or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › May a player borrow a ball mid-round (Tin Cup)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

May a player borrow a ball mid-round (Tin Cup)

post #1 of 41
Thread Starter 
I know:
1) there is no limit on the number a balls a player may have in his bag;
2) a player must hit the same type of ball during the entire round; and
3) if a player runs out he can be disqualified.

However, I read that a player can borrow a ball as long as it does not slow pace of play. Is this true for recreational golf and tournament play?
post #2 of 41

A player may borrow a conforming ball from anybody and play it, unless it's a tournament with a condition of competition that requires the players to stick with one model of ball throughout the round and he borrows a different model (it must be the same exact model, or else you could presumably gain an advantage). However there is no such requirement in most amatuer events or recreational play, and the pros get free balls from their sponsors run out to them if necessary, so no one's getting disqualified in the US Open. If you don't like getting disqualified, nothing's stopping you from diving in and retrieving the ball for a drop, providing you follow proper procedure for the drop. 

 

John Daly tried to claim this as a rules disqualification when he hit all his balls in the water last year, but his sponsor basically said he was an idiot and they'd have run the balls out to him if he'd wanted. That made some people think the officials DQ'ed him but he just wanted to give up and pretend he wasn't able to continue because of the rules. I imagine you could be disqualified in the rare tournaments that this could happen, but the officials would certainly not want to see a player get eliminated over this unless they had to. 

 

The moral of the story is, if you're playing a tournament, and you're one of those people who ball hunt and haven't purchased a ball since featheries, shell out for a dozen new balls from the same box unless you're sure the rule isn't in effect.

post #3 of 41
Thread Starter 
Thanks. So, in the movie Tin Cup, Roy McIlvoy could have borrowed a ball from Don Johnson's character and finished the roun, which makes what Cheech Marion said inaccurate?
post #4 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tailgater View Post

Thanks. So, in the movie Tin Cup, Roy McIlvoy could have borrowed a ball from Don Johnson's character and finished the roun, which makes what Cheech Marion said inaccurate?

 

He could not have borrowed a ball in that tournament unless they were both playing the same ball.  In high level tournaments like the US Open, the committee institutes the one ball condition, requiring the player to play the same brand and model for the entire round.  If the two players were not using the same ball then borrowing is not an option.

 

In most golf, even in club competitions, that condition is not in effect, so there is no restriction on borrowing a ball from someone else.

post #5 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tailgater View Post

Thanks. So, in the movie Tin Cup, Roy McIlvoy could have borrowed a ball from Don Johnson's character and finished the roun, which makes what Cheech Marion said inaccurate?

Or he could've just laid up.

 

Yes, he could have borrowed a ball, unless DJ was using a different model or didn't agree to give it to him. The US Open is a high level pro tournament and they certainly require you to be able to follow that rule unlike many amateur tournaments. But Cheech probably would walk away at that point so he could've been telling Roy it was the last shot he was sticking around for if you want to interpret it that way. Movies are not the most accurate on the Rules. In real life, being in the final pairing of a major he'd have gotten a volunteer to drive a cart over to the range (as he stole the course's range balls for the tournament in that movie) or the sponsor's equipment tent/van/shed and give him more balls for him to mark and put into play.

post #6 of 41

There's no rule about running out of golf balls and you cannot be disqualified for doing so..  Clearly if you do run out and can't get any more you won't complete your round and be disqualified for that.  Sorry if that sounds pernickety, but if it were a matter of a DQ for running out it wouldn't matter whether you could borrow or not, you'd already be out.

 

As to what you can borrow, the easiest way of remembering is that the only thing you cannot borrow is a club from someone who is also playing on the course. Anything else is fine.

post #7 of 41

I've read that all pro tours like pga, ET, asian and satelites have the one ball condition also called one ball rule.Appendix 1, Part C

 

as for now I have never seen any amateur, or even the highest national events, impose this rule.

 

answers :

 

1 = yes.

2 = it depends.

3 = it's not runing out of balls that will cause disqualification.

post #8 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubble View Post
 

I've read that all pro tours like pga, ET, asian and satelites have the one ball condition also called one ball rule.Appendix 1, Part C as for now I have never seen any amateur, or even the highest national events, impose this rule.

 

The Erie county tournaments in which I played when I was an amateur used the one-ball rule.

post #9 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColinL View Post

 

As to what you can borrow, the easiest way of remembering is that the only thing you cannot borrow is a club from someone who is also playing on the course. Anything else is fine.

I believe a player may use another players club. There are certain conditions which it may be legal.

 

To OP, our Mens Stroke Play Tournament uses "One Ball" ruling as per USGA.

The Head Pro sets up shop under the Starters Tent and sells a ton of balls this weekend.

 

Most golfers usually become attached to a certain style/brand ball and will only play this ball for years.

So, it is really uncommon for a player to run out of golf balls in an event.

 

Of course, Hollywood is known for "dramatics's" they could care less about "realities and USGA rules" as per in the "Tin Cup" movie.

 

Club Rat

post #10 of 41

In my opinion, the one ball condition should never be used at any level of competition.  It is a condition which has outlived its usefulness (if it ever had one!).
Certainly it should never be used at any amateur events or club events. 

post #11 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Club Rat View Post
 

I believe a player may use another players club. There are certain conditions which it may be legal.

 

To OP, our Mens Stroke Play Tournament uses "One Ball" ruling as per USGA.

The Head Pro sets up shop under the Starters Tent and sells a ton of balls this weekend.

 

Most golfers usually become attached to a certain style/brand ball and will only play this ball for years.

So, it is really uncommon for a player to run out of golf balls in an event.

 

Of course, Hollywood is known for "dramatics's" they could care less about "realities and USGA rules" as per in the "Tin Cup" movie.

 

Club Rat

 

Perhaps you can explain the "certain conditions"?

 

The Head Pro obviously has ulterior motives for implementing the one ball condition.

post #12 of 41

I knew my comment would raise some "Eyebrows"

 

IF, a player borrows a club from another play, this club "NOW" becomes that players equipment and remains in their bag for the remainder of the round.

If that player does not exceed the "Maximum Club Allowed" 14 clubs he is still within USGA Rules.

The player who loaned the club may not use this club the remainder of the round.

 

RulesMan, need some help here, I've opened a "Can of Worms"

 

Our Head Pro is a very good Business Man and knows the right opportunities to increase "Sales"

 

Club Rat

post #13 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogolf View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Club Rat View Post
 

I believe a player may use another players club. There are certain conditions which it may be legal.

 

To OP, our Mens Stroke Play Tournament uses "One Ball" ruling as per USGA.

The Head Pro sets up shop under the Starters Tent and sells a ton of balls this weekend.

 

Most golfers usually become attached to a certain style/brand ball and will only play this ball for years.

So, it is really uncommon for a player to run out of golf balls in an event.

 

Of course, Hollywood is known for "dramatics's" they could care less about "realities and USGA rules" as per in the "Tin Cup" movie.

 

Club Rat

 

Perhaps you can explain the "certain conditions"?

 

The Head Pro obviously has ulterior motives for implementing the one ball condition.

 

1)  I'd be interested in what those conditions are too.  I can't find them in my rule book.

 

2)  Ya think???  There wouldn't be any monetary considerations in play, would there? :doh: 

 

Edit:

 

Quote:

Originally Posted by Club Rat View Post
 

I knew my comment would raise some "Eyebrows"

 

IF, a player borrows a club from another play, this club "NOW" becomes that players equipment and remains in their bag for the remainder of the round.

If that player does not exceed the "Maximum Club Allowed" 14 clubs he is still within USGA Rules.

The player who loaned the club may not use this club the remainder of the round.

 

RulesMan, need some help here, I've opened a "Can of Worms"

 

Our Head Pro is a very good Business Man and knows the right opportunities to increase "Sales"

 

Club Rat

 

 

After player has begun his round, the clubs he carries are considered as being the ones he selected for the round.  They may not be used by any other player playing on the course during that round.

 

Quote:
 

4-4. Maximum Of Fourteen Clubs

a. Selection and Addition of Clubs

The player must not start a stipulated round with more than fourteen clubs. He is limited to the clubs thus selected for that round, except that if he started with fewer than fourteen clubs, he may add any number, provided his total number does not exceed fourteen.

The addition of a club or clubs must not unduly delay play (Rule 6-7) and the player must not add or borrow any club selected for play by any other person playing on the course or by assembling components carried by or for the player during the stipulated round.

b. Partners May Share Clubs

Partners may share clubs, provided that the total number of clubs carried by the partners so sharing does not exceed fourteen.

post #14 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post

b. Partners May Share Clubs

Partners may share clubs, provided that the total number of clubs carried by the partners so sharing does not exceed fourteen.

This is what I was referring to, thanks Fourputt for looking this up.

 

A long time ago, there was a popular scramble event called "The Oldsmobile Scramble"

On the 18th hole approach shot, I did not have my Wedge and use a partners.

 

When we entered the Pro Shop, someone had told the Head Pro and he then approached us for an explanation.

Because, I only had 12 clubs in my bag and did not exceed the limit now with an additional wedge AND my partner did not use the wedge again,

We did not have any penalty for a rules violation.

 

I was stunned when the Head Pro first approached us and thought we would be disqualified.

As it goes, I will always remember this instance, because we Won the event that day.

 

Club Rat

post #15 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Club Rat View Post

This is what I was referring to, thanks Fourputt for looking this up.

A long time ago, there was a popular scramble event called "The Oldsmobile Scramble"
On the 18th hole approach shot, I did not have my Wedge and use a partners.

When we entered the Pro Shop, someone had told the Head Pro and he then approached us for an explanation.
Because, I only had 12 clubs in my bag and did not exceed the limit now with an additional wedge AND my partner did not use the wedge again,
We did not have any penalty for a rules violation.

I was stunned when the Head Pro first approached us and thought we would be disqualified.
As it goes, I will always remember this instance, because we Won the event that day.

Club Rat

Well, you should have been disqualified, unless your partner only had two clubs. The total number of clubs carried by partners who share clubs can not exceed 14 (Rule 4-4b quoted above). You may add clubs, but not from anyone else playing on the course.
Take the prize back!
post #16 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Club Rat View Post

 

A long time ago, there was a popular scramble event called "The Oldsmobile Scramble"

On the 18th hole approach shot, I did not have my Wedge and use a partners.

 

When we entered the Pro Shop, someone had told the Head Pro and he then approached us for an explanation.

Because, I only had 12 clubs in my bag and did not exceed the limit now with an additional wedge AND my partner did not use the wedge again,

We did not have any penalty for a rules violation.

 

I was stunned when the Head Pro first approached us and thought we would be disqualified.

As it goes, I will always remember this instance, because we Won the event that day.

 

Club Rat

Oh dear.  :naughty:     Just as Rogolf has said ...... except you can keep the silver-plated pot.

post #17 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogolf View Post
 

In my opinion, the one ball condition should never be used at any level of competition.  It is a condition which has outlived its usefulness (if it ever had one!).

 

I disagree. Pick your ball and play with it. There are still times and holes where I could switch to a spinner golf ball, and others where distance is ideal. Some balls fly better in side winds, etc.

post #18 of 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post

I disagree. Pick your ball and play with it. There are still times and holes where I could switch to a spinner golf ball, and others where distance is ideal. Some balls fly better in side winds, etc.

I said it was my opinion, and it still is. If that was the way the ruling bodies wanted the game to be played, they would make it a Rule, not an optional condition of competition. The Rules themselves permit players to change balls.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › May a player borrow a ball mid-round (Tin Cup)