• Announcements

    • iacas

      Create a Signature!   02/05/2016

      Everyone, go here and edit your signature this week: http://thesandtrap.com/settings/signature/.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
cocobryce

Checking alignment after shot/putt

8 posts in this topic

8.2 Indicating Line Of Play

Except on the putting green , a player may have the line of play indicated to him by anyone, but no one may be positioned by the player on or close to the line or an extension of the line beyond the hole while the stroke is being made. Any mark placed by the player or with his knowledge to indicate the line must be removed before the stroke is made.

I often have problems with my alignment. I presume it is okay to place a club down AFTER playing your shot on the fairway or the green? I have been doing this recently but cannot find anything in the rules.

Kind Regards,

Colin.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to get rid of this advertisement? Sign up (or log in) today! It's free!

Actually I think I remember reading that you can place an alignment stuck before you take your shot as long as you remove it before taking the shot.. Not sure if same rule applies on the putting green but from what you just mentioned sounds to me like yes you can ie place an object to mark the line but have it moved before the shot.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Actually I think I remember reading that you can place an alignment stuck before you take your shot as long as you remove it before taking the shot.. Not sure if same rule applies on the putting green but from what you just mentioned sounds to me like yes you can ie place an object to mark the line but have it moved before the shot

You cannot use an alignment stick at all.  It is unusual equipment and using it would be a breach or Rule 14-3 leading to  disqualification.

See Decision 14-3/10.3

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-14/#d14-3-10.3

You can lay  a club across your feet to check alignment before a stroke provided you pick it up before making the stroke.

See Decision 8-2a/1

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-08/#d8-2a-1

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:

Originally Posted by Abu3baid

Actually I think I remember reading that you can place an alignment stuck before you take your shot as long as you remove it before taking the shot.. Not sure if same rule applies on the putting green but from what you just mentioned sounds to me like yes you can ie place an object to mark the line but have it moved before the shot

You cannot use an alignment stick at all.  It is unusual equipment and using it would be a breach or Rule 14-3 leading to  disqualification.

See Decision 14-3/10.3

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-14/#d14-3-10.3

You can lay  a club across your feet to check alignment before a stroke provided you pick it up before making the stroke.

See Decision 8-2a/1

http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-08/#d8-2a-1

Yep.  No training aids of any kind can be used during play.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes fair enough regarding the training aids, but can you lay a club down, after your stoke, especially on the putting surface?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes fair enough regarding the training aids, but can you lay a club down, after your stoke, especially on the putting surface?

Yes. After your stroke there is no line of play or line of putt (except for the next stroke, if there is one).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes fair enough regarding the training aids, but can you lay a club down, after your stoke, especially on the putting surface?

On occasion I put a club across my feet after a shot to see where they were pointing.  The occasion is when I play a perfectly straight shot  way off line. :8)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You cannot use an alignment stick at all.  It is unusual equipment and using it would be a breach or Rule 14-3 leading to  disqualification. See Decision 14-3/10.3 [URL=http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-14/#d14-3-10.3]http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-14/#d14-3-10.3[/URL] You can lay  a club across your feet to check alignment before a stroke provided you pick it up before making the stroke. See Decision 8-2a/1  [URL=http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-08/#d8-2a-1]http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-08/#d8-2a-1[/URL]

Thanks Colin, I appreciate that.. I must have read that it is allowed to lay the club down and then extrapolated that to the alignment sticks incorrectly! Thanks again.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards and Achievements

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0