Jump to content
IGNORED

Provisional Question


Mesa4234
 Share

Note: This thread is 1093 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

On the 4th hole of my round today, the skies opened up and it started pouring. My second shot was from the short rough but had to go through a tree or two. I hit the shot, it felt good and made it through the trees, but no one saw it land, and we couldn't see the ball from where we were because of the rain. I hit a provisional from around the same spot and continued on the hole. When we get up to the green  (after hitting the provisional and another shot with the provisional ball) I found my original ball just off the green. 

I then played the original ball and no one questioned it. My question is, can I go back to playing the original ball after hitting a provisional and then playing it with another shot?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


5 minutes ago, Mesa4234 said:

On the 4th hole of my round today, the skies opened up and it started pouring. My second shot was from the short rough but had to go through a tree or two. I hit the shot, it felt good and made it through the trees, but no one saw it land, and we couldn't see the ball from where we were because of the rain. I hit a provisional from around the same spot and continued on the hole. When we get up to the green  (after hitting the provisional and another shot with the provisional ball) I found my original ball just off the green. 

I then played the original ball and no one questioned it. My question is, can I go back to playing the original ball after hitting a provisional and then playing it with another shot?

Yes you can ... you can play the provisional up to the point where your ball is likely to be without forfeiting the opportunity to find and play the original.

  • Thumbs Up 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
48 minutes ago, Golfingdad said:

Yes you can ... you can play the provisional up to the point where your ball is likely to be without forfeiting the opportunity to find and play the original.

To build off of that, you have to make a determination of where your original ball is likely to be. If you play a shot with a provisional ball at a spot beyond that (nearer to the hole than the spot at which your original ball is likely to be, as judged by y'all), then the original ball is abandoned and your provisional is the ball in play.

If you later find your original ball nearer to the hole than your provisional, it doesn't matter. It's where you think it's likely to be.

  • Thumbs Up 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

16 hours ago, iacas said:

... the spot at which your original ball is likely to be, as judged by y'all ...

So this is basically it.  If you guys considered it reasonable for the ball to have ended up where you found it, then you were good to keep playing it.  And considering:

 

17 hours ago, Mesa4234 said:

... I hit the shot, it felt good and made it through the trees...

it seems pretty reasonable to me that it would be likely to have been near the green, right where you found it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, Golfingdad said:

 

 

it seems pretty reasonable to me that it would be likely to have been near the green, right where you found it.

I honestly though it could be over there, but with the downpour, I didn't want to take any chances, especially with the visibility so low. 

 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Philosophically speaking...If you forget why you asked a question, in the first place, you may ask a provisional question, or questions, until such time as you recall what it was you were on about.  At that point you have to resume your previous inquiry...or declare the thread lost.

In der bag:
Cleveland Hi-Bore driver, Maltby 5 wood, Maltby hybrid, Maltby irons and wedges (23 to 50) Vokey 59/07, Cleveland Niblick (LH-42), and a Maltby mallet putter.                                                                                                                                                 "When the going gets tough...it's tough to get going."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1093 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • I doubt it was really intentional, but...    
    • And if there were, as @boogielicious points out, would it be reasonable to expect anybody to be able to play both at a time? Of course not - that idea is absurd.
    • Oh man, I would LOVE for one of those guys to say that under oath. But at the end of the day, not one of those guys in that lawsuit said they were leaving for money.  They were leaving for a "better schedule", to "spend more time with their families", or "to grow the game of golf."  They were also aware that LIV was an international organization, the LIV website literally calls themself an "International Golf Series."  They were aware of the format at the time they joined, they were aware of the schedule.  They were also made very aware of what the penalty would be from the PGA Tour if they joined.  They had all of that information in advance, and made a choice.  Now to come back and say that? Understand you're playing devils advocate, but that argument coming from these professionals should have no legs to stand on in a legal setting.
    • Playing devils advocate here because I can't comprehend what its like to be a millionaire and want to be a zillionaire - but I think the point is there is no competition in LIV just money. Thus still no meaningful choice to them. LIV can pay but can't provide competition, PGA Tour has the competition but doesn't pay that well. Most PGA Tour players are not making a ton of money, especially compared to other US sports.
    • Day 650: Played 18 this morning at North Kingstown. Driver was dreadful. I’m at a loss as to what is different on the course.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. JoeInPI
      JoeInPI
      (49 years old)
    2. meenman
      meenman
      (53 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...