IGNORED

Looking for feedback on my year in golf / recommendations for off-season

ArrrrJay
Note: This thread is 5302 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

First a little background.

I started playing golf the last few months of summer 07. 2008 was 95% par 3 courses, and 2 or 3 attempts at a full length course. I had a poor game overall. Would hit my irons thin or fat 60% of the time (mostly fat), sliced the driver horribly, and had no short game. would score in the low 40's at my local par 3's.

I caught the bug, and wanted to give a full go at golf and see if I could be any good, or weather it would simply be a drinking game with friends.

For 2009, I joined a golf club at a local muni, and started playing and practicing A LOT. Would try to play at least once a week, and practice between rounds. I got a new set of irons, a new driver shaft, and a new putter (half way through the season). The driver shaft change had me hitting major slices for a bit (came back recently too).

Here's my scores the year, all at a par 71.

4/17 - 118
4/18 - 105
4/24 - 119
4/25 - 112
5/02 - 119
5/16 - 114
5/17 - 105
5/30 - 105
6/21 - 99 *Year's goal achieved
6/27 - 100
6/28 - 107
7/03 - 97
7/05 - 109 *New driver shaft
7/12 - 103
7/18 - 98
7/19 - 101
7/24 - 102
7/25 - 110
7/26 - 103
8/02 - 99
8/07 - 89 *Split front and back 9 2 days consecutive
8/16 - 95
8/23 - 90
9/06 - 89 *First 89, a par 72, new course to me, big elevation changes
9/12 - 89 *First 89 at home course
9/19 - 93
9/27 - 96
10/3 - 93 *Wet/aerated
10/11 - 100 *Wet/aerated/windy