Jump to content
IGNORED

Etiquette for Reporting Competitor's Wrong Score?


reidsou
 Share

Recommended Posts

A player in my group yesterday turned in a one stroke lower score on a hole than he got. Competition is closed. He won his flight by one stroke. I did not notice the wrong score until late last night. Attempted to contact him this morning, but hasn't responded. Rule 20.2 says he is supposed to be disqualified.

I was hoping he would report himself. If this doesn't happen, as his marker, do I have a responsibility to report this to the committee? If so, what is the most polite sensitive way to do it? 

I was his marker in the sense that he kept the scores for everyone and I signed the single scorecard at the end without carefully checking all 72 holes of scores for 4 players. 

Edited by reidsou
Corrected 22.2 to 20.2. added a paragraph about how I was the "marker"
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

(edited)
8 minutes ago, iacas said:

If you were his marker why did you put that score down to begin with?

Huh?

22.2 is "Either Partner May Act for Side"

Thanks! I edited the post to hopefully make it more clear. And corrected the rule number. 

Edited by reidsou
Corrected misprint
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
11 minutes ago, reidsou said:

I was his marker in the sense that he kept the scores for everyone and I signed the single scorecard at the end without carefully checking all 72 holes of scores for 4 players. 

This wasn't a very serious competition if one guy was keeping the score for everyone… including himself.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 minutes ago, iacas said:

If you were his marker why did you put that score down to begin with?

Huh?

22.2 is "Either Partner May Act for Side"

See my response above. I clearly have some responsibility for this occuring, as I should have checked the scores other than my own. Maybe I should also be disqualified? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
1 minute ago, reidsou said:

See my response above. I clearly have some responsibility for this occuring, as I should have checked the scores other than my own. Maybe I should also be disqualified? 

Maybe play in a real competition next time? 🙂

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, iacas said:

Maybe play in a real competition next time? 🙂

Or know the rules about scorekeeping!

The flight winners won $50.  There were 80 players. 

Not sure of your whole point though - it was not "real competition" so I should let it go? 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

13 minutes ago, iacas said:

This wasn't a very serious competition if one guy was keeping the score for everyone… including himself.

In my club all competitions are run with Golf Genius app. Frequently, each foursome receives a single scorecard for 4 players. That means whoever keeps score for the foursome is also keeping their own score. As you point out, that makes these competitions "not serious".

However, I think that the club intends them to be serious. And for the rules of golf to apply.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

10 hours ago, reidsou said:

In my club all competitions are run with Golf Genius app

I believe the USGA now recognizes Electronic/Mobile Scoring as a manner to record scores.
And with being a Club Level Event, The person who used Golf Genius to record scores, should have had all players attest their scores before submitting the scores.

Also typically, a player in the foursome should also record scores to check for accuracy with each other.
In the past years before Mobile scoring became available, every player was issued a printed scorecard.
The on the first tee, players would exchange scorecards and keep the score of the player in the group and record their own scores also. Then after the round, the scores would be reviewed and attested by signing the cards.

When a player signs the card it becomes "Official"
Then if it is discovered that a wrong score was entered (Lower Only) the player is disqualified.

If the player entered a wrong score which was higher, then that players total stands and will not be corrected.

In any form of play at any level of competition, players should always check their scores before submitting.
In our weekend games, I have found many players are seldom checking their scores, but usually only ask
their total to post the scores.

It's also a good practice to show every players scores on a big screen TV at events.
Live Leaderboards at all events are becoming popular.

Proper Etiquette would be to simply speak to the player first and then inforn the committee if the player does not report the error.

I believe if the error is discovered a day later, then there is no recourse and the scores stand.

11 hours ago, reidsou said:

I did not notice the wrong score until late last night. Attempted to contact him this morning,

 

Edited by Club Rat
Spell check
  • Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

27 minutes ago, Club Rat said:

I believe if the error is discovered a day later, then there is no recourse and the scores stand.

Thanks for the detailed reply. 

See rule 20.2e: "player must be disqualified even after the competition is closed if he or she: Returned a score for any hole lower than actually taken..." 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, reidsou said:

See rule 20.2e: "player must be disqualified even after the competition is closed if he or she: Returned a score for any hole lower than actually taken..." 

I'm not sure, the 20.2e Interpetations refers to "Inelgible Player"?
I'm not seeing your request to Disqualify a player after the completion of play after the event has ended.
(The following day or thereafter)?

Where are you reading - "Returned a score for any hole lower than actually taken..."?

@DaveP043 Need your help here please.
 

Quote

20.2e/1 – Player Found to Be Ineligible During Competition or After Result of Match or Competition Is Final
There is no time limit on correcting the results of a competition when a player who has competed in the competition is found to be ineligible.

For example, if it is discovered that a player has played in a competition with a maximum age and the player was over that age, or a player has played in a competition restricted to amateur golfers when the player was not an amateur, the player was ineligible.

In these circumstances, the player is treated as if he or she had not entered the competition, as opposed to being disqualified from the competition, and the scores or the results are amended accordingly.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
4 minutes ago, Club Rat said:

Where are you reading - "Returned a score for any hole lower than actually taken..."?

@DaveP043 Need your help here please.

This is in Rule 20.2e(2).  The interpretation you looked at has to do with a player who is ineligible to be in the event.  The basic Rule talks about a stroke play event in which the player returns a "too low" score on any hole for any reason other than the application of a penalty of which the player was unaware at the time he returned his scorecard.

  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

39 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

This is in Rule 20.2e(2).  The interpretation you looked at has to do with a player who is ineligible to be in the event.  The basic Rule talks about a stroke play event in which the player returns a "too low" score on any hole for any reason other than the application of a penalty of which the player was unaware at the time he returned his scorecard.

Thanks! 

My question is more about my responsibility to report this now and how best to do it. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

25 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

The basic Rule talks about a stroke play event in which the player returns a "too low" score on any hole for any reason other than the application of a penalty of which the player was unaware at the time he returned his scorecard.

OK thanks, but I'm not finding if a player can be disqualified "After Completion" as per OP indicates "the following day"
I was under the understanding that when a competition was CLOSED, it's a done deal and he could not indicate
a day or week later, a score was posted which was incorrect?

And then inform a player they are DQ'ed?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
13 minutes ago, reidsou said:

Thanks! 

My question is more about my responsibility to report this now and how best to do it. 

In my opinion, its your responsibility to report this type of error to the Committee.  I do agree that you should try to contact the "offender" first, and let him correct his own error, but in the long run your responsibility is to the entire field.  

11 minutes ago, Club Rat said:

OK thanks, but I'm not finding if a player can be disqualified "After Completion" as per OP indicates "the following day"
I was under the understanding that when a competition was CLOSED, it's a done deal and he could not indicate
a day or week later, a score was posted which was incorrect?

And then inform a player they are DQ'ed?

I'll quote the relevant portion of the Rule:

Quote

(2) Stroke Play. Normally, a penalty must not be added or corrected after a stroke-play competition has closed, which is:
    When the result becomes final in the way set by the Committee or,

    In stroke-play qualifying followed by match play, when the player has teed off to start his or her first match.

But a player must be disqualified even after the competition is closed if he or she:

Returned a score for any hole lower than actually taken for any reason other than failing to include one or more penalty strokes that, before the competition closed, the player did not know about (see Rule 3.3b(3)),

and three more unrelated issues

Normally, the scores stand when the competition is closed, this is one of the exceptions to that general principle.  You might also want to look at Section 7D in Committee Procedures, but that refers back to 20.2e.  In a club tournament, any shop credit awarded to the "offender" should be cancelled, and payouts to other players should be adjusted accordingly.

  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, Club Rat said:

OK thanks, but I'm not finding if a player can be disqualified "After Completion" as per OP indicates "the following day"
I was under the understanding that when a competition was CLOSED, it's a done deal and he could not indicate
a day or week later, a score was posted which was incorrect?

And then inform a player they are DQ'ed?

Yes. 

Please read the Full version of the rules, rule 20.2e(2) - Stroke play. (Maybe you're reading the Player's edition?) 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
8 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

In a club tournament, any shop credit awarded to the "offender" should be cancelled, and payouts to other players should be adjusted accordingly.

I'd wager that doesn't happen, and the guy isn't DQed. The "committee" let him keep his own score.

@Club Rat, c'mon man. Everyone appreciates that you're trying to help, but you're not even reading the proper rules here.


@reidsou, this isn't really a rules question, because the language and the Rules aren't unclear:

Quote

But a player must be disqualified even after the competition is closed if he or she:

By what you've written it wasn't a penalty stroke or two, it was that he wrote down a 4 instead of a 5 while he was keeping his own card.

If I were you, I'd chalk it up as a learning experience. You screwed up, the club screwed up, the guy screwed up. There's likely more to be lost in going forward with it than in bringing it up.

And I'm almost as "rules are rules"* as they'll come.

* Which is not to say all rules are good. Just that they should be applied in almost every situation… when playing an actual serious competition where players don't keep their own scorecards. 😛

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
23 minutes ago, iacas said:

I'd wager that doesn't happen, and the guy isn't DQed. The "committee" let him keep his own score.

I think you're probably right, and perhaps this might cause more hard feelings than @reidsou wants to bring to himself.  This is one of the potential issues when electronic scoring is used improperly, somehow a player is allowed to serve as his own marker, or the player keeping score does not have an individual specifically assigned as his marker.  On the other hand, once the problem is illustrated to the Committee, they may choose to use a different electronic scoring option for future events.  I'm no expert with Golf Genius, but I'm pretty sure the system can be set up to assign a specific marker to each player.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo after clicking this link. For Mevo+, click this link or the image above.
  • Posts

    • Last year some serious wind took down a tree and it was laying horizontally. Played that course a lot, for golf reasons, that day was the first time I ever hit one anywhere near that tree. Because of course it was.  It was under the fallen trunk/branches so much that even after taking an unplayable and relief I had no swing. It felt really dirty but the guy I was playing with said the fallen tree didn't have any option for free relief and since I had not realized it was under the tree from the box, and did not want to do the walk of shame on the first tee with multiple groups waiting...ugh. Sometimes the rules feel penal, but then I remember I am the one who made the sub-optimal swing in the first place. 
    • Too bad we lost Ned Beatty. He would’ve been good.
    • Jonah Hill would be my pick. 
    • We are entitled to nothing from Tiger and that is what we will get. Tiger's branding is strong and a non-statement is probably his best strategy.  As taxpayers, we are entitled to whatever accident reports and investigations were done by the public agency under the public records laws of California.   
    • Like this? Again, will this be a comedy or drama?
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. BookBoy
      BookBoy
      (51 years old)
    2. DrakeyDistiller
      DrakeyDistiller
      (59 years old)
    3. Fraser
      Fraser
      (38 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...