Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×

rogolf

Established Member
  • Posts

    317
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by rogolf

  1. We use the recommended local Rule when we use preferred lies. As noted in that local Rule, the procedure is very specific and does not permit rolling the ball. If the recommended local Rule is not used, ie, another local Rule is used, the ruling bodies will not discuss/interpret said "non-conforming" local Rule.
  2. My bad back overrides a dispute when I know I'm correct.
  3. And more of the Exception you quoted: "There is no penalty if the player (a) touches the ground or loose impediments in any hazard or water in a water hazard ... in removing an obstruction.." Hence, touching the sand with a club while using that club to remove an obstruction (the rakes) does not result in a breach of Rule 13-4 (provided that nothing is done that constitutes testing the condition of the hazard).
  4. I'm concerned with playing within the Rules, but concerned much about an observer's suspicion. Suppose that I pick up the rake using my club (bad back) and touch the sand with the clubhead while doing so?
  5. To clarify "testing the condition of the hazard", see Decision 13-4/0.5, Examples of actions that would not constitute testing the condition of the hazard include the following: digging in with the feet for a stance, including for a practice swing, anywhere in the hazard or in a similar hazard;placing an object, such as clubs or a rake, in the hazard;leaning on an object (other than a club) such as a rake while it is touching the ground in the hazard or water in a water hazard;touching the hazard with an object (other than a club) such as a towel (touching with a club would be a breach of Rule 13-4b); ormarking the position of the ball with a tee or otherwise when proceeding under a Rule.
  6. Doesn't sound quite right. Hitting the ball to a point beyond where the original ball might be means nothing. Hitting the provisional from a point where the original is likely to be or nearer the hole than that point means the original is lost by definition.
  7. If you're just beginning with the Rule book, start with the Quick Guide on page 11, the Definitions, and Etiquette.
  8. Well, I disagree, and it's not "bogus".. A coach's job is to coach, but not interfering with players during the stipulated round. If the coach needs to do that, he has not done a proper job before the rounds(s). A coach's job is to prepare the players to play, not try to play for them. If caddies are not allowed, why are coaches permitted to do all of the of the caddie's tasks except carrying clubs?
  9. Simple solution - go to a different course that has more respect/understanding of how to conduct a competition.
  10. Let the players play their round without interference/interaction from the coaches. Coaches need to do their coaching before the stipulated round and then get out of the player's way. Creating the need for on course support (in the player's mind) is not developing the player's capability.
  11. Maybe the Rules officials are unionized (akin to the PGATour) and protecting their turf?
  12. If the cart path had not been there, what club would she have used for her stroke? If the club she would have used without the cart path being there was an 8 iron, that is the club she should use to determine the nearest point of relief. She can then use any club she has selected to play to measure the one club length from that nearest point of relief and drop within that one club length, but no nearer the hole. In actual fact, determining the nearest point of relief is not "measuring" under the Rules; measuring begins after the nearest point of relief has been determined.
  13. Don't know the complete answer, but I'll start with just Rule 4. The player begins his round with 15 clubs, one of which is non-conforming. This comes to light after the second hole. He did not make a stroke with the non-conforming club. On the first hole, he adjusts his 3 wood for his second shot; this is discovered by the opponent during play of the second hole. This player loses both of the first two holes. Here's my reckoning of the status of the match after two holes: lost 2 holes 2 down starting round with more than 14 clubs 4 down carrying, but not using non-conforming club 6 down adjusting club 8 down
  14. A point to remember - your opponent is not a referee. He has no right to "decline" your relief. You have the right to do what you consider proper proceed accordingly. If your opponent disagrees with your choices, he must file a claim in accordance with 2-5.
  15. And that is exactly how the Rules of golf are evolving - gradually, in stages and step by step. There is a revision to the Rules every four years; next one is due January 1, 2016. And I do sit on the national Rules Committee.
  16. This Boatright is obviously not related to P J Boatwright, one of the most revered Rules officials.
  17. Obliviously, I missed the age of the post. Apologies.
  18. In fact, placing when dropping is required results in a two stroke penalty.
  19. Drop zones are normally established by local Rule as an additional option to those listed above. Without such a local Rule, proceed under one of the applicable options listed.
  20. But never for Rule 27-1 (ball lost or out of bounds, stroke and distance) unless the last stroke was made from the drop zone.
  21. An oddity in taking relief from a wrong putting green - relief does not include relief for the stance, only for the ball. In other words, you can stand on the wrong putting green to play your next stroke after taking relief.
  22. As stated, its based on my analogy to the response/procedure in Decision 16-1/6.a
  23. A couple of points from the Rules: 1. On the putting green, a player may only repair old hole plugs and ball marks. 2. A player is not authorized to declare any area to be ground under repair - that is reserved for the Committee/Committee representative. In such a case, the player should request a Committee member to intervene. If no Committee member is available, the player may repair the damage (analogy to Decision 16-1a/6). However, he is only permitted to repair the damage, not move the ball to another spot.
  24. Imo, it's meant to perpetuate the incorrect presumption that the girls cannot play without the assistance of the coach or caddie (see the LPGA where the caddies feel the need to line up the players prior to their stroke). I understand that at one point, the NCAA petitioned the USGA/R&A; to change the Rules to permit two coaches to be able to give advice. Apparently, the ruling bodies did not accept this suggestion. Coaches need to prepare their players for the round and then let the players play that round without intervention.
  25. Management lesson from the Cuban Missile Crisis - President Kennedy responded to only those demands from Khrushchev that Kennedy chose to acknowledge, ignoring the rest. This principle is now used very frequently, and successfully, during discussions/negotiations.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...