Jump to content
IGNORED

Marker Doesn't Sign Card: Who Is in the Wrong?


Nail
 Share

Note: This thread is 816 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

4 hours ago, MacDutch said:

Where I live, you check the result first. Then the marker signs and gives the card back. This might differ for the USA, but thats how it works here in Spain. Played many tournaments over here. So yes, I will point a finger. Skunky move by the marker who knows this is possibly the best card (relative to handicap) the player ever carded. I would be rooting for him, if I was the marker. I would make sure my part would be done for sure.

 

What complete and utter nonsense. First of all, 42 points will rarely guarantee a win in a stableford competition in a grade where there are guys playing off 20..

Secondly - where is the "Skunky move"? That would be the case if the marker submitted the card before giving it to the player to check and sign.

Thirdly, when I have a decent score I check signatures several times - almost to an obsessive degree - and so should everybody.

There is not one single iota of blame upon anyone but the player. 

I'll tell you how this sort of stuff usually happens: A player gives an ALREADY SIGNED card to his marker on the first or second tee. The marker marks it, doesn't sign it and submits it. The player has stupidly assumed that the marker signed it.

There are absolutely no grey areas in the OP's dilemma in this thread. He is 100% wrong. What I find disturbing is tat the the player thought it wasn't his fault. On what possible basis?

1 hour ago, Nail said:

 

He still got cut two strokes though lol so he is now off 18 and he got no prize for his efforts 😂

Why? It shoud have been a DQ.

Edited by leftybutnotPM
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Moderator
4 minutes ago, leftybutnotPM said:

Why? It shoud have been a DQ.

I don't know the CONGU rules, but in the USGA areas, a player's score is still submitted for handicap in most situations where a DQ is warranted.  And with the "ratchet" system that CONGU uses, I could see his handicap being reduced by 2 strokes with such a good score.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

I don't know the CONGU rules, but in the USGA areas, a player's score is still submitted for handicap in most situations where a DQ is warranted.  And with the "ratchet" system that CONGU uses, I could see his handicap being reduced by 2 strokes with such a good score.

You are probably right -  I think this is to prevent people from manipulating their handicaps. An NCR can result in a handicap going down for low markers.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


23 hours ago, leftybutnotPM said:

What complete and utter nonsense. First of all, 42 points will rarely guarantee a win in a stableford competition in a grade where there are guys playing off 20..

Secondly - where is the "Skunky move"? That would be the case if the marker submitted the card before giving it to the player to check and sign.

Thirdly, when I have a decent score I check signatures several times - almost to an obsessive degree - and so should everybody.

There is not one single iota of blame upon anyone but the player. 

I'll tell you how this sort of stuff usually happens: A player gives an ALREADY SIGNED card to his marker on the first or second tee. The marker marks it, doesn't sign it and submits it. The player has stupidly assumed that the marker signed it.

There are absolutely no grey areas in the OP's dilemma in this thread. He is 100% wrong. What I find disturbing is tat the the player thought it wasn't his fault. On what possible basis?

Why? It shoud have been a DQ.

It was a DQ but the club still cut him, I assume because he played to a certain standard shooting an 85 so they cut him.

btw I’m the OP but not the player or the marker. I’d never make the mistake to not get a good score signed

23 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

I don't know the CONGU rules, but in the USGA areas, a player's score is still submitted for handicap in most situations where a DQ is warranted.  And with the "ratchet" system that CONGU uses, I could see his handicap being reduced by 2 strokes with such a good score.

Ya I think he was off 19.9 before and he shot 5 points over the competition standard scratch for the day so (5 x 0.3) 1.5 off his handicap is 18.4 so playing handicap goes from 20 to 18. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas changed the title to Marker Doesn't Sign Card: Who Is in the Wrong?
Note: This thread is 816 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • The US team might get worse, too. This was the best US team ever assembled. Just over a decade ago at the 2010 Ryder Cup, the US was taking a 21-year old Rickie Fowler, a 37-year old Stewart Cink, and Jeff Overton. Scheffler was the lowest ranked US player this time, with a world ranking of 21. The 2010 team had 4 players ranked worse than that. It's pretty incredible how good the 2021 team is in comparison to that. It may just be a fluke thing for the US to have such a strong team.  Also, what if Patrick Reed automatically qualifies in 2023? That could be a bad thing, given how much baggage Reed brings to the team.
    • We're all friendlies so let's just be... friendly!  
    • Europe will get a little better once Rory starts playing like Rory again. But then again, Rahm and Rory aren’t going to be enough.  Hovland will get better, too. 
    • Well…it was quite an ass kicking and the USA team isn’t going to get any weaker nor the Euro team any stronger unless something remarkable happens.
    • Wish we could say "Only in Idaho".
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bandstan
      bandstan
      (51 years old)
    2. boobiemiles
      boobiemiles
      (30 years old)
    3. ButterCuts1372
      ButterCuts1372
      (36 years old)
    4. Dombaker
      Dombaker
      (25 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...