Jump to content
IGNORED

Out of Bounds (not off tee)


Sol
 Share

Note: This thread is 1033 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

So yesterday I hit a perfect drive On a par 5 and proceeded to go for the green in 2.  I ended up pulling my 2nd shot left of green.  Shot was pin high but way left.   I couldn’t  really see where it went so I did not even think to hit a provisional.  Once I walked up to green  I realized that my ball likely went out of bounds pin high.  Rather than walk back to original spot from the fairway I figured I should just take advantage of the new rules where you can take 2 strokes and drop a ball in the fairway.  So, I dropped a ball in just in front of the green and took 2 strokes. I then 2 putted for what I thought would be a 6.  is this Legit for amateur play?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator

If the Local Rule is in effect, sure.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

10 hours ago, Sol said:

So yesterday I hit a perfect drive On a par 5 and proceeded to go for the green in 2.  I ended up pulling my 2nd shot left of green.  Shot was pin high but way left.   I couldn’t  really see where it went so I did not even think to hit a provisional.  Once I walked up to green  I realized that my ball likely went out of bounds pin high.  Rather than walk back to original spot from the fairway I figured I should just take advantage of the new rules where you can take 2 strokes and drop a ball in the fairway.  So, I dropped a ball in just in front of the green and took 2 strokes. I then 2 putted for what I thought would be a 6.  is this Legit for amateur play?

As @iacas says, the local rule must be in effect for this to be an acceptable option.  The way you worded this makes me wonder a bit whether you were "no closer to the hole" than the point where the ball crossed the OB line, that's a part of the local rule requirements.  Similarly, you cannot go more than 2 clublengths from the edge of the fairway.

 

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

As @iacas says, the local rule must be in effect for this to be an acceptable option.  The way you worded this makes me wonder a bit whether you were "no closer to the hole" than the point where the ball crossed the OB line, that's a part of the local rule requirements.  Similarly, you cannot go more than 2 clublengths from the edge of the fairway.

 

Thanks! Makes sense. I probably should have backed up away from hole a bit more but I’m glad to know the rule applies to OB even when when not on the tee box. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


15 minutes ago, Sol said:

Thanks! Makes sense. I probably should have backed up away from hole a bit more but I’m glad to know the rule applies to OB even when when not on the tee box. 

Yeah...you’re disqualified and not welcome back to the course.😆

  • Like 1

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1033 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • That article lost me with this statement: A quick search of the PGAT 2022 money list found that #100 of 200 has earned around $1.2 million dollars. Hardly struggling, unless you have the financial acumen of a can of spam.
    • I'm not so sure that it has no standing just based on what other sports have been through and Golf has mostly avoided so far. How Long Will The PGA Handicap Its Golfers? Unlike the NBA, MLB and NFL, the PGA Tour considers golfers to be independent contractors, and they have to pay their own expenses, including extensive travel, caddy and coaching costs, entry fees, and even a $50...    
    • I wish this was the case for me. being just shy of 5'-9" I find that the driver swing is much different that say my PW. With the PW I am standing much closer to the ball and my swing plane is more vertical. My driver seems much more horizontal and I also work to hit up on it. Maybe I am too 1-plane? I know it might be a little off-topic.
    • Okay, I did this today. Perhaps I did it just a little differently than everyone else. I put 5 balls in a circle around the hole at 8 feet. (Sort of the "clock drill" everyone is familiar with but with only 5 balls and at 8 feet.) Then after I putted those, I did the exact same thing, but put the 5 galls in a circle around the hole at 12 feet. Here are my results: 8 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 8 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 8 foot - made it = +4 points 8 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 8 foot - 3 putt = - 4 points 12 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 12 foot - made it = +8 points 12 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 12 foot - not past the hole - 2 putt = -1 points 12 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points Total = 13 points.  I look forward to trying this again to improve upon that 13 points.   
    • I doubt it was really intentional, but...    
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. JoeInPI
      JoeInPI
      (49 years old)
    2. meenman
      meenman
      (53 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...