Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Cink DQ'd - crazy rule


Note: This thread is 6468 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
A person shouldn't have to back peddle from one bunker to the next in order to rake where they first hit.

The player would have to finish the round before raking the bunker...right? What if this situation happened on the 3rd hole, and the player is in the bunker on the 15th hole. This rule would still affect him/her as "testing the conditions of a similar hazard".

Drive for show, putt for dough


PutterKarsten Anser2
WedgesX-Forged 52* 58*IronsX-20 tours P-3HybridX 21 stiff4-wood R9 17 mitsubishi rayon fubuki StiffDriver R9 11.5 mitsubishi rayon fubuki Stiff

Posted
I thought the rake end would not qualify for testing of a bunker, however if you stuck the handle in, that would be considered testing it?
In my bag:
Driver : 905R 9.5*
3 Wood: Big Bertha Titanium 15*
5 Wood: Big Bertha Titanium 19*
Irons : 755Wedges: Vokey 50* Wedges: 588 DSG 56* Putter: 2 Ball Lined Blade 35Ball : ProV1

  • Administrator
Posted
I thought the rake end would not qualify for testing of a bunker, however if you stuck the handle in, that would be considered testing it?

Rakes always qualify.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
The player would have to finish the round before raking the bunker...right? What if this situation happened on the 3rd hole, and the player is in the bunker on the 15th hole. This rule would still affect him/her as "testing the conditions of a similar hazard".

The player would be allowed to rake the initial bunker after they hit the shot out of the second bunker, granted that shot didn't end up in a third bunker.

I believe had that shot ended up not going in another bunker(ended up somewhere like the green, fairway, rough), then he would have been allowed to rake the bunker he was standing in.
My Bag

Driver: Sumo 460 10.5º Stiff
4 & 7 Woods: T-40 Stiff
Irons: Tight Lies GT 3-PWWedges: Tom Watson SignaturePutter: Daiwa DG-245Ball: One PlatinumGone Golfin'

Posted
The player would be allowed to rake the initial bunker after they hit the shot out of the second bunker, granted that shot didn't end up in a third bunker.

This is correct...to avoid the DQ Cink or the caddy would have had to go back after hitting out of the 2nd bunker and raked the 1st bunker.....which is stupid...what if a player teeing off hit in the same 1st bunker in Cinks footprints??? Like they said on TV, pace of play would be an issue..


Posted
so if i understand correctly, the only thing that would have been "right" for him to do would be.....
1. hit his shot
2. go to the bunker he hit into
3. hit his shot, rake that bunker
4. run back (or send caddy) to rake the bunker from the previous shot

wow, that is mentally ill. i understand testing a hazard, but COME ON! somebody in the USGA needs to take off their stiff pants and put on their big boy boots and get rid of this rule

driver- R580XD 9.5*
3 wood- m/speed
hybrid- cft ti 4h
irons- fp 4-gap
wedges- 54* and RAC satin 56* 12 bounceputter- 1/2 Craz-Eballs- DT Carry, e5, anything found thats is good shapeshoes-adidashome course - nothing - uh oh. perhaps pleasant view againschool...


  • Administrator
Posted
The player would be allowed to rake the initial bunker after they hit the shot out of the second bunker, granted that shot didn't end up in a third bunker.

No, I think that's incorrect. If the shot ended up in a third bunker, he'd have already played his "initial shot" from the bunker and thus would be free of this rule.

I believe had that shot ended up not going in another bunker(ended up somewhere like the green, fairway, rough), then he would have been allowed to rake the bunker he was standing in.

Yes, that's true. So if you're standing in a greenside bunker and chip onto the green, you can rake the bunker. You could then subsequently putt into a bunker and not incur a penalty for having previously raked.

Or you can chip it into the bunker you're standing in, blast out across the green into another bunker, rake the one you were standing in, and then go play your next shot from the other bunker.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
No, I think that's incorrect. If the shot ended up in a third bunker, he'd have already played his "initial shot" from the bunker and thus would be free of this rule.

I was kinda joking about the third bunker, but I see where you are coming from, once the initial shot from the bunker is played you can rake.

Or you can chip it into the bunker you're standing in, blast out across the green into another bunker, rake the one you were standing in, and then go play your next shot from the other bunker.

Was that you behind me watching me play the other day???

My Bag

Driver: Sumo 460 10.5º Stiff
4 & 7 Woods: T-40 Stiff
Irons: Tight Lies GT 3-PWWedges: Tom Watson SignaturePutter: Daiwa DG-245Ball: One PlatinumGone Golfin'

Posted
wtf so what if i was standing in a bunker and ball out of the bunker and hit into another bunker i would have to hit from the other bunker and then go back and rack that one but what if the caddy racks it then tells me if the sand is hard or soft

Posted
wtf so what if i was standing in a bunker and ball out of the bunker and hit into another bunker i would have to hit from the other bunker and then go back and rack that one

Exactly right

My Bag

Driver: Sumo 460 10.5º Stiff
4 & 7 Woods: T-40 Stiff
Irons: Tight Lies GT 3-PWWedges: Tom Watson SignaturePutter: Daiwa DG-245Ball: One PlatinumGone Golfin'

Posted
I believe he was only DQ'd because the incedent occured on a previous day and he had already signed his card. Had he realized his fault before the end of the round, he would have only been penalized a stroke or two. He was DQ's because he signed an incorrect scorecard.

Right?

Driver: Cobra somthin
3 wood: Big Bertha Warbird (yeah its old)
5 wodd: Big Bertha Warbird
Irons: TaylorMade 360 3-PW
SW: Titleist 981SL (54*)LW: Titleist Vokey 58*Putter: Odessey Duel Force 2


Posted
I believe he was only DQ'd because the incedent occured on a previous day and he had already signed his card. Had he realized his fault before the end of the round, he would have only been penalized a stroke or two. He was DQ's because he signed an incorrect scorecard.

That is correct.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I believe he was only DQ'd because the incedent occured on a previous day and he had already signed his card. Had he realized his fault before the end of the round, he would have only been penalized a stroke or two. He was DQ's because he signed an incorrect scorecard.

this is correct... penalty for testing conditions is 2 strokes... but he had already signed.

My Clubs: Callaway FT-i Tour LCG 9.5° w/ Matrix Ozik Xcon 6 stiff; Sonartec GS Tour 14° w/ Graphite Design Red Ice 70 stiff; Adams Idea Pro 2h(18°) & 3h(20°) w/ Aldila VS Proto 80 stiff; Adams Idea Pro Forged 4-PW w/ TT Black Gold stiff; Cleveland CG12 DSG RTG 52°-10° & 58°-10°; Odyssey...

Note: This thread is 6468 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    PlayBetter
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FitForGolf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-20%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack/FitForGolf, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope. 15% off TourStriker (no code).
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • Day 22: mirror work for a while. Working on my elbow in the downswing - keeping it in a better position. 
    • Day 36 (16 Dec 25) - continued the exaggerated left foot weight shift trigger adding some easy low flighted pitches with the 5h and a few putting style bump and runs with the 5h as well.
    • Day 442 - 2025-12-16 Got some swings in at an indoor academy a little south of Erie.
    • Has anyone played the new Maxfli forged irons? For the first time in I don't know how many years, they have come out with new clubs. From what I read, Maxfli was bought by Taylor Made a long time ago which then took all of their ball making technology and patents in order to get into that market. The club business was left to whither and the reorganized company, now a part of Dicks / Golfworks / Maltby, is producing these new clubs. (Their Tour X balls which I play are really good.) Anyway, I tried them both out at Golf Galaxy. There's a player's distance iron (XC-3) and a blade (XC-2) and both feel really, really nice, almost "Mizuno-like" in their soft buttery feel and they're a bargain at $800 for a set. I'm planning to ditch my Titleist's and want to go back to a forged iron. I almost pulled the trigger on the Mizuno Pro-245's last summer, but a damaged tendon sheath in my finger combined with a back injury messed up my golf game so I held off. Now the Pro-245's are no longer available, soon to be replaced by the MX-15. (At twice the price of the Maxfli's...that's what got my attention in the first place.) If anyone has played with the new Maxfli's or just tried them out like I did, let me know what you think.
    • Day 126 12-16 Back swing and rotation work today. Didn't hit any balls. Focusing on rotating and getting to lead side. 
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.