IGNORED

USGA handicap system is bogus

azflying
Note: This thread is 5913 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I play in two leagues, one that uses a "league handicap" and the other uses the "official USGA handicap".

I've played in two tournaments with group using the USGA handicap in the D-flight (15-18 handicap) and both times someone in my foursome shot an 82. Wow..career rounds just in time to win all the money...how about that.

I post every round I play, good and bad, because I believe that is the intent of the USGA handicap system.

It is now my opinion that there are a significant number of people who only post their worst rounds to improve their tournament results. Now I am new to golf and maybe this has gone on since the beginning of time, but I am totally soured on the use of USGA handicaps and will no longer participate in any tournament that uses them where the cost of the prize fund is more than $10. I am OK with someone cheating me out of $10, but no more.

The other league uses the league handicap which works great because you may walk off with the cash once or twice but your handicap will go down and there is no way to pad it back up with a bunch of bogus rounds no one sees.

I think this is a problem, maybe I am alone.

In my Nexos
HiBore XLS Draw Driver
X-hybrid 4,5
Fusion Wide Sole 6-AW
Black Pearl CG10 54/14, CG12 DSG 64 Vokey SM Oil Can 60/8 Spider Pro V1x HX Hot Bite

• Administrator