Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Conejo

grooming a bunker

8 posts in this topic

my opponents ball is in a bunker and his  caddie accidently drops his putter into the sand of the  bunker which is located close to the green, he drops it in front of my opponent ball in direction to the hole affecting the trajectory of the ball, my opponent  will putt the ball to the green since it is very close to the bunker with  a down hill lie and it´s a flat bunker , can his caddie fix or groom the sand in the bunker were the putt fell in front of the ball before taking the shot? is there a penalty ?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

my opponents ball is in a bunker and his  caddie accidently drops his putter into the sand of the  bunker which is located close to the green, he drops it in front of my opponent ball in direction to the hole affecting the trajectory of the ball, my opponent  will putt the ball to the green since it is very close to the bunker with  a down hill lie and it´s a flat bunker , can his caddie fix or groom the sand in the bunker were the putt fell in front of the ball before taking the shot? is there a penalty ?

Provided nothing is done which constitutes testing the condition of the hazard or improves the lie of the ball, there's no penalty for dropping the putter.  You can also place extra clubs or a rake in the bunker subject to the same restrictions.

However, he may not restore the area to it's original condition.  Decision 13-2/29 pertains......

If a player worsens the lie of his ball, the area of his intended stance or swing, his line of play or a reasonable extension of that line beyond the hole, or the area in which he is to drop or place a ball, he is not entitled to restore that area to its original condition. If he does so, he is in breach of Rule 13-2 and incurs a penalty of loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke play......

Welcome to the forum.......stick around! :beer:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

hey rabbit, welcome to the sandtrap.  im not sure i understand the scenario - you said its a flat bunker but he has a downhill lie?  and how will the sand affect the "trajectory" of the shot?

edit: above

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

thanks for your response !!

I agree that rule 13-2 applies

enjoy you rounds !!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

hey rabbit, welcome to the sandtrap.  im not sure i understand the scenario - you said its a flat bunker but he has a downhill lie?  and how will the sand affect the "trajectory" of the shot?

edit: above

I think by "flat" he meant no lip, hence the reason the opponent wants to putt the ball from his downhill lie.  That's what I picture in my head at least.

When I first read it, I didn't realize that the caddy of the player who was in the bunker was the culprit.

@David in FL what if it happened as I first read it in my mind ... and your opponents caddy screwed up your line of putt coming out of the bunker.  You could fix that, right?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I didn't realize the player wanted to putt out of the bunker.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

@David in FL what if it happened as I first read it in my mind ... and your opponents caddy screwed up your line of putt coming out of the bunker.  You could fix that, right?

Yep.  Assuming it happened after your ball entered the bunker, you're entitled to have the bunker restored to it's original condition.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I didn't realize the player wanted to putt out of the bunker.

In answering the question, it doesn't matter how the player wants to play the stroke.  All that matters for this ruling is that the affected area of sand lies in the bunker on his line of play.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0