• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Irish-Ace

Played a 2nd ball but did NOT declare it a provisional...

25 posts in this topic

So I was playing in a comp this morning - on a short par 3 proceeded to hit a horror short right into bushes. I played a 2nd ball and specifically did NOT call it a provisional - rending my first ball lost.

As I was walking up to the green - I had a quick look in the bush for my first lost ball so I could just stick it back in the bag if I found it. But my playing partner stated "If you find it, you have to play it" - I replied that that isn't the case because I did not call my 2nd ball a "provisional". He retorted that it didn't matter.  I was correct.... right?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Yes, you were correct.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks John ... I thought I was. It really pissed me off though because he was very insistent. What made it worse was that he was off 2 - so he should have known better.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You are welcome.  Here is the applicable rule if it comes up again.  You always have the option to replay your stroke, adding 1 PS, no restrictions.

27-1 . Stroke and Distance; Ball Out of Bounds; Ball Not Found Within Five Minutes

a . Proceeding Under Stroke and Distance

At any time , a player may, under penalty of one stroke, play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played (see Rule 20-5 ), i.e., proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.

Except as otherwise provided in the Rules , if a player makes a stroke at a ball from the spot at which the original ball was last played, he is deemed to have proceeded under penalty of stroke and distance.

Rule 20-5 tells you how to accomplish this depending on where your ball lies.

20-5 . Making Next Stroke from Where Previous Stroke Made

When a player elects or is required to make his next stroke from where a previous stroke was made, he must proceed as follows:

(a) On the Teeing Ground: The ball to be played must be played from within the teeing ground . It may be played from anywhere within the teeing ground and may be teed.

(b) Through the Green: The ball to be played must be dropped and when dropped must first strike a part of the course through the green .

(c) In a Hazard: The ball to be played must be dropped and when dropped must first strike a part of the course in the hazard .

(d) On the Putting Green: The ball to be played must be placed on the putting green .

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So I was playing in a comp this morning - on a short par 3 proceeded to hit a horror short right into bushes. I played a 2nd ball and specifically did NOT call it a provisional - rending my first ball lost.

As I was walking up to the green - I had a quick look in the bush for my first lost ball so I could just stick it back in the bag if I found it. But my playing partner stated "If you find it, you have to play it" - I replied that that isn't the case because I did not call my 2nd ball a "provisional". He retorted that it didn't matter.  I was correct.... right?

The specific rule is 27-2a

27-2 . Provisional Ball

a . Procedure

If a ball may be lost outside a water hazard or may be out of bounds , to save time the player may play another ball provisionally in accordance with Rule 27-1 . The player must inform his opponent in match play or his marker or a fellow-competitor in stroke play that he intends to play a provisional ball , and he must play it before he or his partner goes forward to search for the original ball.

If he fails to do so and plays another ball, that ball is not a provisional ball and becomes the ball in play un der penal ty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1 ); the original ball is lost .

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So I was playing in a comp this morning - on a short par 3 proceeded to hit a horror short right into bushes. I played a 2nd ball and specifically did NOT call it a provisional - rending my first ball lost.

As I was walking up to the green - I had a quick look in the bush for my first lost ball so I could just stick it back in the bag if I found it. But my playing partner stated "If you find it, you have to play it" - I replied that that isn't the case because I did not call my 2nd ball a "provisional". He retorted that it didn't matter.  I was correct.... right?

I, too, stuck one short but deep into the spinach off the tee on Wednesday. I pulled a second ball from my pocket and looked my fellow-competitor in the eye and declared, "This not a provisional." He looked stunned ....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The specific rule is 27-2a

27-2. Provisional Ball

a. Procedure

If a ball may be lost outside a water hazard or may be out of bounds, to save time the player may play another ball provisionally in accordance with Rule 27-1. The player must inform his opponent in match play or his marker or a fellow-competitor in stroke play that he intends to play a provisional ball, and he must play it before he or his partner goes forward to search for the original ball.

If he fails to do so and plays another ball, that ball is not a provisional ball and becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1); the original ball is lost.

Hmmm, I guess it depends on what you're trying to explain, what the OP did under the rules, (27-1a), or what the other competitor thought he did, (27-2a).  Hopefully it's clear that 27-1 is always available, regardless if Rule 27-2 exists or not.  27-2a is a rule designed to speed up play, nothing more.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hmmm, I guess it depends on what you're trying to explain, what the OP did under the rules, (27-1a), or what the other competitor thought he did, (27-2a).  Hopefully it's clear that 27-1 is always available, regardless if Rule 27-2 exists or not.  27-2a is a rule designed to speed up play, nothing more.

The original question was

"If you find it, you have to play it" - I replied that that isn't the case because I did not call my 2nd ball a "provisional". He retorted that it didn't matter.  I was correct.... right? "

'If he fails to do so and plays another ball, that ball is not a provisional ball and becomes the ball in play un der penal ty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1 ); the original ball is lost .'

Would confirms clearly that the poster is right and the FC was wrong. It would seem the FC was confused about the provisional ball situation rather than the player's right to take S&D; at any time.

Although S&D; is pretty fundamental, most players automatically think about provisionals when another ball is played from the tee after a wayward shot.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I, too, stuck one short but deep into the spinach off the tee on Wednesday. I pulled a second ball from my pocket and looked my fellow-competitor in the eye and declared, "This not a provisional." He looked stunned ....

Yeah, I got the same look. The reasons I did not call it a provisional were...

1) I would not have been able to get 2 club lengths or drop back in a line with the flag and point where ball lay. So I would have had to walk back to the tee to take unplayable relief had I found it.

2) I was just pi$$ed with that particular hole after hitting bad tee shots to it 3 weeks in a row. Needed to hit the green to get it out of my system :-D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The original question was

"If you find it, you have to play it" - I replied that that isn't the case because I did not call my 2nd ball a "provisional". He retorted that it didn't matter.  I was correct.... right? "

'If he fails to do so and plays another ball, that ball is not a provisional ball and becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1); the original ball is lost.'

Would confirms clearly that the poster is right and the FC was wrong. It would seem the FC was confused about the provisional ball situation rather than the player's right to take S&D; at any time.

Although S&D; is pretty fundamental, most players automatically think about provisionals when another ball is played from the tee after a wayward shot.

I see what your saying, I agree.  When someone plays there stroke over, there is a common assumption that the second ball is a provisional.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rulesman

The original question was

"If you find it, you have to play it" - I replied that that isn't the case because I did not call my 2nd ball a "provisional". He retorted that it didn't matter.  I was correct.... right? "

'If he fails to do so and plays another ball, that ball is not a provisional ball and becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1); the original ball is lost.'

Would confirms clearly that the poster is right and the FC was wrong. It would seem the FC was confused about the provisional ball situation rather than the player's right to take S&D; at any time.

Although S&D; is pretty fundamental, most players automatically think about provisionals when another ball is played from the tee after a wayward shot.

I see what your saying, I agree.  When someone plays there stroke over, there is a common assumption that the second ball is a provisional.

When exactly the opposite should be true - that when a player plays a second ball, the assumption should be that he is playing under stroke and distance unless he makes a point of declaring it a provisional ball.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Very simple - a provisional is only a provisional if it is called a provisional!! Some with whom I play say "I'll hit another" prompting me to ask "will that be a provisional?" I think they feel I am being obsessive but they are coming around.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Our group is in the habit of saying something like, "This is my provisional -- a Z-Star 4. The first one was a 2." That way, everyone knows you declared a provisional and which ball is the first and which is the second once you find them both. In our group, we became more worried about one guy who hit the same ball as a provisional as his first and then all hell would break loose when the balls were near each other than we were about declaring a provisional. "Darn it Jim. They are both Pro V 3's." I know the rules would say that if he can't identify… but our current practice avoids the entire ugly scene.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

rustyredcab - do yourself, and your mates a favour and buy a few small coloured indelible felt tip markers (under a dollar each over here)  and put something distinctive on you ball;  an X. a circle, or whatever.      Hell, there can then be no argument at all.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

rustyredcab - do yourself, and your mates a favour and buy a few small coloured indelible felt tip markers (under a dollar each over here)  and put something distinctive on you ball;  an X. a circle, or whatever.      Hell, there can then be no argument at all.

We all mark our balls. But, putting a unique "provisional" mark seems more complicated than simply changing the ball number (also distinctively marked for each player). I always pocket a ball of a different number than the one I'm playing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No probs mate.

I have actually taken to playing a coloured ball for a provisional, just to make it all easier and quicker for us all.

Cheers

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since I do not play in competitions with the one ball rule in effect I use a ball of a different brand for provisionals.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Since I do not play in competitions with the one ball rule in effect I use a ball of a different brand for provisionals.

That sure helps you to distinguish your original ball from your provisional one, but what if you find two balls of the same brand and same number? It certainly is way much easier to make a distinctive mark on one's ball, just to make sure. Besides the Rules enourage all players to do that...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2016 TST Partners

    GAME Golf
    PING Golf
    Lowest Score Wins
  • Posts

    • My Swing (coop6)
      @coop6 The glaring issue is you are shutting the clubface immediately after impact. Many tour players are holding the face square until halfway up on the forward swing, some even open the face after impact. I have seen a few that shut the face as well but it happens a bit later. I was doing this because my club face was too open at the top. The reason you're doing this is because on the downswing, your body is not bringing the club to the ball. Your upper body should turn and begin moving the arms through. The body should lead and pull the arms, however this does not suggest the arms should trail too much that they become disconnected. Teaching pros argue all the time whether the swing is a oull or a push. Many say it is a pull, because the modern swing is taught to have the body pull the arms as much as possible, especially for power in younger golfers. However the old school still calls it a push, because there is always connection. Remember the body guides where the arms should be going. The body must go first where the arms will follow close behind. If you look at your swing, you can see from the top your arms drop down, which is great as it prevents over the top and promotes dead hands. The problem is the body isn't leading or pulling. The body isn't doing enough on the downswing. Look at the forward swing, it is mostly arms. The arms are going where the body has never been before. Don't let the arms go where the body hasn't been.
    • Anybody play golf without keeping score on a regular basis?
      I normally keep a true and accurate score even though I don't belong to a club, don't have an established handicap, and don't play in any tournaments. Still, if I'm playing my usual casual round...and really playing terribly, I'll occasionally toss the scorecard in the trash. It helps me concentrate on just hitting good shots instead of focusing on making a particular score...and my game usually improves somewhat....
    • My Swing (saevel25)
      No problem! Excellent progress.
    • How to eliminate blowup holes
      Here's my approach to eliminating the big numbers. Work hard on putting and chipping. I've always maintained that anyone can learn to chip and putt. Its the only part of the game that takes zero athletic ability....just practice, technique and confidence. I miss a lot more greens than I hit...but I make a lot of pars with a chip and a putt (or a very long 2 putt). Even if I don't make par, I often have tap in bogeys. Know your strengths and weaknesses...and be honest with yourself. Use that information to determine your "go to" shots. I'm a lousy iron player, but pretty consistent with the fairway woods. If I'm having one of those days where I'm doing nothing with the irons but hitting fat shots and shanks, I'll start hitting fairway woods off the tee in order to have a fairway wood for a 2nd shot (I carry 3, 5 and 6 woods). Even if I miss the green from that distance, I'll usually be withing chip and putt range (see the last paragraph). I'm normally pretty straight with those fairway woods, but can hit a fade or slice at will....but not a draw. If I'm in a spot that requires a draw to hit the green I'll aim for a spot short of the green (or even right of the green) that I know I can hit. Then try my best to make par from there - and be please with bogey. If I'm on the other side of the fairway and need to bend it to the right I'll be more aggressive since that's a high percentage shot for me. I've had days where I'm hitting my irons so poorly, I'll resort to playing bump-and-run any place I can. Yeah, it makes me feel like a chump when I'm bumping a 7 iron from 100 yards instead of flying a wedge in there....but not a much of a chump as hacking the wedge around and making a double or triple.
    • My Swing (saevel25)
      Thank you for your opinion. I have things I am working on that I am committed to 100%. I am going to continue on what I am working on. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Images

  • Today's Birthdays

  • Blog Entries