Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Lift, clean and place??


Note: This thread is 5543 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Got a rule question here.

Im playing Sunday but they are calling for rain all of saturday meaning the course will be nice and sloppy. Whats the deal with lift clean and place and if we play that way, can I still post my scores??

Thanks!

Jim

In my Ogio Blade Stand Bag:
 

TaylorMade Burner 10.5*

Adams Insight BUL 15*
Taylormade RBZ 3H

TaylorMade RBZ 4-AW

Vokey SM4 54-11

Cleveland CG14 58 2 dot wedge

Ping Karsten Series Craz-E putter

Top Flite Gamer


Source: USGA Handicap Manual
Scores made when a local rule for preferred lies and/or winter rules is in effect must be posted for handicap purposes unless the committee (preferably the Handicap Committee in consultation with the committee in charge of the course) determines that conditions are so poor that such scores should not be posted. Individual players playing the course do not independently decide whether scores are acceptable because of this condition. If an individual decides to apply some form of this local rule and the committee has not invoked such a rule, the player's score is acceptable and must be posted for handicap purposes.


http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Handi...anual/Rule-07/

Ogio Grom | Callaway X Hot Pro | Callaway X-Utility 3i | Mizuno MX-700 23º | Titleist Vokey SM 52.08, 58.12 | Mizuno MX-700 15º | Titleist 910 D2 9,5º | Scotty Cameron Newport 2 | Titleist Pro V1x and Taylormade Penta | Leupold GX-1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

So assuming lift clean and place is in play, how does the rule work. Mark my ball, clean it, and where do I have to replace the ball??

I have a feeling that I'll be getting better lies than the original lie especially if I have a complete mudball that indented itself into the fairway. Just wanna make sure this is acceptable.

Thanks Zeph

Jim

In my Ogio Blade Stand Bag:
 

TaylorMade Burner 10.5*

Adams Insight BUL 15*
Taylormade RBZ 3H

TaylorMade RBZ 4-AW

Vokey SM4 54-11

Cleveland CG14 58 2 dot wedge

Ping Karsten Series Craz-E putter

Top Flite Gamer


I belive the area within you place the ball is decided by the Tournament Commitee.

Source: Section 7-1
Having lifted the ball, he must place it on a spot within [specify area, e.g., six inches, one club-length, etc.] of and not nearer the hole than where it originally lay, that is not in a hazard and not on a putting green.


Improving the lie is kinda the whole point about this rule. Yes, you can lift, clean and place the ball perfectly perched up on the grass. The lie does not have to be bad for you to use this rule. It can be used on every shot if you want, as long as it's according to the rules (closely mown area etc.).

It's up to the commitee to decide whether the advantages with this rule is acceptable or not.

Make sure you mark the ball before you pick it up to replace it, or you'll be penalized.

Ogio Grom | Callaway X Hot Pro | Callaway X-Utility 3i | Mizuno MX-700 23º | Titleist Vokey SM 52.08, 58.12 | Mizuno MX-700 15º | Titleist 910 D2 9,5º | Scotty Cameron Newport 2 | Titleist Pro V1x and Taylormade Penta | Leupold GX-1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

you have to place it within 6" of where you marked it.

edit:

Are you allowed to brush against the grain of the grass to make it stick up and place it on that.
I'm not sure about that.

My Clubs
Driver - LV4 10* R flex
Wood - sam snead persimmon 2 wood (for windy days)
Hybrid burner tour launch 20* stiff flex.
Irons - Tour Mode 3i,4i stiffIrons - FP's 5-PW R-flexWedge - spin milled 54.14Wedge - spin milled 60.07Putter - Victoria Lowest round 2010: 79 (par 70)Latest rounds at...


The lift/clean/place rule is also typically applied ONLY on closely mowed areas, i.e. it applies on the fairway and fringe but not in the rough, where you have to play it as it lies.

  Clambake said:
The lift/clean/place rule is also typically applied ONLY on closely mowed areas, i.e. it applies on the fairway and fringe but not in the rough, where you have to play it as it lies.

Ahhhh, thanks for sharing that. So in the rough, play it as it lies, even if its a severe mud ball?? Thats good to know. I know the reaction I will get if I ask the clubhouse if its lift/clean/place. He'll say, "do whatever you want". Public courses, they really dont care.

Thanks for the input everyone. So only tight lies get the lift/clean/place treatment sunday then. Jim

In my Ogio Blade Stand Bag:
 

TaylorMade Burner 10.5*

Adams Insight BUL 15*
Taylormade RBZ 3H

TaylorMade RBZ 4-AW

Vokey SM4 54-11

Cleveland CG14 58 2 dot wedge

Ping Karsten Series Craz-E putter

Top Flite Gamer


That is incorrect. The Commitee decide how much of the course the rule applies to.

Source: USGA Rules Appendix I, Part A, 4a
Course conditions that might interfere with proper playing of the game, including mud and extreme wetness, warranting relief for an embedded ball anywhere through the green or permitting lifting, cleaning and replacing a ball anywhere through the green or on a closely mown area through the green .


Before someone asks:

Source: Definitions

"Through the green" is the whole area of the course except:

a. The teeing ground and putting green of the hole being played; and
b. All hazards on the course.

"Closely mown area" means any area of the course, including paths through the rough, cut to fairway height or less.

Ogio Grom | Callaway X Hot Pro | Callaway X-Utility 3i | Mizuno MX-700 23º | Titleist Vokey SM 52.08, 58.12 | Mizuno MX-700 15º | Titleist 910 D2 9,5º | Scotty Cameron Newport 2 | Titleist Pro V1x and Taylormade Penta | Leupold GX-1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  kleraudio said:
Ahhhh, thanks for sharing that. So in the rough, play it as it lies, even if its a severe mud ball?? Thats good to know. I know the reaction I will get if I ask the clubhouse if its lift/clean/place. He'll say, "do whatever you want". Public courses, they really dont care.

What zeph said

Just ask before you go out about the rulings

My Clubs
Driver - LV4 10* R flex
Wood - sam snead persimmon 2 wood (for windy days)
Hybrid burner tour launch 20* stiff flex.
Irons - Tour Mode 3i,4i stiffIrons - FP's 5-PW R-flexWedge - spin milled 54.14Wedge - spin milled 60.07Putter - Victoria Lowest round 2010: 79 (par 70)Latest rounds at...


Also, only in YOUR fairway.

In my bag:

Driver: Titleist TSi3 | 15º 3-Wood: Ping G410 | 17º 2-Hybrid: Ping G410 | 19º 3-Iron: TaylorMade GAPR Lo |4-PW Irons: Nike VR Pro Combo | 54º SW, 60º LW: Titleist Vokey SM8 | Putter: Odyssey Toulon Las Vegas H7

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
  jamo said:
Also, only in YOUR fairway.

The rules make no such distinction, no.

Tee boxes also count as a closely mown area.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

In my Sunday game this applies to balls in the fairway. Nothing in the rough can be cleaned. Basically what Zeph said.

But I believe the term used loosely is "rollin em"

Kyle Paulhus

If you really want to get better, check out Evolvr

:callaway: Rogue ST 10.5* | :callaway: Epic Sub Zero 15* | :tmade: P790 3 Driving Iron |:titleist: 716 AP2 |  :edel: Wedges 50/54/68 | :edel: Deschutes 36"

Career Low Round: 67 (18 holes), 32 (9 holes)

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  iacas said:
The rules make no such distinction, no.

Really? Every time i play in a match or whatever they always say that. Maybe it's a local rule or just something made up.

In my bag:

Driver: Titleist TSi3 | 15º 3-Wood: Ping G410 | 17º 2-Hybrid: Ping G410 | 19º 3-Iron: TaylorMade GAPR Lo |4-PW Irons: Nike VR Pro Combo | 54º SW, 60º LW: Titleist Vokey SM8 | Putter: Odyssey Toulon Las Vegas H7

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don't think you can just decide to LCP on your own. The course has to call the rule into play for the day. My home course VERY rarely has ever called LCP. On league night if it is wet, they will place a sign at the first tee, and 99.99999% of the time it will say "PLay it down" as the game was intended to be played. JMO of course...

  iacas said:
The rules make no such distinction, no.

If you hook your ball into the adjacent fairway - it's not a "fairway" hit. I think in accordance with equity, a wrong fairway cannot be played LC&P.;

You cannot play a shot from an other hole's tee box either.

driver: FT-i tlcg 9.5˚ (Matrix Ozik XCONN Stiff)
4 wood: G10 (ProLaunch Red FW stiff)
3 -PW: :Titleist: 695 mb (Rifle flighted 6.0)
wedges:, 52˚, 56˚, 60˚
putter: Studio Select Newport 1.5


  • Administrator
  Jay-Bird said:
If you hook your ball into the adjacent fairway - it's not a "fairway" hit. I think in accordance with equity, a wrong fairway cannot be played LC&P.;

That's not how equity works.

And yes, you can play from another hole's tee box. A closely mown area includes all closely mown areas. The only place from which the rules tell you not to hit a shot (well, except ESAs) is on another hole's putting green. The rest of the course is fair game.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don't think you can just decide to LCP on your own. The course has to call the rule into play for the day. My home course VERY rarely has ever called LCP. On league night if it is wet, they will place a sign at the first tee, and 99.99999% of the time it will say "PLay it down" as the game was intended to be played. JMO of course...

If you are playing in a competition,then the local rule must be enacted by the committee. If you are playing a casual round, then it's up to your group how you want to do it (your group is essentially its own committee). Such scores are allowed for handicap because it can only lower your index to play every shot from a favorable lie, not raise it. Thus you hurt your own chances in a competition if you maintain such a vanity handicap.

I play the ball as it lies all winter long, except that on sloppy days I may clean a large clod of mud from the ball when it lies in closely mowed areas. If I do so, I will then replace the ball exactly where it was so that I don't gain any other advantage. Even this I only do rarely.

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I hit a shot dead middle of the fairway last week, a day after it rained really good out here. And I couldnt find the ball. Turns out it dug itself about 4 inches deep into the fairway?? Should I take a penalty for hitting an absolutely perfect shot that hit the middle of the fairway?

How would that work?

Thanks!

Jim

In my Ogio Blade Stand Bag:
 

TaylorMade Burner 10.5*

Adams Insight BUL 15*
Taylormade RBZ 3H

TaylorMade RBZ 4-AW

Vokey SM4 54-11

Cleveland CG14 58 2 dot wedge

Ping Karsten Series Craz-E putter

Top Flite Gamer


Note: This thread is 5543 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    TourStriker
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • Yeah I only managed to get round by trying to play a proper "upright and cut across fade" kinda shot, was hit and miss, still left the course with a 95 and verging on tears 😄 I have a lesson booked this coming Tuesday, I have had one with the same instructor recently but it was our first lesson so didn't get much from it really, I've put below a video's from the lesson but I'm not sure what I can garner from it 😄       
    • Another reason I'd take second place with the meltdown at the end is, at least for our tournament, second place prize money is pretty good. Where as outside the top 25 gets nothing. 
    • Personally, I like to buy new clubs whenever my wife will let me. 🤣 JK - While I do like shiny things. I think the advice @iacas gave you is really good. When you get a fitting it's always wise to compare what ever your hitting to your everyday gamers. 
    • So, I've been there before.  Grip changes always feel wonky.  First things first. Getting a swing coach is always a good idea.  Having said that, if you need a quick fix to get you through the round and it feels way too wonky to switch your grip to a less hooded grip, one thing you can do is hit the ball with your club shaft more vertical. That tends to eliminate the extreme duck hook. (Please note this should be a temporary fix to get you through. I'm not a swing coach and you should get one.) But, if you swing with your club shaft more vertical you can counteract the hooks. This can be accomplished either by moving a bit closer to the ball, or what I like to do is literally swinging with an effort to get your hands just a bit farther from your body. (A little goes a long way here.)  Once again, I'm not a swing coach. I'm also not recommending making a compensation to compensate for a compensation. That leads down a road to despair. But sometimes you just need to get through a round.  I've used this method to get me through a round and it works for me when I'm suffering from iron hooks. By the same token the opposite can work. If your fading the irons too much drop the butt of the club a little lower and it will automatically make you hit it with more draw. BTW - I don't know if I mentioned it, but I'm not a swing coach and you should get one. 
    • Hi All, I recently got back into golf after a 5 year lay off (Covid and life issue related) and what started out as a really great return to the game has very quickly gone to pot! I have developed a very extreme duck hook with all my irons, I'm hitting fat, and at some points I hit it so bad the shooting pain in the back of my hand is excruciating.  My question is, I have noticed that after taking my grip, with the face aligned to target, I take a practice swing, but I appear to re-grip the club and when taking my address position again it is very hooded. To make it even more complicated when I tense/straighten my arms in the setup position it squares slightly, and when I relax my arms it hoods again. If I twizzle the club round in my grip from hooded to square again it feels strange and I hit the worse feeling shots of my life Randomly the more I weaken my grip the more it hooks Has anyone experienced this before or can understand what is going on?  
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

Join us here in The Sand Trap!

Registration is free and takes almost no time. You'll see one fewer ad per page and be ready to jump in and contribute your thoughts to any subject!

Click here to register (registration will open in a new page so you can continue to read what you came to read).

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...