - net 2. Only then did he realise his mistake. Neither of us knew the rule so we both agreed that the marker be replaced where we thought it was originally. I putted out, missed and lost the hole. The match ended up going to extra holes and i eventually lost, losing the opportunity to a free holiday in spain to play the finals. Rule 18-3 b: Quote: If, other than during search for a player’s ball, an opponent, his caddie or his equipment moves the ball, touches it purposely or causes it to move, except as otherwise provided in the Rules, the opponent incurs a penalty of one stroke. If the ball is moved, it must be replaced. So you did correctly, but your opponent should have added one penalty stroke. So the hole result would have been draw. Too bad.
-
I think simulator is ok, as long as you play it as a game, not as a learning aid.
-
If it has been marked as water hazard then you play it as water hazard. Very easy.
-
How wide is the pond if you can not see the colour of the line (which should be yellow anyway)? But anyway, regarding the LR about the DZ. I do not understand why there is a need to state after how many shots you can use DZ. Why not rule that if the ball lies in water hazard (not the left or right lateral), you get normal relief or DZ, whichever you prefer?